We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,885 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,863: English reviews
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the Grand for our main family holiday this year. We wanted high quality accommodation with a pool for our 14 year old and this hotel surpassed all our wishes! We chose a room with a balcony and view and it was perfect for us. It was large and airy with extremely comfortable beds, quality furnishings and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank karencb1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent two nights here at the end of a long weekend touring Devon & Cornwall. The Grand in right on the sea front at Torquay, it is very clean. All the staff were very efficient and friendly, food was very good. Our room had a curved wall with lots of windows, it overlooked the railway station and also had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann J
Bristol
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The Grand sits on the sea front a short pleasant walk into town, and very close to a small nice parade of eateries / bars (where Visto lounge is etc) so it's in a nice position. The car park was full when we arrived but found free parking close by. Our room was very sizeable, it was pleasant but needed... More 

Helpful?
Thank BecciT
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The Grand sells itself as being grand. Sadly it doesn't quite live up to its name. When you book this hotel you think you're booking something a notch up from the ordinary run of the mill seaside place but sadly it's just like so many old hotels, a bit shabby, staff who are good but not great, food that's ok... More 

Helpful?
Thank pyerburgh
Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Well I've stayed in some hotels but this needs ALOT of work, it's noisy, this is my lovely view for my £159 a night room. The shower stinks which means the room does too. It's tired, dated and 2 star would be about the right rating. Children running up and down the hallway with their dog, turning lights on and... More 

Helpful?
Thank charliebb
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear charliebb, I am most disappointed to read your comments in your review and do apologise. I have taken the time to check our handover reports for the last week, and have got no reports of the smell you mention, or children running and making noise in the corridors. We would always encourage our guests to bring any issues to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Everything looked quite promising on arrival. We stayed in the Agatha Christie Suite which was very nice and spacious, lovely staff on arrival. However as the weekend went on we noticed a few things which meant we were unable to give the hotel more stars. The Spa area is very tired especially the changing areas which were quite dirty. Limited... More 

Helpful?
Thank Niki Y
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Niki Y, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I do apologise for the problem you encountered with your afternoon tea, and this has been discussed with our Bars Manager. We are currently reviewing plans for the Spa area, however the changing rooms were refurbished in April this year. In regard to the fireworks, we did... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Really great hotel. The staff are attentive, the hotel is attractive and tidy. A great place to come for lunch and a coffee. There is a fantastic view of the sea outside too, spa facilities and lots of space if you are coming here with little ones too.

Helpful?
Thank Julie L
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie L, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your time at The Grand. I am delighted to read you enjoyed lunch with us, and do agree the views are spectacular! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind regards More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel is generally old fashioned which is to be expected with an old building, but the rooms need updating; they are minimalistic, but they are kept clean and are regularly serviced. The indoor pool and hot tub were ok, but the changing areas aren't very nice. Breakfast was lovely; the poster in the lift indicating how busy it would... More 

Helpful?
Thank AshleeK1994
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AshleeK1994, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your stay at The Grand. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your 2 night stay, and found our team to be down to earth and helpful. I have shared your comments regarding the changing rooms with the relevant departmental managers and do apologise they were not... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in Agatha Christie suite for one night with 3 other ladies ,What an amazing suite with lounge two bedrooms and even two loos. Beautifully decorated and spotless Beds very comfortable and amazing sea views with balcony in lounge. Breakfast was also very good. The only down side is parking No Hotel grounds to park in There is a garage... More 

Helpful?
Thank norma l
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear norma l, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your stay at out hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Agatha Christie Suite and breakfast to be very good also. We do offer over 80 car parking spaces, in our garage, several spaces within the Railway Station, and also... More 

Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

At very short notice, we needed to book into the hotel to meet up with other members of our family who were staying there. The staff could not have been more helpful and they managed to sort out a suitable room which was comfortable and had a sea view. We had a lovely family meal. Everything was well-presented and cooked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham R
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham R, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your 'flying visit' to The Grand. I am delighted to read your comments regarding all aspects of your stay, especially the team! I do hope you will return, and enjoy the heritage steam line at Paignton which is indeed a popular attraction!! Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

361 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (342)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (99)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (127)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 2,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Gainsborough
The Gainsborough
Cuisines: Cafe, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $100 - $1,256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay