We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge

4 Southcote Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015 via mobile

As someone who was privvy to the incident described below I would like to shed some further light on the situation. Did we over stay are time? Yes we did. The guest situation we thought was ok as we had several spare spaces in our room which were paid for by friends who had since left the previous night. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

We are happy with our original response.....however we do admire the craftwork and persistence of this new review. Well done. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015 via mobile

I have been to many hotels in my life & this has to be the worst one I've ever visited. Friends of mine visited from London for the weekend. On the last morning I called there to see them as I live in Bournemouth. We never realised the time so we were late leaving (not by much). After the knock... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosielou73
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

You were not a guest at the Lodge you were a trespasser in the building without permission. Other guests came to us and complained about a female being overly friendly, we had no females staying in the building. Staff found you in a room and gave you time to leave, I then found you in the building again trying to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here with two friends back in July and I can safely say we won't be returning. The female owner of the manor was rude and uninterested in our presence. Our beds were so lumpy and uncomfortable that we tried to pad them up with as many duvets as we could and still managed to wake up stiff and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Danielahead
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Not surprised at this review after the problems we had with the additional male visitors, cctv is a wonderful thing. I will be blunt I don't care what you think I only care about about guests who respect the facilities and other guests in the building. You rent the room you do not own it, and how you behave at... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015 via mobile

We have just returned from a short stay at The Lodge and I was quite impressed. The place was clean and the room had everything we needed. Our beds were a bit creaky and the parking is a nightmare but if your looking for somewhere to stay reasonably priced and not expecting a 5 star hotel then I'd definitely recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this, yes we are great value and pride ourselves on this and that the premises is clean. We detail exactly what we offer and everyone who reads this is more than pleased, sometimes we have disgruntled guests we are expecting something totally different purely and simply as they did not read the description, this is not... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Went for two nights and ended up only staying one the room stank and felt dirty ,there were pubic hairs in the bathroom and stains on the beds .We had lads outside smoking drugs and banging on our window and being with children just felt unsafe.Also not liking the door locks over all would never stay here again in a... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank sarah b
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

tripadvisor is for genuine guests posting genuine reviews Blatant lies breaches tripadvisors terms and conditions Please remove More 

South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

As group organiser I was nervous - we had 17 of us booked in for 2 nights and didn't know what to expect. The place was great - clean, tidy, tea/coffee and so close to town. We all had a great time! The owner was friendly but at the same time left us too it. Works both ways - respect... More 

Helpful?
Thank HA_DAN
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you had a good time, we try to make sure you do. Thanks for leaving the review More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Myself and 6 others stayed here over the weekend for our friends birthday. We wanted to have a fun night out in Bournemouth and for any girl, the best part is getting ready and pre-drinking together - The Lodge was perfect for this because we were all in a giant 11 bed room which had 2 bathrooms in (each with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anastasia M
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

We try to ensure that groups have a good time and 99.9% do so we are happy about that. Thank you for taking the time to leave the review. More 

UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015 via mobile

Not the Ritz that's for sure. Not even a Travelodge. But then it isn't pretending to be. Read the website, read the tripadvisor reviews judiciously, and be prepared for it being accommodation aimed at single sex groups on stag and hen weekends. Is it clean? Yes. Bedding clean, carpet hoovered, shower tired but also clean. There was a fairly stale... More 

Helpful?
Thank midlanders3
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave this, the Lodge is built for the groups and does the job well, but also midweek is great as cheap accommodation for large families as we do not mix groups and families. yes the speech is a chore for some, but with large groups everyone needs to know the limits and it works,... More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

We had a need to find accommodation for a Stag Party of 10 at fairly short notice, we wanted somewhere fairly close to the night life, and a reasonable price. After a while searching and reading some horrendous reviews of other hotels on TripAdvisor we discovered The Lodge. The Ritz it is not, but it doesn't claim to be. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris U
kerandire, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Yes the Lodge is accurately described on or site, we are up front and honest about the purpose of the building and the job it was built for works well, sometimes we have problems with guests who do not read the description and are expecting double beds and a restaurant they are disappointed but what more could we do? .... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#10 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#9 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#35 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ashleigh
The Ashleigh
#85 of 143 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chelsea Hotel
Chelsea Hotel
#103 of 143 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay