We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG England
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Three Is the Magic Number
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Snaptravel
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1406)
Room & Suite (457)
Dining (100)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Imperial Torquay
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#46 of 86 hotels in Torquay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Classic
Hotel links
Special Price:Three Is the Magic Number
4,437Reviews80Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,712
  • 1,396
  • 704
  • 350
  • 275
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
celtictraveller_31 wrote a review Apr 2020
Cardiff, United Kingdom10 contributions10 helpful votes
Location is exceptional. Reception: Check in can be slow. The porters were very good. We booked the spa via a gift voucher, then we later found out that the latest they (Spa) could accommodate my wife was 1500, so we asked if we could arrive at 1445 to check in and then go to the spa, to accommodate the hotel timings. What followed was a bit of a saga. Spa at 1500: The spa reception staff had that wonderful knack of making you feel unwelcome; don’t look up initially, then the cold stare, pause, then “yes”? The 90 minute massage was I was told fantastic, worth enduring the fridge treatment at reception for. The room was good, very comfortable and well equipped, upper end of 4 stars. 2 great night’s sleep. We have in the past stayed in rooms in the middle or to the right of the hotel as you look at it from the bay, this time we were on the left overlooking the pool roof and towards the bay, and there were some pool pumps or similar that had to run, only an issue if sitting out and not a big deal. Top tip; ask for a room to the left or centre of the hotel as you look at it from reception. Restaurant and Bar: We invited my son who lives locally to dinner for his 30th birthday. Although we had a table reserved by the window (and yes everyone wants one), we had a confirmation, special occasion. Problem was none of the restaurant staffs knew and were very rude when we asked; luckily we had checked with them late afternoon so it was resolved before dinner. The duty manager was very helpful. Food was very good, service whilst good was desperately slow, they were trying to run a large function at the other end of the hotel and it appeared to take priority. Breakfast is good except for the cooked buffet which is poor. For example, a fresh tray of eggs came out (after a few of us queuing asked) and were rock hard, had either been through a steamer of sat in a heating oven (and did no one notice, equally the bacon was piled high and so on, It just needed some batch cooking and someone keeping any eye on it, my wife ordered poached eggs which took a long time. This could again be a great hotel; All the ingredients are there; some effective management, customer focus and good old fashioned attention to detail would make the difference.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room high and to the left from reception (away from the indoor pool)
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AnetaE37, Manager at The Imperial Torquay
Responded Apr 13, 2020
Dear celtictraveller_31 Thank you for your review. I'm glad that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to learn that some parts of the stay wasn't as you would wish for. I will share your feedback with team. I hope you will return in the future to see changes we are making.
Read more
Junidot wrote a review Jul 2019
Highley, United Kingdom126 contributions38 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This is our 4th stay here and we stayed in room 412 on the 4th floor and yet again you really did push the boat out as we entered the room it was clean light and just perfect we then went for a swim in the pool and used the rest of the facilities could not fault it we had eaten outdo we skipped evening meal but after a great nights sleep we got up and went for a morning walk then entered the dinning room to a lovely view of the bay and to a hearty breakfast no faults what so ever I would definitely recommend this hotel it just gets better and better
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AnetaE37, Manager at The Imperial Torquay
Responded Jul 21, 2019
Dear 247junidot Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. i will share your comments with rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Nina943 wrote a review Mar 2020
Bournemouth, United Kingdom41 contributions18 helpful votes
We recently stayed here on a special deal for one night with dinner. As it was such a good deal we weren't expecting too much. We were pleasantly surprised as our Standard room seemed large and airy and had a beautiful partial sea view. We had twin beds which were pushed together, were roomy & extremely comfortable. We had ample wardrobe space, an iron with ironing board, a safe, & a hairdryer. We also had a kettle with the usual tea,coffee, & biscuits. We also made use of the Gym & spa facilities which were adequate. Initially we struggled to find where the restaurant was. However our 3 course dinner offered a varied selection & was absolutely delicious. The quality of the food exceeded our expectations. There were a couple of initial mishaps with service but these were quickly resolved to our satisfaction. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We also thought the hotel was in a great location, close to the harbour and a short walk to the town centre. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from AnetaE37, Manager at The Imperial Torquay
Responded Mar 20, 2020
Dear Nina thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments with rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Tony P wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
We have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 12 months and love it despite it's slightly quirky nature. We have had a booking in place now for over 2 months and should be staying there next week for 3 nights for my partner's birthday. We've had emails from several hotels that we have used over the same period and they have all been concerning the corona virus situation. They are assuring people that they are taking appropriate measures to safeguard patrons such as - moving dining tables further apart, staff not coming closer thatn 2 meters from you, etc. Not a peep out of The Imprerial! Well. I say not a peep although, just the other day, we got an email saying they were looking forward to seeing us next week and to point out that what the car parking charges were. No mention of the current situation. No mention of their appreciation of the fact that we may not be able to travel, or may not want to travel, and that they would understand and make some effort to perhaps refund or allow us to postpone our visit until it was safe to do so. For a hotel that is expecting clients to stay over the coming weeks and months and to not acknowledge the current situation, is appaling.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
rharris23 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Quality break at a very reasonable price, Car parking facility, hotel location and excellent facilities provided made our stay an extremely pleasant experience. Even the atrocious weather failed to dampen our enthusiasm. Certainly intend to return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from AnetaE37, Manager at The Imperial Torquay
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Dear rharris23 Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments with rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$76 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
imperial hotel torquay, barcelo torquay, imperial torquay, torquay imperial hotel, hotel imperial torquay
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEnglish RivieraTorquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
152
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Imperial Torquay
Which popular attractions are close to The Imperial Torquay?
Nearby attractions include Cary (Torquay) Gardens (0.3 miles), Torquays Dinosaur World (0.3 miles), and Hole in the wall pub Torquay (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Imperial Torquay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Imperial Torquay?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Imperial Torquay?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Imperial Torquay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Number 7 Fish Bistro, Saltwater Fish Restaurant & Takeaway, and The Orange Tree Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Imperial Torquay?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Imperial Torquay?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Imperial Torquay?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Imperial Torquay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Imperial Torquay?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Greenway (4.8 miles), Torre Abbey Museum and Gardens (1.0 miles), and Oldway Mansion (2.0 miles).
Does The Imperial Torquay have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.