We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Bancourt Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bancourt Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 180: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed our stay, bedrooms cleaned every day , clean towels each day. Good choice meals, good food. Management and staff first class, exterior needs t,l,c , interior minor jobs new addressing, could do with a retired tradesman few hrs a week. Would visit again with our friends, we had a great time with all the evening entertainment..

Helpful?
Thank james b
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the outside is a tad shabby needs a bit of tlc inside a bit dated bed room clean towels soft fluffy white spotless same as the sheets cleaned room every day replenished tea coffee ect every day breakfast great choise evening meal very good 3 starters 3 main and 2 sweet or cheese and biscuits tea or coffee all very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carole A
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this hotel as a last minute stopover whilst visiting friends. I was looking for accommodation that catered for pets and i advised when booking that we would be bringing a small housetrained dog. On arrival the smell of damp was overwhelming in the reception area. But rather than be perturbed by our first impressions we proceeded to the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SUTONEY
BancourtHotel, Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

When did you stay so i can check the records and the staff whom was working this day? More 

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Warm,friendly family run hotel. My room was spotlessly clean. Considering the number of guests, the catering staff ran the dining room with military precision to ensure that everyone got their meals at the same time. The meals were delicious. Reception staff were always helpful. I would like to thank the bancourt hotel for a lovely stay, and that I will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanna C
BancourtHotel, Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for staying at the Bancourt Hotel it was a pleasure to have you and happy that you had a great time. I will pass your thank yous to all the staff. Hope to see you again soon :) More 

Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

very dated.needs a lot of modernising through out.daughter had to change rooms after 1 night because shower wasn't heating up.her first room was also next to what sounded like the washer room.from our room you could hear what sounded like water heater filling up most of night.staff were very friendly.shame the hotel don't get the pool and sauna back up... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah F
BancourtHotel, Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Bancourt hotel. I moved your daughter closer to your room as the electric shower wasn't working properly this was done as soon as i had one available. We haven't had a pool for 3 years and we are going to use the room for something else. The £10 deposit is a refundable from reception Hope... More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

Recently had our engagement party here, and it was an `experience`. We agreed for the bar to be open from 7pm-1am, so you can imagine my shock when they pull the shutters and try to close it for 12am! We supplied our own food for the buffet, so you can imagine the horror on my face when Kimberly the owner... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 294sunsoaker3
BancourtHotel, Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

You chose to deliberately ignore the terms and conditions of the room hire, I can't help that, but no complaints were made on the weekend of the party from any residents. More 

South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016 via mobile

I would not recommend this place to anyone I am doing this review from the bed of the hotel now it's got to be the worst nights sleep ever the bed is so uncomfortable you can feel every spring in the mattress the two bed base don't even match one is about a inch higher then the other so it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank steveree1978
BancourtHotel, Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Jeffery Firstly I’d like to say thank you for staying at the Bancourt Hotel and sorry you was unhappy with your experience at The Bancourt Hotel . I’ve have checked with staff working on this day and no complaint was made on the day/night of your arrival. Tv remote has a £10 deposit available from the reception. If... More 

Shanklin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2016

Stayed for the weekend for a Band contest with 35 other band members the staff could not do enough for you. Yes some of the rooms need a bit of TLC I stay in a lot of hotels from no star to 5 stars and most hotels need looking at. But for the money we paid it was great. Bedrooms... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank door2doortaxi
BancourtHotel, Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Bancourt Hotel. We are all happy you had a great time Kind Regards Reception More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2016

Well, if nothing else, it is an experience to stay here. Not a good one, but still an experience. We stayed here for a Saturday night as a relative was having a party in the hotel and we thought the convenience of stumbling upstairs to bed outweighed the potential for being bitten to death by fleas here, so we chose... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank billy n
BancourtHotel, Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you were unhappy with your experience at The Bancourt Hotel. Which family room was there? If you were not happy with any aspect of your room I would have been more than happy to change it for you. Unfortunately once you have left I have no opportunity to remedy any complaints you may have had. Kind Regards Reception More 

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2016

I have just had my 50 th birthday party at this hotel and what a fab night. The room was brilliant what make it great is the bar is in the same room as the dance floor so you do not loose any people. If you get enough people (over 50 ) the room hire is free and you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey E
BancourtHotel, Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Great 50th Birthday party so happy you had a great night :) Kind Regards Reception More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#39 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#67 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#80 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#46 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howden Court Hotel
Howden Court Hotel
#16 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#61 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in Torquay, South Devon, at the Heart of the English Riviera, this family run no smoking hotel is perfect for exploring the surrounding Devon coast and countryside. The Bancourt is open all year and offers great value for money. The hotel makes an ideal destination for groups, individuals and families, whether you are looking for a short break or holiday. You can relax and make use of the hotels facilities. We have a large secluded gardens, WiFi available at no charge and Car Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bancourt Hotel

Address: 55-65 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $76 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bancourt Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bancourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bancourt Hotel Torquay, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay