We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,249: English reviews
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for two nights with my 19yr old daughter breakfast and first night dinner was included with are stay food and staff were both great and from start to end of are stay nothing was to much trouble i asked for a fan as are room was a bit warm it arrived 5 minutes later as did the iron... More 

Helpful?
Thank maryreeves2016
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Mary, thank you for your wonderful 5 star review, your comments are greatly appreciated and will be circualated to the team.We sincerely hope that you and your daughter will return and enjoy our food and service once again Patricia Green More 

Devon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is at best a 3 star (the swimming pool would raise it to 4 star but that is only if you use it). Not suitable for disabled as there are a number of steps to the main floor and reception. Arrival was fine although we were not happy with the room offered and when requested a change were... More 

Helpful?
Thank MovingArchitect
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the 4 star rating given. I am pleased that my team were able to accommodate your wishes with regard to your room and that you enjoyed our service and food Patricia Green More 

Newbury, Berkshire, UK.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very convenient for town, beach and train station. We went to the Shelly Theatre which was 1.5 miles away whilst there. Room was large, nice bathroom, nice linen, good buffet breakfast would recommend including it in your room deal as a bit far for any other breakfast outside. LOTS of seagull noise but only to be expected!

Helpful?
Thank TravellingNewburys
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, many thanks for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will return sometime in the future, Patricia Green More 

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here on business for one night. Had room 213 which overlooks part of the car park. As it was a hot night, had to have the windows open which let in not only the air but the noise from outside too. Room had no air con nor did the hotel have any fans available. Only used the restaurant for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bobo360m
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Bobo, thank you for you review. May I respectfully point out that our £2 car park charge is substantially less than many other Bournemouth Hotels that charge £20 per night and a lot less than the metered street parking. I am really surprised at your comments regarding breakfast as we are always complimented on our excellent breakfast as you... More 

Zofingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel reception, bar and restaurant looks good and partially renovated. Room with bunk beds was small, but still ok to spend a few hours over night in the room. Breakfast was good. Location is great in order to spend some time on the beach.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas N
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Thomas, thank you for reviewing our Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed our excellent breakfast and found our location very good. We hope that you will return to the Royale in the future and enjoy our Hotel once more Patricia Green More 

Huntingdon cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent all week here and it was great, staff very friendly has a seperate swimming pool which i used every day twice a day. breakfast was always great. The only downside for me was the soft bed and the sound of pidgeons right outside the room. But small things such as cleaning of windows seems to have gone a miss... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mick F
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Mick, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased you have overall enjoyed your stay and have given us a 5 star rating. Your other comments have been noted and will be looked into. We hope you will return sometime in the future. Patricia Green More 

london, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lack of air conditioning and very poor water pressure meant that on the 2 hottest days of the year, it was actually very difficult to feel clean and refreshed after sleeping and showering in our room.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Anita G
Pat G, Gropup Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Anita, thank you for your comments. We will investigate the water pressure in your room as that is not generally an issue in The Royale. Yes, at last we do have some glorious summer weather but like most British Hotels, we do not have air con in the bedrooms as we rarely experience this exceptional warmth. We do however... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice hotel, great location, attentive staff. Good sized clean room although shower was either scalding hot or too cold. Excellent breakfast lots of choice and friendly staff. Close to beach and only 10 minute walk to the shops and town centre. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank luckyjaxy
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear luckyjaxy, thank you for posting your excellent 5 star review. Your comments are very much appreciated and we sincerely hope that you will return as mentioned in your review, Patricia Green More 

Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Quiet room, comfy bed, wonderful staff and great location. Plus there is a pool! The room facilities (309) let the hotel down. The nightly smell of sewage which I thought came from outside was actually coming from the toilet. I noticed on the last night the waste pipe was not attached! (See photo). Oh and avoid the room uht milk... More 

Helpful?
Thank LolaTayberry
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Lola, thank you for posting a review. I am really sorry that on this occasion our usual very high standards were not met and the issues you mention have of course been addressed. I think you were extremely unlucky and for that I apologise. We hope you will return sometime and experience our usual excellent standards of service. Patricia... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Royale friday and Saturday in early july. We only paid £200 for 2 nights and got first night dinner and 2 breakfasts. The room was small but all we needed and good for the price. The bathroom was a fair size tho. We had unlimited tea etc available in our room. Our first evening dinner was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Mark, thank you for your lovely 5 star review. We really appreciate your kind comments, especially regarding our great staff. We hope you will return sometime Patricia Green More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

405 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (143)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (59)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (203)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Standard Double Chalet (28)
Viewed
Standard Family Bunk Room (29)
Viewed
St Moritz Suite (44)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Family Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,889 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#33 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $100 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay