We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Richwood

Show Prices
#54 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Richwood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 247: English reviews
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hubbie and I came for a 3 night week day stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Although we booked through Wowcher as a cheaper deal we were not expecting this. The hotel is in dire need of a complete re-vamp to bring it up to date, modern and appealing to visitors of all ages and abilities. When you see the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl Joanne H
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Our advice to Cheryl and hubbie: read the fine print on the voucher, look at the place you are going to and ensure it is modern before you book! Everything was clear on buying the voucher! We were aware that Cheryl and hubbie were not happy with their stay, as not once did they engage with us in conversation or... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice hotel. Very clean. The owners are very nice but we didn't see them very much. Unfortunately my husband is disabled, this hotel is no good for people on crutches or wheelchairs. We had a room that was the farthest point from the reception which marred the experience. Room was very small but comfy. The breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank shirley h
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

I am so sorry Shirley that your stay was spoilt through the fact that we do not have a lift... We did communicate about this when you booked, I was simply not aware of how disabled you lovely husband was. When the house is full, room delegation is a bit like doing a jigsaw puzzle and we have to delagte... More 

Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was very dated the décor and everything. The bar shuts at 8.30 pm most people don"t get going till then! The breakfast cost £7.50 each, daylight robbery, one piece of bacon one sausage and a piece of what was supposed to be fried bread an egg and a few beans, a bargain. The fresh orange was just squash,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stephenmillard2010
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

I find some of Mr Millard’s comments very offending; nonetheless, we are sorry Mr Millard was not happy. Yes, we noticed that Mr Millard is not a happy man… Most people love our breakfasts. The discerning reader will see that our breakfasts are in fact very popular. Nowhere do we say that we serve fresh orange juice; we serve a... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We all had an amazing stay at the richwood! We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. The Lebanese food was incredible. Rooms very clean and the pool was immaculate. Loved our stay and would definitely come again 😃

Helpful?
Thank Zapal
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thanks for the praise Zapal, it was great having you and your family here! More 

los bol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016

As always Veronica and Saida greeted me like a lost brother lovely clean room swimming pool and Spa spotless Lebanese food was excellent these two ladies are perfect hosts nothing is too much trouble see you soon

Helpful?
Thank dandare1954
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Lovely seeing you too, Dandare! Stay as sweet as you are! More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

One of the most beautiful place we ever been in United Kingdom . Super services Excellent stuff very friendly and helpful We really had an awesome time everything was just amazing Even the SPA was beautiful :-) 😍😍 Diffidently coming back soon Thank you

Helpful?
Thank karimovic1234
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

We enjoyed your stay too! Looking forward to the next time! More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Would normally not comment on a bad stay, but this was an exception, the owners were quite simply the most arrogant and obnoxious people i have ever met,, we had several issues during our stay , but all we got back from the dreadful owner was " well go somewhere else"... . Totally deluded about their filthy hovel, this shud... More 

Helpful?
12 Thank paulK8591MC
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

We had no guests from Inverness and no families visiting in April. The Richwood does not recognise this booking, this is a fake review. More 

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

Only stayed a couple of days, but was impressed with the décor, comfort and friendliness. Made to feel welcome as soon as we walked in. Breakfast is served at a very civilised 9am to 10am. Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Happy that you were comfortable with us at the Richwood, we enjoyed having you here! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

Writing this review on behalf of my in-laws who recently stayed here with their friends. They had nothing but nice thing to say about this hotel. The owners were very friendly and helpful. They described that the rooms were small but lovely and hold their purpose. They had a light breakfast in the hotel which was included In their booking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suziprice
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

We are content that Suzi's in-laws enjoyed their stay the Richood and would be happy to be able to greet them again! More 

Cardiff
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016 via mobile

So the wife and I booked our stay in the Richwood through a Go Groupie voucher. Arriving at the hotel (BB)we were greated by the owners who appeared to be welcoming and professional. We were "told " where our room was and sent on our way. Our room was small, not compact or beju just bloody small. A very good... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank bombomCardiff
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

So we are really sorry that bombomCardiff were not happy with their stay. In our defense: the GoGroopie deal - and our personal confirmation of booking - stated the following quite clearly: 1) the deal was for a SMALL standard room, (pets not allowed, so no cat!), they could have upgraded on booking but chose not to; 2) the deal... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#60 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
The Beirut Bistro at the Richwood
Cuisines: Lebanese, Middle Eastern, Mediterranean
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $64 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay