We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Grosvenor Plymouth

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

644 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 623: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

A double and twin booked, twin was lovely on second floor with one double, one single bed Problem arose with double which was situated literally in 'attic area' We didn't mind the never ending stairs, it was THE HEAT, we were in a permanent sauna, duvet on bed was a heavy feather one, which didn't help matters, soon removed that... More 

Helpful?
Thank maizyboo
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good value hotel for bed and breakfast (no evening meals) the staff were friendly and the room was clean and comfy. There was plenty of choice at breakfast, juices and fruit to full English. Limited hotel parking, about four spaces but you can park on the road outside.

Helpful?
Thank Glen R
Foulridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed with my partner for one night. Phoned ahead to ask for a quiet room, allocated one on the top floor (5th) - unfortunately there are no lifts so we had to lug our bags up 5 floors. Managed to get the last of circa 8 parking spaces in hotel car park at rear. Room was nice, very clean. Service... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wing14
Boston Ma
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a lovely stay at the Grosvenor. It is very clean hotel and the rooms are a good size. We were traveling with our two teenage daughters, so we needed two rooms. The hotel worked with us and gave us adjacent rooms which was perfect. Tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, toiletries all provided in the room. Breakfast, full... More 

Helpful?
Thank PTBrit
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice hotel the location is very good but my room was on the top floor there are no lifts and it was a long way up when I arrived it was the smallest single room I have been in and very pokey with a very small bed. The staff where friendly and the breakfast was nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were visiting family and wanted a biggish room for our sons and ourselves . The family room at the Grosvenor was perfect - really spacious clean and comfortable with a lot of character much like the rest of the hotel which is as good as it looks on the website and in a lovely location near the Hoe.the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrism617OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Easy to find in Plymouth and pleasant walk to the Hoe, The Barbican & City centre. Managed to get one of the 8 car park spaces round the back. Large comfortable double room on first floor. The En suite was on the small size & could have done with a shelf for bottles etc.. Good breakfast & helpful polite staff.... More 

Helpful?
Thank James H
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time I have stayed and the rooms are clean with really comfy beds. breakfast is a must with plenty of choice and friendly staff to great you. the Hoe is a 2 minute walk from the hotel with breathtaking views of Plymouth Sound. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Helpful?
Thank Weeza27
Paul B, Owner at The Grosvenor Plymouth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on this visit to Plymouth and we hope to welcome you back to The Grosvenor again soon. Jo Caswell General Manager More 

Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed overnight prior to catching ferry to Spain. It is a very pleasant hotel, in a good location, just a minutes walk from The Hoe and 10 minutes walk to city centre and the Barbican. We had a large double at the rear of the hotel. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. I would stay again

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
Paul B, Owner at The Grosvenor Plymouth, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. We are glad that you had a good stay with us and that you would stay again if you returned to Plymouth. We are only a 5 minute drive from the Ferry Port so are ideally located for those travelling to France or Spain. We hope you had a good trip!... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent two nights here on my first trip to Plymouth. The hotel has a very attractive frontage and a welcoming reception. The breakfast buffet was better than average, and service was prompt and courteous. The only downside was a very small room facing onto a brick wall. However it was clean and presentable. If returning, I would request a larger... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rusty B
Paul B, Owner at The Grosvenor Plymouth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We have a number of different room types here, I'm sorry that you felt your room was on the smaller side. All of our Superior Doubles are front facing and are larger than our Standard Doubles. These have King Size Beds and a seating area too; alternatively we do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

278 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (208)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Family Suite (38)
Viewed
Grand Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
4.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel
Boringdon Hall Hotel
#2 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
4.5 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#1 of 2 in Plympton
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the southwest's largest city, the Grosvenor Plymouth is the ideal base for a quality and affordable stay in the historical city of Plymouth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Plymouth

Address: 7 - 11 Elliot St | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $92 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grosvenor Plymouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Grosvenor Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Grosvenor Hotel Plymouth
The Grosvenor Hotel Plymouth
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#2 Best Value Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay