We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Certificate of Excellence
16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,244: English reviews
Huntingdon cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Spent all week here and it was great, staff very friendly has a seperate swimming pool which i used every day twice a day. breakfast was always great. The only downside for me was the soft bed and the sound of pidgeons right outside the room. But small things such as cleaning of windows seems to have gone a miss... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mick F
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Mick, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased you have overall enjoyed your stay and have given us a 5 star rating. Your other comments have been noted and will be looked into. We hope you will return sometime in the future. Patricia Green More 

london, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lack of air conditioning and very poor water pressure meant that on the 2 hottest days of the year, it was actually very difficult to feel clean and refreshed after sleeping and showering in our room.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Anita G
Pat G, Gropup Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Anita, thank you for your comments. We will investigate the water pressure in your room as that is not generally an issue in The Royale. Yes, at last we do have some glorious summer weather but like most British Hotels, we do not have air con in the bedrooms as we rarely experience this exceptional warmth. We do however... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice hotel, great location, attentive staff. Good sized clean room although shower was either scalding hot or too cold. Excellent breakfast lots of choice and friendly staff. Close to beach and only 10 minute walk to the shops and town centre. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank luckyjaxy
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear luckyjaxy, thank you for posting your excellent 5 star review. Your comments are very much appreciated and we sincerely hope that you will return as mentioned in your review, Patricia Green More 

Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Quiet room, comfy bed, wonderful staff and great location. Plus there is a pool! The room facilities (309) let the hotel down. The nightly smell of sewage which I thought came from outside was actually coming from the toilet. I noticed on the last night the waste pipe was not attached! (See photo). Oh and avoid the room uht milk... More 

Helpful?
Thank LolaTayberry
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Lola, thank you for posting a review. I am really sorry that on this occasion our usual very high standards were not met and the issues you mention have of course been addressed. I think you were extremely unlucky and for that I apologise. We hope you will return sometime and experience our usual excellent standards of service. Patricia... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Royale friday and Saturday in early july. We only paid £200 for 2 nights and got first night dinner and 2 breakfasts. The room was small but all we needed and good for the price. The bathroom was a fair size tho. We had unlimited tea etc available in our room. Our first evening dinner was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Mark, thank you for your lovely 5 star review. We really appreciate your kind comments, especially regarding our great staff. We hope you will return sometime Patricia Green More 

Lancashire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Extremely pleasant and efficient well trained staff throughout this hotel. Bedroom spotless, food excellent and good quality well cooked, As a previous reviewer mentioned the downside was a 'noisy' bedroom. How can you describe a room being noisy? Every step you take in the room made the floorboards squeak. The bath/shower made an intermittent loud tapping/knocking noise during the night... More 

Helpful?
Thank ladytraveller6
Pat G, Group Oparations Manage at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear ladytraveller, thank you for awarding us a rating of 5 and I am so pleased you found our hotel to be first class. We would love to welcome you again in the future Patricia Green More 

London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we managed to book two double rooms for £40 in July we were a bit concerned about where we might end up. We needn't have worried. The rooms, although not huge were spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff helpful and attentive. The hotel is located on a wide tree-lined avenue and is less than 10 minutes... More 

Helpful?
Thank AudreyTrouser
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Audrey, thank you for posting such a lovely 5 star review and we hope you will return sometime. Thank you for you intention to recommend us to others, this is really appreciated, Patricia Green More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only complaint about room is that floorboards squeak. Otherwise excellent. It is a good idea to get a dinner bed and breakfast deal. You can choose from the a la carte menu - though some of the more expensive items do carry a moderate supplement.

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
Pat G, Group Opertions Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrey, thank you for your overall positive review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed our food and service and we hope to see you again sometime Patricia Green More 

Brussels
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights in a family executive room which had recently been refurbished. Nice bathroom and spacious room for the three of us. Our room was at the back so it was very quiet so you could sleep with the window open. The wifi signal in the room was extremely good quality. We tried the pool a couple... More 

Helpful?
Thank martynpaul
Pat G, Group Operations manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Martyn, thank you for posting such a lovely 5 star review,. Your comments are really appreciated and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Royale sometime in the future, Patricia Green More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice room, huge bed, lots of space and massive ensuite. Excellent breakfast, with lots of space between tables. Helpful staff. The whole hotel appeared very "fresh" and was spotlessly clean. A max 2 person lift seems ridiculous when families (with small children) are staying. We were only staying 1 night, so could not try the pool/spa.

Helpful?
Thank Jim H
Pat G, Group Operations manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Jim, thank you for taking the time to post a review, and for your 5 star rating. We do offer excellent value for money and I really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our excellent breakfast is often commented on and is also great value with plenty of choice. I do hope you will visit again and have time to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

405 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (143)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (59)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (203)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Standard Double Chalet (28)
Viewed
Standard Family Bunk Room (29)
Viewed
St Moritz Suite (44)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Family Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,878 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#32 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#15 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $100 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay