We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Headland Hotel

Show Prices
#12 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

669 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 669: English reviews
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location and food , pity about the attitude of the staff and Management Nice from what looked like a large pipe over the roof and also kitchen cooking smells were in the air in the late afternoon on the terrace.

Helpful?
Thank Mollyknew
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The Headland Hotel on appearance is very smart, inside is very clean with decent size rooms. The staff where mostly friendly and hard working, the food was good however the choice was limited at times. We enjoyed our stay here and had an all round good experience and can recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank Massive-moose
LucyHPrice, Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Massive-moose, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased to see that you have enjoyed your time here. although I must disagree with your comment about limited food choices with our nightly 6 course evening meal offers a choice of 4 starters, then an optional sorbet, a choice of... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Another lovely stay at the headland from 04th September to the 09th September.This was our third visit we booked an executive room , but on arrival was given an upgrade to one of the Royal rooms, well worth the extra, The new outside area has made it much better to sit outside for a drink or coffee, Great food and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Warren S
LucyHPrice, Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Warren S, Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our 3 royal rooms and you liked our newest renovations to the hotel. We are very proud of our brand new terrace area as well as our newly opened spa. Our brand new hotel,... More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a 2day special break. At reception was informed room was on first floor and no lift. Ok ,however at the time had no idea to reach the room had to be fit,had this been made clear at the time I would have declined for health reasons. However, we started up and found it wasn't on the 1st floor and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
LucyHPrice, Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear readers, This guest did not advise us of any of these problems during their stay with us. Our website advises guests that most rooms are lift accessible and that some do require going up or down a flight of stairs. To get to the room mentioned in this review, the guest is required to climb a flight of 16... More 

Japan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a 2 night package. Impressive looking hotel from the outside and the public areas did not disappoint. Quick and efficient check in. This is a very popular hotel attracting coach parties and weddings which occurred during our stay. Rooms were pleasantly decorated but room 146 was in a part of the hotel which overlooked the bar extension and there... More 

Helpful?
Thank aichii
LucyHPrice, Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear aichii, Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us here at The Headland. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your lovely comments about our new Hydro Spa, we do have handrails to assist guests entering each of our hydropools. I am sorry you had a problem with you... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful hotel stunning location arrived Friday for 2 nights break (wish it could have been longer but they were fully booked). From the minute we checked in it was apparent that nothing would be too much trouble. Absolutely delicious afternoon tea on arrival, followed by an even better 6 course dinner menu, our waiter Igor was a star. In conversation... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dennis A
LucyHPrice, Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dennis A, Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your recent stay with us. I am very happy to read that you were looked after and Igor took great care of you. We do hope that we will be welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, The Headland Hotel & Spa team. More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently returned from a 5 day stay at this hotel and I cannot believe it is only 3 star rated. We had a wonderful time. From arriving at the hotel, check in was simple and hassle free. The staff at this hotel are wonderful. From the reception to waiters/waitresses, the service was excellent and always courteous and with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank thelma756
LucyHPrice, Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thelma756, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted to see that all of the team made you feel welcome and happy during your time here. We have been working very hard to ensure that all areas of the hotel are clean and well presented and I am pleased to... More 

Southwest England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a two night stay at the Headland for a weekend escape, to explore South Devon, especially the river Dart and the houses of Greenway and Coleton Fishacre. We had a large room with a fantastic view overlooking Torbay, the rooms and bathrooms could do with an update, but it was very comfortable and clean. The set dinner was... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaveTripp
LucyHPrice, Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DaveTripp, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed your 6 course evening meal! Next time that you visit, try booking dinner, bed & breakfast and sample the nightly changing delights that we offer. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a fabulous stay during our 5 night break. The staff couldn't do enough. The food was lovely and so much choice (we never managed the cheeseboards). The rooms where very clean and tidy. The bar / outdoor area was such a lovely open space we loved chilling and enjoying afternoon tea. The hydro spa and sauna are such chilled... More 

Helpful?
Thank clazbo
LucyHPrice, Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear clazbo, Thank you for your lovely review! I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us! It's a shame that you couldn't manage all 6 courses of our evening meal... I am pleased that you enjoyed our new spa facilities. This is the newest part of our hotel and boasts 3 hydro pools, a sauna, Jacuzzi,... More 

Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, spacious twin room with large bathroom. The hairdryer was ancient however, and absolutely no use for its intended purpose! The beds were comfortable and the room and bathroom was perfectly clean. I have coeliac disease and am incredibly sensitive to gluten. The hotel were aware of my dietary needs prior to my visit, and made sure there were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon B
LucyHPrice, Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rhiannon B, Thank you for your great comments about your stay with us. I am so pleased to see that your dietary requirements were properly catered for whilst you were here. We take all dietary requests extremely seriously and our team of chefs work very hard to ensure every guest receives the same level of fantastic food. Our spa... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

242 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (137)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (81)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 2,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#58 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $106 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#24 Family Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay