We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boringdon Arms

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Boringdon Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 42: English reviews
Plymouth
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Boringdon Arms had been closed for some time but has now been extensively refurbished and open once more. It has a small lounge, a good bar and a lovely enclosed garden to the rear Good range of Camra ales and good pub food. Staff very helpful and friendly. Its only a 30 min walk from home so will be visiting... More 

Helpful?
Thank KFW
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

The Boringdon reopened on Friday 4th after a complete redecoration and it looks great! Although the beer garden was not yet finished I look forward to sitting outside soon as it looked lovely I really liked that fact that there are enough areas to have a drink and chat , something rare in other pubs where all available space is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MMAllen
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2016

I stayed at this 18th century pub two days ago and really enjoyed my stay, the landlord and landlady made me feel very welcome and the bacon and sausages at the breakfast would put many more expensive hotels to shame. Yes it is an 18th century building needing some work but the rooms were clean, the view and atmosphere great,... More 

Helpful?
Thank petergru69
BoriPL9, Owner at Boringdon Arms, responded to this review

Thank you sooooooo much for your kind words, and we ( and our locals ) send our best greetings and love. Especially Aunty Carol!! see you soon! Danny antd Tam x x x x x x More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Popped in on Christmas Eve for a nice drink after work and have never ever been treated so poorly in my whole life. After ID being requested to be shown the male staff member proceeded to make a joke about the picture on my ID which was very very offensive and ruined my evening. The worst bar staff I have... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline1209
BoriPL9, Owner at Boringdon Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments,, and we would like to sincerely apologise for any offence you felt. This matter has been dealt with appropriately in house, and IS NOT the way we operate. We should however draw your attention to the facts that a) A number of your party were intoxicated. The licencing law insists we refuse service to these... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

We popped in for something to eat about 4pm on a Sunday, it's the first time we had ever been to this pub, we were thoroughly disappointed as we walked in we sensed a lack of atmosphere and the 2 or 3 customers in there made us feel very uncomfortable, we didn't even finish our drinks before we left.

Helpful?
Thank mike p
BoriPL9, Owner at Boringdon Arms, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to The Boringdon Arms, and this saddens us greatly. In addition we would like to apologise that due to the on going gas and electrical repairs we were unable to provide a food offering. This will be rectified presently and we will look forward to welcoming you... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

We have had some enjoyable visits to this pub. Great new hosts at the Bori, who are creating a friendly pub open to all and also supporting local groups, charities and businesses. Friendly staff. Looking forward to the beer festival in November!

Helpful?
Thank Iffits
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015 via mobile

What a lovely couple Danny and Tamzine are . I booked this for the views and the fact i like small places . Would like to thank everyone at the Boringdon for such a wonderful stay . Will definatly make a return to this lovely place .

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

The hosts Danny and Tamzin and of course the boy wonder who cooked bacon like it shd be cooked were amazing. We'll never forget the cellar tour and rest of hotel with stunning views! Lovely couple and a great pub. Never have I been allowed to pour my own pint of draught from a proper pump! Cheers Dan and Tamzin.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
BoriPL9, Owner at Boringdon Arms, responded to this review

Thanks Folks, it was a pleasure having you x More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

Booked in last minute. Rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. Dan and Tam made us feel very welcome. Nothing too much trouble. Food was smashing. We had a lovely ploughman's lunch. Would definitely stay again. Thank You Dan & Tam.

Helpful?
Thank Belinda B
BoriPL9, Owner at Boringdon Arms, responded to this review

Thank you again for you kind words, it was a pleasure having you here. Don't be strangers! D & T x More 

Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

stayed here for 2 nights on the 28th August 2015 in a quadruple room with en suite, but as we, four of us, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves so much we decided to stay an extra night. The landlord and landlady (Danny & Tamsin) were absolutely fantastic and couldn't do enough for you, even had a tour of the old building. Clean... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Brian R
BoriPL9, Owner at Boringdon Arms, responded to this review

Thanks folks, the pleasure was ours though. It was such a pleasure and great laugh having you here. We can't wait for you to back........ Next year we'll share our birthday weekend!!!! Many happy returns for th 19th! All our love, D & T x More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
4.0 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel
Boringdon Hall Hotel
#2 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,754 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Lockyers Quay) Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Boringdon Arms Inn Restaurant
Boringdon Arms Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Boringdon Arms

Address: Boringdon Terrace | Turnchapel, Plymouth PL9 9TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boringdon Arms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay