We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Torquay Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Torquay Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Torquay Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 80: English reviews
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 14, 2015

Great hostel. Staff are nice and helpful. The rooms are big and comfortable. There are big lockers in each room. The hostel is much nicer that the pictures you see on the website. I enjoyed my stay and definitely recommend this hostel if you are looking for a clean and also fun place to stay while in Torquay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you, hope to see you soon!

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 26, 2014

I stayed one month here, I met such friendly people. The hostel is really great, the dinner and tv room, the kitchen and the pool area are really friendly, and usefull. I like a lot the decoration! Rooms are good, well cleaning. A good place to stay in Torquay :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marinebada
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely to have you stay. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed October 14, 2014

I stayed at Torquay Backpackers for almost 2 months and had an amazing time. Torquay itself is a great town with a beautiful harbour, great places to go out and stunning coastal walks in both directions. The hostel is only a short walk from Torquay's beach, mainstrip and harbour. Torquay is also a great base for visiting other coastal towns...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia O
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review, there was never a dull moment when you were here! Enjoy the rest of your travels, hope to see you soon!

Reviewed September 24, 2014

I stayed one night before an interview and had a great room - was next to the front door which is only annoying because they are all fire doors so make a Big Bang but that's unavoidable! Lovely people and very cool decoration, very homely and was made to feel very welcome! Great place! Stay here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PSR2
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately due to fire regulations all the doors must have door closers on them. Hope your interview went well!

roma
Reviewed September 12, 2014

My Boyfriend and I stayed at Torquay backpackers in August 2014 and we had a very good experience. The hostel is centrally located, only 5 minutes walk from the main beach and the harbour area where you can find all the shops and the pubs. It has good facilites: a well equipped kitchen, a Tv lounge with plenty of dvds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaraT_891lo
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again soon!

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 6, 2014

I stayed 4 nights at this hostel in August. I booked online a bunk bed in a 4 bed female dormitory and paid £20/night. Upon arrival, I was given the key to my room and was shown my bunk bed by a member of staff, which to my surprise was in a 6 bed dormitory. I insisted to be given...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gabriela D
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Firstly can I apologise your stay here didn't meet your expectations. To clear up a few points, you did book a 4 bed female dorm but you were the only person who had booked this and as it was in August we were fully booked. Due to increased demand...

Czech Republic
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We spend there with my boyfriend in a double room about two weeks in the first half of the year 2014. The location of the hostel was OK, it was on the hill, near the centre of Torquay – a smaller, picturesque and coastal town (with around 65 000 inhabitants). You could do all the near sightseeing simply on foot,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atewi
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here and look forward to seeing you again!

Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this place for 2 weeks and I really liked. The staff is very cool making a good environment. I felt at home. Great space to make friendship. Lots of backpackers from all around the world. location is also a good thing. It's just 10 minutes or less from the bay and beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HUgo674
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a positive review!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I checked in for a couple nights but extended my stay as I enjoyed it so much, the staff and residents were so friendly, it has a great sense of community and it feels like home. The staff were really accommodating and everything was clean and comfortable. great facilities with large dining room, lounge and a pool table outside! brilliant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amy k
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you Amy for your kind review. Hope to see you soon!

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I love Torquay Backpackers and have stayed several times, for stays between 1 night to 6 weeks! Sean (owner) goes out of his way to make sure everyone has a good stay. I once phoned him after reception closed when I was stuck in Exeter, (Exeter backpackers wouldn't let me stay because I didn't have ID) and he came to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tanya K
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a nice review! Hope to see you during the summer for a few mojitos :-)

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
2,518 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 89 in Torquay
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#104 of 153 in Torquay
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#98 of 153 in Torquay
82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#8 of 89 in Torquay
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Renowned for its relaxed and friendly atmosphere, Torquay Backpackers truly is a ‘home from home’ and a place to make lifelong friends from all over the world. Housed in a listed Victorian terraced building, the hostel is centrally located in the beautiful seaside town of Torquay on the English Riviera. From the Hostel it is a short walk to the beach and harbour. With capacity to accommodate 48 people we welcome both groups and single travellers. We have dormitory accommodation ranging from 4 bed dorms (X4) 6 bed dorm (X1) 8 bed dorm (X1) and 12 bed dorm (X1). We also have a double room and a large family room which comprises of one double and two singles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Torquay Backpackers Hostel

Address: 119 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $25 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Torquay Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Backpackers Hostel Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Torquay Backpackers Hostel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Torquay Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The cabin beds are great!”
 of 5 bubbles CharleneHickey, Jan 12, 2016 | Read review
“accessibly nice rooms, cheap, comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles 810silviat, Oct 13, 2015 | Read review
“As for smaller rooms as it is likely to be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles pressi, Oct 1, 2015 | Read review
“sleep in room 10 as often as you can”
 of 5 bubbles juliao653, Oct 14, 2014 | Read review
“All rooms are comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles liamg555, Apr 4, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question