We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Newton House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Newton House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Newton House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 40: English reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2015

My sister and I had to come to Torbay Hospital as our mother had suffered a heart attack while on holiday. John and Ani were perfect hosts room was spotless as also bathroom! Breakfast was superb even though l changed my mind about what to have every day, from full English to poached eggs. I have already recommended to friends....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary D
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 18, 2015

I am working two days a week nearby so was looking for a regular place to stay having stayed in a couple of places in the last few weeks I was drawn to Newton House by the good reviews. To be blunt this is by far the best b and b i have ever stayed I am very fortunate to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pigwobbler
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 11, 2015

Had a great night there, ani got me into a room and even suggested were to get bit to eat, I even walked down to harbour front, met john in morning who was from my neck of woods Leith, he was asking if there were any changes ie Duncan Kilpatrick school were he worked as a teacher and I told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank henry p
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review

Hi Mr P. Thanks for your good review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Newton House B&B. Personally, I enjoyed chatting with you, about old times in Edinburgh, when I was a student there and a young teacher in Leith. It makes running a B&B very pleasant, when we can meet folks like you. I was staggered...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 4, 2015

we stayed for 2 nights at Newton House, we really enjoyed. Quite charming House. Thank you Mr.& Mrs Williams for made our first time in the area very pleasant. we'll back again.The collection of porcelain dolls.... You don't see that in this days anymore. But, still make Newton House quite unique. : )

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Massa B
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review

Hi Massa B, thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you describe Newton House is "Charming", (even including the dolls).There are others (in these reviews) who do not appreciate them, so it is nice to hear from one who does. Personally I must admit to not being a particular fan of the dolls....

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 24, 2015

A very warm welcome. Free parking. Room was very nice, ensuite. We had superior double. Only had breakfast which was full English. Only one complaint and that it was smokey bacon, but then that's my taste. A little bit of walk too the shops and bars. Ideally situated for trains and bus stop two doors away. All in all a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review

Thanks Brian M for your good comments. We're glad you had a good stay in Newton House. If you stay more than one night, or tell us in advance, we are happy to serve you unsmoked bacon, next time. (We have only been asked for it once in the last 2 to 3 years, so we do not stock it...

UK
Reviewed May 2, 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed at this B&B and enjoyed a very clean bedroom and bathroom. The whole house was beautifully warm. The B&B was, however, quite dated in its furnishings and carpets and there was a very chintzy feel to the place. Bizarrely, the house was chock a block with porcelain dolls!! They were everywhere! We counted 14 of them in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lollypop0197
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review

Hi Lollypop0197, thanks for taking time to make your review. Sorry your breakfast was not 'boilinghot'. That is very unusual, as the plates and cooked food are stored in a hot cupboard until the point of plating and serving. We have taken this to heart and we are watching out for any delays, in future. You found the furnishings and...

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 13, 2014

Stayed just the one night at Newton House while in the area on business. Large car parking area right in front of the house. Made welcome by Ani and shown to a good sized en-suite room. Huge shower room! Very generous supply of coffee and biscuits in the room. Decent breakfast in a pleasant dining room next morning served by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review

Florian59, Thanks for your nice review. We are very glad that you felt safe and at ease in Newton House. We do try to get to know our guests and help them with their stay, especially when their visit is not for leisure, and sometimes on sad business. It also gives us pleasure to know that guests are enjoying their...

Reviewed September 24, 2014

Really been so pleased with my stay at Newton House. Nice Garden, transport accessibility (train and bus stops) right in front, beach and shops nearby, massive parking space, not to forget that they offer Filipino breakfast (indeed taste like home), etc... One holiday that I wouldn't forget! Keep up the good job, John and Ani!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ELP10172
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review

Thanks "ELP" for your nice comments. We really aim to please and it is gratifying when we succeed. Glad you enjoyed our authentic Filipino breakfast, as an alternative to the traditional English Breakfast. We hope you will also try the English Breakfast next time, along with our Continental Breakfast , Fish course and our "Light Bites". Welcome back anytime.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed September 18, 2014

Quite happy to come across Newton House who can accommodate all their guests cars on their massive car park. Their rooms are reasonably priced and very clean. Breakfasts are varied depends on your appetite. First day we opted for their continental & next day we tried their english breakfast , both was delish. Their is guests dedicated luonge with comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review

Thanks Jenny K for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Newton House. You and your friends were very happy and lively. It was a treat for us to meet you. Please come again when you are in this area.

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 16, 2014 via mobile

You'll see from my other reviews from around the globe I feel I'm an honest reviewer. If u want a reasonably priced place to stay, in a good area close to Torre train station and walkable into the harbour then this is the place for you. My only grip...no wifi. Oops. There is!! You have to ask the owner to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MatthewASharp
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review

Matthew, Thanks for your review. Our internet system has radically changed, since you were here. NOW IT IS 24 HOURS * NO TIME RESTRICTION * AVAILABLE THROUGHOUT THE HOUSE. However, your comments are unnecessarily harsh, even for the previous situation. In June this year, our guest internet usage WAS time-restricted ONLY for FREE USE. (That was because we were on...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Ferndale Lodge
Ferndale Lodge
#79 of 153 in Torquay
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stover Lodge Hotel
Stover Lodge Hotel
#50 of 153 in Torquay
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentley Lodge
Bentley Lodge
#7 of 153 in Torquay
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
2,588 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#105 of 153 in Torquay
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#100 of 153 in Torquay
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run Guest House with 9 clean luxury en-suite rooms, digital TV, tea/coffee/hot chocolate/biscuits/sweets, large car park, Comfortable Guest Lounge & Dining Room, CCTV Security, walking distance to town & seafront, generous Continental and English breakfast. Totally non-smoking bed and breakfast. Discounts offered to children and long stays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newton House

Address: 31 Newton Road | Torre, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $70 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Torquay, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Newton House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle, Canada

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Newton House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Torquay is all hills and if your not too good at walking you would want to be nearer to the sea front”
JeanetteTissiman, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms that look to the front of the property...”
chrisrG7723OS, May 6, 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms the wifi doesn't reach very well. I think it could do with a booster”
15marionh, Aug 15, 2015 | Read review
“Room 6 for a central room with view out to front garden and main road. with double bed and set of bunk beds, desk, storage and en-suite.”
geoandnig, Jul 27, 2015 | Read review
“just 5 minutes form tor train station”
henryp494, Jun 11, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question