We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

777 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 765: English reviews
nottingham
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights earlier this week.Room pretty average and dated. Internet connection poor.The real star as far as we were concerned was the young lady who runs the bar during the evenings. Her name is Carly. She has a fabulous personality, so friendly and entertaining,she connected with us and we loved her. I've missed her since we've arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank terijony
Management response:

Dear terijony, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality. We will be sure to pass on your super comments and thanks to Carly who am sure will be very pleased. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I recently stayed here for a couple of nights. The hotel is only a short walk from the station so it's in a good location. The staff are all friendly and professional. However, the decor in the rooms is stuck in a time warp and is pretty dodgy. Also, there is no a/c in the bedrooms so if you happen... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
Management response:

Dear Sarah P, Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay and the positive feedback on our staff and breakfast. Please accept my apology for your disappointment with various aspects of our hotel; specifically the absence of air-conditioning in our bedrooms. Unfortunately, due to the average temperatures experienced in Devon, we do not plan on adding... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel location is excellent if you are visiting the University of Plymouth. The hotel looks like it needs some renovation (1970s-80s look). Rooms are comfortable but look dated. The receptionist was very helpful. Room service food order was excellent. Breakfast was very good. The internet is slow! The hotel has a parking below at an additional cost which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank kephalonia
Management response:

Dear kephalonia, Thank you for reviewing our hotel after your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read your positive comments on our comfortable rooms, breakfast, room service and most of all, our staff of whom we are so proud. I have noted your comment on our dated decor but I am happy to assure you that we are... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I found this place in Plymouth when my previously booked place messed up so it was just by chance I ended up staying here. I had a twin room to myself as all the doubles were full. Despite being a larger person I do still only take up half a double bed so a single is considered ample. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob B
Management response:

Dear Rob B, Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you after your original booking let you down,We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay. We trust that you will stay with us... More 

plymouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I were lucky enough to be invited to attend the wedding of a special couple. The staff were friendly and helpful and welcoming and the bar was well stocked although pricey.The wedding breakfast was lovely and the waiting staff were attentive. No bad points to say, a lovely time had by all.

Helpful?
Thank kimbaby41
Management response:

Dear kimbaby41, Thnak you very much for this delightful review of our hotel after the wedding we hosted this weekend. I am so glad to read that you had such a super time and that our staff were able to contribute to a memorable day for the wedding couple and their guests. I hope that we will see you for... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Oh dear we went into the Bentley's Bar for drinks whilst waiting for our train for St Germans. It's a pity that there appears to be no competition around therefore they seem to have become very complacent about what they need to offer. It is clear that we were disappointed in the standard of this hotel which seemed to us... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisB60
Management response:

Dear ChrisB60, Thnak you for your review and feedback after your visit to the hotel recently. Please accept my apology that the range of beverages we offer in our Gallery Bar was insufficient to your tastes. We would like to think that we offer a wide and varied range of local, UK and international beers, wines and spirits but naturally... More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, comfortable hotel but is in need of redecoration & modernisation. Furniture in the room was a little tired, fridge in room a bonus. Room a little on the warm side, but ceiling fan helped. Staff friendly & welcoming. Breakfast & evening meal tasty enough.

Helpful?
Thank Gilly-Poodle
Management response:

Dear Gilly-Poodle, Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. Please accept my apology for any disappointment with aspects of our current decor. We are very aware of these shortcomings and have an upgrade, refurbishment and modernisation program planned to address all areas of the business. This is scheduled to commence during the course of July... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

stayed here with my dad after a return ferry trip to Plymouth. location is very handy and they have a secure car park which is free for motorbikes. all staff were very friendly and helpful, although I have to say that the rooms and common areas smell a little stale and looked rather tired. it's clean and comfortable, but not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phiol
Management response:

Dear Phiol, Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. Whilst I thank you for your kind comments on our staff and our parking facilities, please accept my apology for your disappointment with aspects of our "tired decor. I am able to assure you that we are planning to address these shortcomings with a significant upgrade... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall, I was very disappointed with my stay. Whilst the predominantly youthful staff are trying their best to be welcoming and hospitable they are let down by the poor quality of the hotel's decor and cuisine. For example, in the bedroom furniture and fittings were outdated and tired-looking. In the 1980's I worked in management for a London hotel that... More 

Helpful?
Thank DJKELLY26
Management response:

Dear DJKELLY26, Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel after your recent stay. Please accept my apology for the frustration experienced within our bar area. I am aware of the incident and have addressed it with the staff member concerned; particularly the manner of communication employed. Equally, please accept my apology for the sub-standard mousse - I have... More 

Durham UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel during my first business trip to Plymouth. I booked The Copthorne as I had always associated the brand to a pretty high standard of hotel - this one certainly isn't ! The rate for this hotel was the highest in town but just was not worth it - I did commit the cardinal sin of... More 

Helpful?
Thank DSDurham
Management response:

Dear DSDurham, Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. Please accept my apology for your disappointment with the current state of decor within the hotel. I can assure you that we are acutely aware of our current shortcomings and are formulating a refurbishment project that will address all areas of the business. This will include... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (128)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,753 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
3.0 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bentley's Brasserie
Bentley's Brasserie
Cuisines: French, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Address: Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 1AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $76 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Copthorne Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay