We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Belmont Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Belmont Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here after going to a concert at the Plymouth Pavillions, which is situated just down the road from the hotel (3-5 minute walk). The hotel manager was very welcoming and showed us to our room. The room was basic with everything you would expect in a standard room (en-suite, tv, wifi, kettle etc), but very comfy. I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cam S
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2016

A truly horrible experience for me and the kids. Booked over the phone, agreed a price, and arrived only to be told we had to pay more. The woman in charge kept telling us to go find another place if we weren't happy to pay more. To cap it all she called the police !!!! after I insisted on a... More 

Helpful?
Thank mosunabike

Travelers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

Good night sleep. Stayed here and went out for a friends birthday.. Clean rooms, hotel manager was friendly and quiet throughout the night :) may recommend to others :). All in all a very good stay. We booked 2 rooms, one on the very top floor which was a long way when your intoxicated after a night out ;) haha.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus M
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

Vincent was very helpful, he greated us and was able to sort our room situation within 15 minutes (I should mention that I accidentally booked the room for the following night). the rooms were spacious and extremely clean. I had a private room with a full size bed, all the rooms have a sink but the bathroom is shared and... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlexanderfedericoIV
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

Me and my parent booked this hotel for a night stay and I tell you this was the worst place I have ever stayed.where do I start well when walked in door owner took my partner bank card for security reasons we paid by cash 55pound.went to room had a shower wish had little water pressure. We went to a... More 

Helpful?
Thank kelly26j
June T, Owner at Belmont Hotel, responded to this review

Our hotel policy is take a preauthorisation on the card regardless of the payment method used (to secure the booking). We do NOT charge the card without your consent. It takes 2-5 working days for the preauthorisation to be cleared (during this time, the amount preauthorised is shown as ‘pending’ and does NOT go through to our account). You told... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
647 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2016

Booked this hotel the same day we stayed. We had a very warm welcome from Mrs Tan and her son. We had room 7 which had twin beds and an ensuite shower and toilet. Towels were nice and fluffy. There was a kettle and plenty of tea coffee and milk. It had an efficient radiator. The bed was comfy. Wifi... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda H
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2015

Stayed for one night, last minute booking. Room was described as en suite however this referred to the shower and the bathroom was shared with the room next door. The room was clean minus the carpet which could've done with hoovering.

Helpful?
Thank epierce277
Axminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here as a last minute booking. Very close o walk, 5 minutes to theatre. Were shown room, clean and tidy with bathroom next door. Parking right outside the front door. Good nights sleep, looking forward to cooked breakfast. The charge for breakfast was only £7 for the two of us. It is very close to the sea, within walking... More 

Helpful?
Thank John M
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

There nothing special about the Belmont except a welcoming smile, clean rooms and a filling breakfast. If you are looking for a TV lounge and resident's bar, they don't have one. But in return you have a family friendly environment. Add free wi-fi, working shower, etc you have a peaceful place to rest your weary head. We had our young... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger B
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here one night, Plymouth was very busy and there weren't many hotels left. We picked this due to price and location. A permit is avaliable for parking at £2 which was really good value. We were within walking distance of the hoe, barbican and city centre. Perfect location. We paid extra for a 4 poster bed room which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Binkyboo21
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#9 of 83 in Plymouth
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Moorings Guest House
The Moorings Guest House
#21 of 83 in Plymouth
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashgrove House
Ashgrove House
#70 of 83 in Plymouth
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Pier House
Old Pier House
#38 of 83 in Plymouth
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Belmont Hotel

Address: 174 Citadel Road | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Hotel Class:2 star — Belmont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Belmont Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We were in Room 8.”
 of 5 bubbles Nathalieemma, Apr 11, 2015 | Read review
“Sorry but I'd find somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles CymruNomad, Aug 29, 2014 | Read review
“Phone and book direct to ensure you get what you want if they have it available”
 of 5 bubbles 673leeh, Sep 16, 2013 | Read review
“Do not have the "up grade" or breakfast go to Weathersppons/morrisons....”
 of 5 bubbles DawnM712, Mar 15, 2013 | Read review
“Make sure its Ensuite.. not all rooms are.”
 of 5 bubbles 230ashfaqj, Aug 28, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question