We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kynance House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 155: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

In October last year, I was taken poorly on a train and had to get off at Plymouth, a room was booked by the station staff at The Kynance, I was barely able to speak I felt so bad, but the night manager was so kind. He showed me to my room and said I could call anytime during the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank westie38
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, restricted off road parking but better than parking in the road. Great breakfast, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Walking distance to local restaurants, cafes and pubs. Close to the Hoe with great views and walks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Wallington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely amazing customer service!!!! The manager was lovely and really went that extra mile to deliver a fantastic service. Lovely, helpful and friendly. Very grateful for the extra help and will be staying here when next in Plymouth!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgia_Naldrett
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, Georgia. We can't wait until your next visit. Have a great New Year!

Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

Kynance house Plymouth. Is a nice friendly place. Extremely polite always willing help and make laugh. Kynance makes me feel at home. I keep going back. Kynance house review is excellent 5+* from me. Keep up the good work Kynance ☺☺

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona-rose123
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review - it's always nice to hear from regular guests! We re all looking forward to your next visit.

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 21, 2016

One night stay with a group of friends. Was worried about what I would find after reading previous posts. I shouldn't have worried the room was clean and tidy. Obviously its a fairly old building so everything was not going to be perfect but for our purpose (night out in Plymouth to celebrate a birthday) it was a decent place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PIJK D
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We are all glad that you stayed here with us - it's true that reviews are totally subjective, so it's good that you chose to come here and see for yourself. It was good that you all enjoyed your stay here and, when you are planning for the next big...

Horndean, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Kynance recently and it's an experience I would rather forget! The hotel was dated and smelled musky and dirty. Our room was absolutely filthy, with stains on the floor and surfaces, dirty curtains and a broken window. Our room didn't get cleaned and we weren't given more tea or coffee - we didn't even get clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth1296
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, although, from what you have written, I find it difficult to believe that you stayed here with us, as, from the list of your problems, I would have thought that you would have talked to any of my many members of staff about your concerns, as they do seem...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 7, 2016

Like stepping back in time, this place hasn't been decorated or had any new furniture probably since it was opened in the 50's. Our room had a broken window catch, smelt musty, had old mis-matched furniture, looked tatty, had blood on the shower room wall and most certainly was not worth the £75 per night. How this place continues to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _ingrid_wright11
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us, although some of your comments make difficult reading, as we always hope that our guests enjoy their stay with us. To answer a few of your many comments -we do not provide anything other than soap in the bathrooms because of the potential allergy problems with our guests - if we had known that you...

Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 7, 2016 via mobile

What a perfect B&B ,we went for an overnight stay in Plymouth to visit our daughter at Uni.We wanted a place that would take dogs too! We have a small well behaved dog and wanted the perfect place near The Hoe for walking him. This place was absolutely perfect! The staff and owners were so welcoming, nothing was too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsfenemore
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us - I will pass your comments on to our housekeeping and kitchen staff - we always let them know when they have been singled out for praise. It was lovely having you stay here and we all look forward to your return visit.

Reviewed November 1, 2016

The only good thing about this place was the fact we could take the dog. This place was poor, the sheets seemed clean but everything else was not worth the money, the door did not shut properly, neither did the window that was on ground floor and in the car park, there was old water in the kettle that made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review - It seems as though you didn't enjoy your stay here with us very much and I am sorry about that, although I'd like to address your comments. After checking the door and shower in your room, they are both in perfect condition, as is the window which, as you...

Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay very friendly Thoroughly recommend Great place to visit travelled down from Buxton Recommended local placed to see and visit Will stat there again when going down to see the boats. Welcome Hosts

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - it's lovely to hear that you both enjoyed your stay with us, and I'm glad we were able to help you with the vinegar factory! Although it is a long way to travel, we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poppy's Guest House
Poppy's Guest House
#6 of 83 in Plymouth
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial, Plymouth
The Imperial, Plymouth
#2 of 83 in Plymouth
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#9 of 83 in Plymouth
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jewells Guest House
Jewells Guest House
#13 of 83 in Plymouth
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#3 of 83 in Plymouth
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kynance House is a 3 star, family run Bed and Breakfast based on The Hoe, Plymouth. We have 26 comfortable en-suite rooms to offer, with free, unlimited, in room wifi and a delicious breakfast is also included in the price. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kynance House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 107-113 Citadel Road | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $56 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kynance House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Kynance House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kynance Hotel Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Kynance House Bed & Breakfast staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Kynance House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Im sure staff will allocate the best room available”
 of 5 bubbles westie38, yesterday | Read review
“As you're near the sea, seagull noises in early morning is unavoidable, but try a road facing room, I had a rear facing one.”
 of 5 bubbles donalddbhu, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“Probably at the back of the property. This is quote central and Plymouth can be a busy town”
 of 5 bubbles anne0590, May 16, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have en suite facilities”
 of 5 bubbles P9176FNpeterc, Mar 1, 2016 | Read review
“Under Refurbishment at moment choose a finished room./”
 of 5 bubbles Q2873DZcarolh, Nov 23, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay