We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay Torbay Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bay Torbay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

627 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 627: English reviews
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a Monday until Friday break staying on the 4th floor room 405. From this room there are no trees blocking your view but the wheel partly obscures your view but we didn't find it a problem. Always hot water but the pressure in the shower was fair. We found it to be quite slow. Rooms were clean but... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank dancingshoes47
SimonwMurray1, Public Relations Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi dancingshoes47 and thank you for your review of your second visit to us. I am pleased that you found everything to be as you required and that the service from the staff and the food was to your liking. I will look into your commenst refgarding the food not always being hot, but hope to see you again for... More 

wigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is very tired and in desperate need of an upgrade, we paid extra for a front facing room which was massive with the smallest bathroom I've ever seen, I'm only small (4ft 10ins) and I found it difficult to manoeuvre in the bathroom, the towel rail was loose where the electricity cable went in and my husband touched... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sue h
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Came to hotel on 8 day break. We found the hotel clean and comfortable. Dinner menu was varied. Breakfast was a bit chaotic. All members of staff that we came across were friendly and very helpful. When we arrived it was very hot. We asked for a fan it was in the room straight away. The only draw back was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jane W
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jane w and thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful to you. I will pass on your kind words of praise to Mike who will be pleased to know he looked after you so well. We also look forward to... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

very nice hotel very clean staff excellent food fair self service in morning i personly would recomend that breakfast the cook side of it be table service as i can see accident happening but keep self service for toast and cearal that was only think we could find wrong all in all recomend this hotel to any body who wants... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank littlejohn424
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi littlejohn42 and thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad that you found everything to your liking. Our hotels have recently changed its breakfast service to self service, which we feel allows guests the individual choice of what to have, so I am pleased that this did not detract from your otherwise enjoyable... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here on a long weekend from Friday until Monday. We were on the fourth floor. We couldn't fault the rooms at all. Overlooking the harbour and the Torquay Eye. The only thing that did let the hotel down was the shower we had for the hotel was appalling. It didn't have any pressure at all and any slowly ran/dripped... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nigjules
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi nigjules and thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your weekend with us and that you were well looked after. I note your comments regarding the shower and I will look further into the issue that you have raised. I am pleased to read that the staff were of particular good service to you and... More 

uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two nights in September on a bed and breakfast basis. We arrived very early in the morning as we were meeting up with friends who were already staying in the hotel with a coach party, when we informed the guy on reception we were early he was very nice and although our room was still occupied... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank wintonn
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi wintonn and thank you for reviewing your recent weekend stay with us at the Torbay. Its great to read that you enjoyed the hotel and service that we provided. its particularly pleasing to hear that the staff offered you great service and that the food and bedroom was also to your liking. We do look forward to seeing you... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We picked up the coach in Rotherham at 9.55am and got taken to the feeder coach at Woodhall service station .Transferred on to the Shearings coach what a lovely comfy seat and quite a lot of leg room .It took seven hours to get to our hotel in Torquay ,but had 2 stops on the way the driver was great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair W
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Alistair W and thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one and its lovely to read your kind words of praise for the hotel and the service you received. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. More 

Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just home from 8 days......hotel has the best centralised position in Torquay. Best part o the week was that we had the best coach driver.So knowledgeable. Good old Mike. Food not to my liking but cable. Very disappointed about the room no. 201. Miles away from the stupid lift and me in a wheelchair.we did book early enough and were... More 

Helpful?
Thank scarletosilv20
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mrs Williams, thank you for your review, I shall pass on your kind comments to mike who will be pleased to know he looked after you. I should point out that room 201 is the room nearest the lift of the type that you had booked, which was a rear facing room. More 

gateshead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from an 8 day holiday with Shearings and were allocated a standard plus room 236 which we did pay extra for. The room was spotless and the maids came in every day. Unlike the other reviewer who stayed in this room we had no problems with noise or homeless people even though it was very hot and we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jenniwren
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

thank you jenniwren for your review and I am pleased to read that you found everything to your satisfaction. its always great to hear from guests who have had an enjoybale holiday with us and we look forward to your return sometime in the near futrure More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from 5 days with Shearings. Hotel was very nice in an excellent location. Food was fair but the dining room was far too overcrowded with people almost sitting on your shoulders as they passed by. The entertainment was good but the highlight of the holiday was Darren our driver who was very knowledgeable and witty and more like... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jacky106
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (133)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 stars 1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 2,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#23 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $112 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay