We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Kynance House Bed & Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
107-113 Citadel Road | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 128: English reviews
surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend, the place is a bit dated and could do with a revamp, the staff were friendly, the room seemed clean enough we was asked daily if we wanted our rooms cleaned or if we needed anything, one thing I would say is breakfast needs to be better organised first morning no problem second morning my... More 

Helpful?
Thank bmwgirlie
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are all sorry about the troubles with your breakfast - we are busy training new staff for the summer and sometimes enthusiasm doesn't make up for experience! We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay with us - I'm sure that, when you come back to us on the next diving trip, your... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here because we missed the last train to Bristol and couldn't find anywhere else to stay. On arrival we were led away from the main hotel to a property just down the road. The room was on the top floor and shared a toilet and shower with another room. To say the shower was disgusting would be an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon B
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Simon, thank you for the review although the property you stayed in is not part of the Kynance - we contacted our friends who own a contractors lodgings property to see if they could help you. The room you were in was only let to you because you had nowhere else to go. As you were told when you... More 

Bideford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were only staying one night, the man who greeted us was very polite. Taken to our room which reeked of smoke and damp. Pubes on the bedding, dirty towels, floor had so many stains that when we eventually braved taking shoes of it was actually wet in places! We looked elsewhere but other places were fully booked otherwise would... More 

Helpful?
Thank frantrofa
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had this experience when you stayed here with us - it's unfortunate that you didn't talk to any member of staff about the issues that you had with your room as there are always staff on site and we could have addressed your problems. I'd like to address some of your points: If the carpet... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

Had such a fantastic stay hete. The staff were lovely, talkative, friendly and attentive. Did everything they could to make the stay comfortable. Room was lovely and clean. Comfortable, cosy and relaxing. The location was great and close to everything you could want or need. Decided to ask if could check out later as everything was just perfect. Gent on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carly H
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for such a lovely review. It's nice to know that people appreciate all of our hard work. It was a pleasure having you both here with us and we hope that you are back soon. More 

Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

This hotel was poor and very tired. The room had a shower door that had dropped of its hinge and a tap with a broken top. We were escorted through the kitchen which was not in good state of cleanliness. The breakfast was acceptable, however we waited 20 mins for a boiled egg !!!! During which time we had dirty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Patrick, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, as we always appreciate hearing from our guests. We are sorry that you found damage on your car and we are sorry that we were unable to find out when or how this happened, especially after we checked all of our extensive security camera footage. Sometimes our... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

I stayed one night at Kynance House in Plymouth and was well looked after by the friendly staff who were very welcoming. Good selection for breakfast. Thanks again for helping me out unexpectedly at such short notice!

Helpful?
Thank Emily L
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Emily. We are always glad that we were able to help you out in your time of need! Hopefully next time you stay with us there will be a little more forethought! More 

Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

We came up for a night for a friends birthday and we stayed at Kynance B&B. We had a bit of a mess up with people dropping out last minute, but Kynance were very helpful and moved our rooms around so that the 3 of us that made it got a room each. Staff were very friendly and helpful, sorted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt B
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We're glad that we were able to help you, especially as your group did shrink! Next time you're in Plymouth, we'll be glad to see you. More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for just one night as our son was in a rowing regatta the next day. We were greeted by a friendly curtious owner and given our keys quickly. A family of five but only 4 beds in the room but the problem was quickly sorted out and we were given the correct rooms/beds. The rooms looked clean, tidy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! I know there was a little bit of confusion over the number of beds that you needed , but we're all so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you'll come back - we are lucky that we are so well placed in the city and we can't wait to see you... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

When we were shown our room we were surprised at how tatty it was there were long black hairs in the bed and the skirting was dirty .Overall disgusting.After complaining when the tv didnt work we were moved to a different room which seemed better at first.A bit later the radiator started making a loud rumbling sound which after about... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neville126
bb294, Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Neville126 We are sorry to hear that you stay was unpleasant and wish there was more we could of done to resolve the issues on the night. We have since had the heating looked at by professionals and have resolved the issue that caused the vibrations. And also have had the TV and shower issues looked into. Which have... More 

cardiff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

We had a rear view room, overlooking back car park. Twin beds, clean and tidy and they even changed towels and linen when we only stayed 2 nights. Walking distance from Barbican. Very friendly and helpful staff. TV remote control could have done with batteries! Breakfast had plenty of choice and cheerful service. Some free parking available at the rear... More 

Helpful?
Thank anne0590
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Anne. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you appreciated your breakfast - we do believe it's the most important meal of the day! Hopefully when you come back to us you'll be able to stay longer. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Poppy's Guest House
Poppy's Guest House
#9 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#3 of 83 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledonia Guest House
Caledonia Guest House
#18 of 83 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tudor House Guest House
Tudor House Guest House
#4 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Breezes
Sea Breezes
#1 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial, Plymouth
The Imperial, Plymouth
#2 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kynance House is a 3 star, family run Bed and Breakfast based on The Hoe, Plymouth. We have 26 comfortable en-suite rooms to offer, with free, unlimited, in room wifi and a delicious breakfast is also included in the price. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kynance House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 107-113 Citadel Road | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $77 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kynance House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kynance House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kynance Hotel Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay