We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Caledonia Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Caledonia Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 95: English reviews
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good location for Plymouth being within walking distance of The Hoe, Barbican and town centre. Proprietors, Dave and Karen have been there for long time and are happy to recommend eateries, places to visit etc.. Good choice at breakfast all cooked to order...Only issue was size of shower which was difficult to move within.

Helpful?
Thank Rodders104
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

Great location.. Easy walking distance to the hoe and barbican, Dave and Karen are very friendly and helpful, plenty of information available about local places to eat, things to do in the area etc.. Our room was lovely and very clean, breakfast was great, perfectly cooked and plenty of choice, couldn't ask for more from a b&b, would definitely recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1300LowRider
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and for highlighting we are central to many places to eat and visit. Also many thanks for mentioning your cooked breakfast and clean room. More 

Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

Great little hotel ,spotlessly clean, friendly. helpful owners., Good breakfast selection and well cooked. Very convenient for theatre, restaurants and shops. Free car parking on premises . Would recommend to anybody

Helpful?
Thank taddyman
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and for highlighting our cooked breakfast and convenience to the Theatre Royal and restaurants. Mentioning clean and spotless makes it all worthwhile for us. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016

Very good location for The Hoe, Theatre Royal etc. Room and ensuite very clean; however the bed was not very comfortable and from our room (No 5) there was some traffic noise. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Good value for what it was.

Helpful?
Thank Helen H
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you thought the bed was uncomfortable. This is the first mention of this .We will investigate. Unfortunately we are a Listed building and the traffic noise is beyond our control and the Council will not allow us to change our windows. More 

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

Nice b&b that is in a really great location. Seemed to be plenty of parking. Walking distance to the Barbican Centre and pubs / restuarants. Breakfast was spot on, rooms clean and tidy. Couldn't ask for any more from a b&b

Helpful?
Thank Brian D
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased we ticked all the boxes for your visit. More 

Bideford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2016

Wonderful hotel. Friendly staff, clean rooms with adequate selection of beverages. Nice breakfast selection and the English cooked breakfast was one of the best I have had. The guest house is ideally situated for city centre shopping, theatre Royal and the Hoe. Fantastic!

Helpful?
Thank Dewekp
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and many thanks for saying the cooked breakfast was the best that you have ever had. It means a lot to us to have such favourable comments. Also our central location and parking adds to guests benefits. More 

Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

Really nice little hotel with nice staff. Great price for the location, within walking distance of pretty much everything you could want to do. Really nice breakfast selection as well and good tea/coffee facilities in room.

Helpful?
Thank rhubarbcrumble21
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about our guest house and the comment of value for money in a central location and a nice breakfast. More 

London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2016

We had tickets for the Pavilions in Plymouth so decided to stay overnight. The Caledonian was a very pleasant place, very well placed for the Hoe and the theatre. The weather was dreadful but the guesthouse was cosy. Rooms simple but clean and with every facility including free wifi. Nice breakfast in a bright room. Would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank LondonHadders
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are ideally situated to visit the Pavilions or Theatre Royal.It means a lot to us when your review states you will definitely return. More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2016 via mobile

Just back from our 3 nights at the Caledonian guest house , we like so many looked on trip advisor and gambled on the Caledonian . I'm glad to say for me all was good , clean , good breakfast ,friendly and worth the stay , on the down side the shower was poor (low pressure,) and the Windows are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michaell8703
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we were worth the gamble. We will investigate the shower pressure problem as we were not aware as you did not mention during your stay. Due to us being a listed building there is not a lot we can do about the windows and outside noise is beyond our control. We hope to see... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

Good welcome, good clean rooms, good breakfast cooked to order the following day. Bed was firm, but the way I like it. Everything else in the room you would expect plus fast free WiFi. They have a private car park which I didn't notice, parking on the street is a bit hit and miss, so I recommend you try to... More 

Helpful?
Thank simplemick
David M, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your complement of our freshly cooked breakfast to order. Also thank you for highlighting on street parking payable 10-6pm and our free car park at the rear of the house. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,761 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poppy's Guest House
Poppy's Guest House
#9 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#3 of 83 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial, Plymouth
The Imperial, Plymouth
#2 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barbican Reach
Barbican Reach
#5 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a 'home from home' stay in our listed Victorian guest house. Just park your car and stroll to the newly refurbished shopping mall in the City Centre. Then go and relax on the historic Barbican with the many restaurants and public houses. Also experience the superb views of Plymouth Hoe. Our comfy beds and an excellent breakfast will prepare your day for another Plymouth experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Caledonia Guest House

Address: 27 Athenaeum Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $80 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonia Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your Caledonia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay