We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Richwood

Show Prices
#52 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Richwood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 255: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

We took a family long weekend break to the Richmond on a wowcher deal, and we were very impressed with it. Saida looked after us very well, she had great local knowledge of Torquay, and advised some nice places to visit. We went out most nights, but the occasion that we stayed in the hotel on our last night was... More 

Helpful?
Thank David P
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Looking forward to welcoming you home again! Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2016

We stayed several nights in September 2016. It was clean. The shower was scorching hot or cold, no middle temperature. When we mentioned it to owner number 1, she said "I can't help you with that". Tea and coffee in room. Beds were comfortable. Clean towels after 5 days. They have 5 parking stalls and 16+ rooms. My math says... More 

Helpful?
Thank JetSetterJane
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Don't know what to say to JetSetterJane. There were no complaints as they left. The shower: no complaints before JetSetterJane, maybe they are not used to the english system. Clean towels were supplied on the 4th day. We did not chastise - sometimes we jokingly tease - when people cannot remember the instructions for the frount door, mayber the humor... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

Myself and hubby booked a break here Friday till Tuesday, when arriving we were a a little late due to traffic but called ahead to let them Know, Saida reassured us not to rush just to get here safe which I thought was very kind, when arriving we got a space right outside the front, we were greeted by the... More 

Helpful?
Thank sassyabdillah
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

We enjoyed your stay too! Looking forward to the next time! More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2016

We don't plan to spend a lot of time in our hotel rooms, so opted for a small standard double room. The price was great. The room was small but comfortable for a short stay. We were particularly impressed with the comfort of the bed. We slept really well, despite being accustomed to a king size bed. We appreciated the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judith H
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Looking forward to cooking Lebanese food for you next time! Thanks for the review and the words of praise, good for the soul! More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

We saw this hotel on a Wowcher offer and my husband was excited as he had seen the hotel on the program "four in a bed" which he loves. On arrival we were greeted by Veronica who had sent me a couple of very friendly emails before our arrival. We were shown to our room which was comfortable and represented... More 

Helpful?
Thank AKader_12
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

We enjoyed having you here! Come again soon! More 

1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2016

We had a great short vacation. The hotel is cozy and warm, attentive care. Distance to the sea takes about 30 minutes, so you can see and get acquainted with the city. Here is a very beautiful park, a beautiful environment. We were lucky - it was a sunny nice day

Helpful?
Thank Janina M
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, so glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2016

Although the hotel was a little dated we found a warm welcome and ready to help in anyway. Our room was small but cosy. It had tea making tray. Very clean. Although we were tall people it was not at all crowed. My only point was the floor boards creaked and as we are elderly couple the bathroom was used... More 

Helpful?
Thank Josie T
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank youi for you review and are happy that you enjoyed your stay! Sorry about the creaky floorboaeds, it is an old building! I creak a little sometimes too! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

I'm afraid I have to agree with all the negative reviews on here . It's the only hotel I've stayed in that didn't make the beds for us . Having said that we got a deal with woucher and I suppose you get what you pay for .

Helpful?
Thank Pagey57
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Sorry Pagey57. We do make the beds but we ask our guests to remove all personal items from it, if they wish to have this service. You oviously did not. More 

Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2016

Hubbie and I came for a 3 night week day stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Although we booked through Wowcher as a cheaper deal we were not expecting this. The hotel is in dire need of a complete re-vamp to bring it up to date, modern and appealing to visitors of all ages and abilities. When you see the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl Joanne H
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Our advice to Cheryl and hubbie: read the fine print on the voucher, look at the place you are going to and ensure it is modern before you book! Everything was clear on buying the voucher! We were aware that Cheryl and hubbie were not happy with their stay, as not once did they engage with us in conversation or... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. Very clean. The owners are very nice but we didn't see them very much. Unfortunately my husband is disabled, this hotel is no good for people on crutches or wheelchairs. We had a room that was the farthest point from the reception which marred the experience. Room was very small but comfy. The breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank shirley h
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

I am so sorry Shirley that your stay was spoilt through the fact that we do not have a lift... We did communicate about this when you booked, I was simply not aware of how disabled you lovely husband was. When the house is full, room delegation is a bit like doing a jigsaw puzzle and we have to delagte... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#29 of 89 in Torquay
107 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 89 in Torquay
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#24 of 89 in Torquay
970 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
The Beirut Bistro at the Richwood
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $84 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Richwood staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Penzance

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Richwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get a room facing the pool as this hotel is on a busy road.”
 of 5 bubbles JetSetterJane, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
“We had a small room at the front, were not bothered by noise. As advertised, small room are small, but perfectly adequate for a short stay”
 of 5 bubbles 508JudithH, Oct 9, 2016 | Read review
“Only took a standered others were at request for extra fee.”
 of 5 bubbles josiet929, Oct 8, 2016 | Read review
“Ring first before going to the Richwood to clarify room quality. We were facing the main road and the traffic going passed was very noisy.”
  • Hang your clothes here!
  • Basic room. Small double bed.
 of 5 bubbles cherylj0anneh, Sep 24, 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles stephenmillard2010, Sep 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay