We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wessex Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wessex Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

561 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 552: English reviews
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights in August.Our room, on the top floor, was quiet as requested, spacious and clean.There was ample choice for breakfast and plenty of tables available. For me, the indoor and outdoor pools, both heated, were a bonus. The hotel is very near the beach and the town centre. If you expect perfection in terms of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cumbrianclimbers
Tereza S, Front Office Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are more than pleased we provided what you needed and left us satisfied. You kind comments are truly appreciated and we will look forward welcoming you in the Wessex in a near future. With many thanks and regards, More 

Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is an old fashioned British sea side hotel in need of a lot of money spent on it, Its not a bad hotel just one that needs a lot of tlc, the shower reminded me of a hose pipe with a leak in it !!!! the breakfast was good and the staff friendly imo just a bit over priced... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jockonhistravels
Tereza S, Front Office Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are fully aware of the update our hotel needs and working really hard on it -that I can promise. As everybody is entitled to their own opinion I have to disagree with you on the breakfast being overpriced - we do offer everything you could possibly think of for breakfast - from continental (selection of pastries, fresh... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went to this hotel on a dancing holiday. The accommodation was basic but very clean. The main meals we great, they need a better variety on their sweets but overall there was plenty to eat. We were in the ballroom every night but the bar wasn't opened. We had to go into the other room to get a drink.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
Tereza S, Front Office Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne, Thank you for your positive and objective review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and have to agree with you in regards of the ball room bar not being opened - we have experienced staff issues and wasn't physically possible for us to open another bar and would like to truly apologize for that. We hope... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for three nights over a weekend with a friend . The room was clean and tidy but my only complaint was the lack of water pressure for the shower and then the lack of cold water in the evening . The reception staff were very helpful in trying to rectify the problem. All the staff were lovely and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jackfromcatford
Tereza S, Front Office Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jack, It is lovely to read such an objective and kind review. Apologies for the water pressure - there are peak times when many guests are using showers at the same time which affects the pressure a little bit. Thank you so much for your heart-warming comments about our staff, breakfast options and your kind words in general. All... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Wessex is in an excellent location a few minutes away from the Upper Cliff path and with a bus stop nearby that takes you into town or out to Swanage. The room we had was larger than you often find in seaside hotels and included two comfortable chairs to relax in . It was spotlessly clean and the bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank L0ttiesmum
Tereza S, Front Office Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am the first one to admin we are an elderly hotel and the style sort of goes with it. You will also be pleased to hear we do have refurbishment plan in progress and doing as much as we possibly can. We hope to have another opportunity welcoming you in our hotel and kind regards, More 

Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The reception area is spacious and welcoming and the girl who dealt with us was polite and efficient. We booked a Premier Room and, as usual, it was located at the rear of the building. This in itself is ok and relatively quiet most of the time until the bins are filled/emptied etc. and cars pull in and out. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
Tereza S, Front Office Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us. We are so very sorry about the dinner - sometimes when we have a group in, it is physically impossible for us as there are simply no more tables left - That is why we offer seating area in the lounge as this doesn't have to be booked... More 

Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent 2 nights here on bed and breakfast. Our standard double room on the first floor was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bedroom appears reasonably newly decorated with double glazing and new looking curtains. It had plenty of storage space with a walk-in wardrobe. The bathroom was large but rather dated. Breakfast was good but there was some problem with... More 

Helpful?
Thank JAS1944
Tereza S, Front Office Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your positive and prompt review - We are more than delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us and pointed out the room was newly decorated. We sincerely hope to have another opportunity welcoming you in the Wessex again and with kind regards, More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night on our way home from Jersey and therefore it is difficult to comment given such a brief stay. The hotel does try very hard to oblige and the room that we were given was adequate with all the items provided that one would expect: it was clean and provided... More 

Helpful?
Thank David R
Tereza S, Front Office Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David, We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay, although short. It is nice to see our efforts are being seen as I have to admit we do try our best. Thank you very much for praising our reception staff - Monika was very pleased reading your review - it has simply made her day! We will look... More 

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Considering the price we paid for a two nights and breakfast we really can't complain. Unfortunately we were obviously in one of the rooms that is awaiting renovation. We were checked in by a polite receptionist. The room itself was clean and the bed comfy. Sadly it was really hot when we stayed and the window only opened a tiny... More 

Helpful?
Thank jph61
Tereza S, Front Office Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for this very objective review - we do have a refurbishment plan in progress to get everything done so can assure you we are working on it. We are pleased you have found our hotel reasonable enough and will hope we will have another opportunity welcoming you in the Wessex once again, Thank you... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Got here at 1345, and tried to check in and they said no it's 1400 u can check in well it was gone 1400 when we did in the end. They did not say where the room was so we had to work it out with a 5 month year old not very good, room very spacious and ideal as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
Tereza S, Front Office Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Unfortunately not all rooms are ready before 2.00 pm which is what we advertise as a check-in time so would like to apologize that it wasn't ready. In regards of the food - you do not specify what exactly was wrong with the food so it is hard for me to give you appropriate explanation. Staff here at... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

184 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (148)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 79 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 3,008 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#35 of 79 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 79 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,590 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#39 of 79 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 109-bedroom Wessex Hotel is on the West Cliff, just five minutes' walk from the centre of Bournemouth, where you can enjoy award-winning Blue Flag beaches, fantastic restaurants and bars and many family attractions. The Hotel has its own leisure club with comprehensive facilities including indoor and outdoor swimming pool, gymnasium and beauty treatment rooms. There are also function rooms for large-scale business events, lavish and intimate weddings and other celebrations, free parking and free WiFi throughout Enjoy a seaside holiday, a family break or a romantic getaway at the Wessex Hotel, Bournemouth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $64 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay