We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Old Forge at Totnes

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Old Forge at Totnes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 118: English reviews
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the cleanest and comfortable places I have ever stayed. We had a family room which was effectively a wing to itself with a outside terrace. The room was cosy but airy, lovely soft sheets and comfortable beds (which is not something I say often). The room was spotless even down to freshly clean curtains. Breakfast was served in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sallyf449
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here one night whilst in South Devon and it was just lovely! The hotel is situated very close to the centre of town but just away from the noise of the main road and the centre so lovely and peaceful! The hotel he a car park which is very handy in Totnes as car parking is limited. The hote... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jackemmet3
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Booked at last minute, so unfortunately not much choice .small , garden facing room, barely big enough to swing a cat. Could hear guests talking in adjoining and above rooms. Electric shower sounded like a 747 taking off , which could also be heard from neighbouring rooms, together with plumbing noises. Good location, and with a little tweaking , could... More 

Helpful?
Thank jerry K
familyswim, Owner at The Old Forge at Totnes, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you were less than delighted with your accommodation. I am glad, however, that you enjoyed your breakfast. You did stay with us during an extremely hot spell when everyone was sleeping with windows open and that probably made the noise seem bad. This building is 600 years old and some... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

Booked 2 rooms - one was the family room with a terrace for my husband and I to relax in. One for my mother . Both very clean . Bathrooms looked new. Best breakfast Iv ever had at a B&B. Only 5mins walk to middle of Totnes town. Will defo be going back. Fabulous B&B lovely owners/staff

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith G
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

Room was lovely & clean & cosy. Only problem was the walls are paper thin, so could hear the flush of the toilet through the night of the couple next door, could also hear the snoring too. Wasn't a quiet nights sleep for me I'm afraid. We did have a lovely breakfast in the morning though & the owners were... More 

Helpful?
Thank annastone2010
Liskeard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

I have just returned from having a fantastic weekend away in this Guest House. We had a little apartment with a twin room and a double room with a small lounge and kitchen area, we are 4 friends and found it to be ideal for our needs since it was much more relaxed than having 2 rooms in a hotel.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Shelagh L
devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

Stayed at the Old Forge during the recent bank holiday weekend and had a very pleasant stay. Our room was both comfortable and spotless and the whole building had a very relaxing feel to it. The hotel is very close to town, which was perfect for dinner as we could walk in and have few drinks of wine! We were... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank marvellousmurray
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

I stayed for 2 nights at The Old Forge with friends. It was very useful to have a parking space and the hotel is just a couple of minutes walk into the centre of Totnes. The rooms in the Wheelwrights Cottage were small but perfectly adequate for our needs. They were clean and plenty of towels were provided in the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank JudiO26
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016 via mobile

Needed a 2 night stay for business at Dartington Hall nearby. Old Forge seemed ideal. Hard to find with tiny parking spaces and limited manoeuvrability space. Cool welcome on arrival. Room pleasant but dated. Flimsy walls and noise an issue. Not recommended for light sleepers. Saniflo macerator sounded like rocket launcher for loo, sink and shower seemed to be linked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine L
familyswim, Owner at The Old Forge at Totnes, responded to this review

Firstly, I am very sorry that your windows were left open, that shouldn't have happened and I will talk to our housekeeping staff. There are small electric heaters in all the rooms and I hope you used that to warm the room up quickly. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and that you found the bed comfortable. With breakfasts,... More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

We recently spent a night here purely on a whim because the sun was shining! Pros - 1. Good position, 5 minutes flat walk into the centre of Totnes. 2. Useful parking available on site (nowhere to park in Totnes!) 3. The room was basically clean 4. There were towels and toiletries provided. 5. Good breakfast with a very helpful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rovers08
familyswim, Owner at The Old Forge at Totnes, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was away when you stayed( what opinion would you have had of me I wonder!), but I have discussed this review with my husband, because quite frankly it is insulting in parts. He tells me that he had a pleasant chat with you before you left and is slightly dismayed at your comments. With... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
0.2 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
7.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 20 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
13.9 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Old Forge at Totnes

Address: Seymour Place, Totnes TQ9 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Price Range: $103 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Forge at Totnes 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Forge at Totnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Forge At Totnes Hotel Totnes
The Old Forge Totnes
The Old Forge At Totnes Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay