We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchorage Hotel

Aveland Road, Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Anchorage Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Partner booked us 1 night here for my birthday. On arrival receptionist was a young guy who was outside having a cigarette while we waited to check in. Room looked ok but on closer inspection the bedside cabinets hadn't been cleaned they were stained with tea/coffee and the lamps were dusty. The toilet had hair around the rim and there... More 

Helpful?
Thank andxxx
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our break was the Jan 2016. Lovely hotel, Helpful information from the staff was no trouble, very friendly felt like home. Room clean,and quite. Food very good Waitress excellent nothing to much trouble. Just two little niggles bathroom fan Just a little like a tractor and a hook behind the door would help to hang the towels and gown up... More 

Helpful?
Thank pat c
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited again this year and had a wonderful break. The staff are so friendly especially Jamie who is a real character and great fun. The food was very tasty, hot and well cooked . The rooms are comfy. The only little thing that let it down for me was the shower but the rooms were being updated after we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carole W
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've just come back from what can only be described as a very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Anchorage. We don't get away as much as we would like to, but when we do we want to know we are going to have a good time and we know that's what we are going to get everytime when... More 

Helpful?
Thank JOAN M
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One night stay at this hotel.. Had booked a single room at a very reasonable rate.. When I arrived I was given a double room at no extra cost. The room and en-suite were spotlessly clean. Staff were were very polite and helpful. Breakfast was from 8:15. Good coffee and plenty of toast. Overall an enjoyable stay at this budget... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stevie2bikes
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A long weekend just spent at this hotel and staff did all they could to make it a pleasant stay. Free WiFi is advertised and we've been staying since 2011 and have never had a problem. The Scottish guy on the desk was always very pleasant when I mentioned it wasn't working (even to trying to connect for me and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed a warm welcome at the reception, before being given the key to our room, which was larger than expected, and comfortable and pleasant. We decided to stay for the 3 x course dinner in the hotel, rather than venturing further afield, and we were extremely glad that we did. We thoroughly enjoyed our short break at this hotel,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie P
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

We had booked in for three nights a nd paid a bit extra for a delux room which it was [room 81].As usual booking in was over in a couple of minutes and off we went to unpack.As expected all the meals we had were top class and the waiting staff well on top of their game.The entertainment on Friday... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham J
anchorageBabbacombe, Reception at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Graham J Many thanks for your review of your stay with us in December. We are sorry about the situation with the entertainment on the Saturday evening and glad that we were able to resolve it for the Sunday night. We look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are here to watch the football. More 

Irthlingborough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Just spent mon to fri at this hotel and could not find anything wrong except for one blip on the first night in the restaurant ....staff are friendly, good hot food with choice from menu, rooms warm, good, and serviced everyday.

Helpful?
1 Thank MaryC835
anchorageBabbacombe, Reception at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Hello MaryC835 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We hope to see you back again in the future. More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

Have just returned from a Tinsel and Turkey weekend at the Anchorage, am very disappointed with the stay. On arrival on Friday theTV picture in our room was breaking up and No Signal showing, it took four visits by various staff members and eventually a new aerial cable was fitted on Sunday. There was a very cheerless feeling to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
anchorageBabbacombe, Reception at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Peter G Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Turkey & Tinsel break. We were aware that you were experiencing difficulties with the television in your bedroom. On each occasion when a member of management attended we were unable to find a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#61 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#47 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,801 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#45 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#60 of 95 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 stars 1,595 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.1 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#55 of 95 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay