We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

806 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 794: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed here for graduation on the hoe. Arrived early and were able to park cars at the hotel for reasonable charge and check into our rooms early. Hotel well located and within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops. Didn't eat in the hotel as good alternatives nearby but sat and had some drinks in the bar. Some bar prices... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet D
Bawtry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed in Plymouth 2 nights at this hotel Good check in obliging and efficient reception staff. Room clean but in need of a refit bathrooms dated comfy beds inadequate double glazing and no aircon room rate 125 a night would really expect these things to be done but an enjoyable and reasonable value city centre stay Food in the rest... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave W
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a short two night stay in Plymouth as part of a visit to the West Country. The room was clean and well appointed, the breakfast good and the hotel was good value on booking.com. A tip is to avoid the hotel cape park charge ( parking spots very small and limited)and park at the Sainsbury Park next door-... More 

Helpful?
Thank brianpatterson273
Management response:

Dear brianpatterson273, Thnak you very much for taking time to provide us with such detailed and positive feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us. Thnak you for the constructive tip about our parking. It can be a little tight in our basement parking garage, particularly for large vehicles but I do hope that... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Copthorne is well located close to the railway station and a short walk to the historic area of Plymouth. The rooms are large, comfortable and well-appointed. Staff are friendly and helpful and there are good food and beverage options. If taking breakfast it is worth pre-paying to save money, especially at weekends.

Helpful?
Thank wcraft
Management response:

Dear wcraft, Thank you very much for your super review of our hotel after your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I am equally delighted to see that you took advantage of our pre-booked breakfast option - I would hope that our special rate of £7.50 per person for a full... More 

Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Will say right away we got a very good rate through freinds so be aware that I might not have been quite so generous with the markings if I had paid the full whack. That said, the hotel is well situated in the city, the car park is under ground and secure, the reception, bar, and breakfast staff were all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee W
Management response:

Dear Lee W, Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay. I have noted your comment on the air-conditioning - we do offer this facility in our deluxe rooms which also have panoramic views over... More 

Rampisham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The parking situation is irritating to put it mildly. Upon arrival, if there are no spaces in the hotel car park you have to park in Sainsburys next door! When/ if you do get allocated and pay for 24 hours parking that space is NOT allocated to you, so if you go out, it may not be there when you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebelwanderer
Management response:

Dear Rebelwanderer, Thank you for your detailed feedback received after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your comments and are delighted to see that our staff made up for any minor issues and ensured that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apology for any inconvenience caused by our parking arrangements. We have a total of... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Book a room through booking.com £61. Get there to be told £7.50 for parking!, what! Never stayed in a hotel that charged parking.... Anyway it was waived eventually as its not clear print. The room no 110 was a dive, smelt like a hospital and the bed was so uncomfortable also just a very used pillow each. Didn't eat here... More 

Helpful?
Thank mike a
Management response:

Dear mike a, Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. Please accept my apology for your disappointment with aspects of our hotel; specifically the current decor. I am able to assure you that we are embarking on a significant improvement plan over the next 12 months where all aspects of the hotel's decor and facilities... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived at 10:30pm after a long drive. I was pretty irritated to be told that I had to get back in the car and drive a strangled route around a one way system to get to their 'on site' parking. I was even more irritated to be told I would be charged £7.50 a night for the privilege. Luckily... More 

Helpful?
Thank chissylou
Management response:

Dear chissylou, Thank you for your review and feedback received after your recent stay with us. Please accept my apology for any irritation and frustration caused by our parking arrangements, specifically the nightly charge of £7.50. As with the majority of city centre hotels where parking is at a premium, we do charge a fee which is set at approximately... More 

Level Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip and didn't really enjoy anything about it. The decor is so dated and it smells of stale smoke everywhere which makes me think it hasn't been decorated for at least 20 years. The room was nice enough and the staff were very friendly but I definitely wouldn't want to come back out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily T
Management response:

Dear Emily T, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and I am disappointed to read that we didi not meet your expectations. Please accept my apology for the smell of smoke you experienced. We do not allow smoking in any of our rooms and are particulalrly vigilant... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I sayed in the Copthorne for a week for business. I thought it would just be a chain hotel like any other hotel, but this hotel really exceeded my expectations. The room was nice, clean and well made every day. The reception staff was really friendly and the breakfast team were really nice and cooked a very good breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Alette K
Management response:

Dear Alette K, Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and we are delighted that we were able to contribute to a successful business stay in our city. We trust that you will stay with us again on your return to Plymouth. Kind... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,885 reviews
2.9 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,565 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#5 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Plymouth
Travelodge Plymouth
#17 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bentley's Brasserie
Bentley's Brasserie
Cuisines: French, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Address: Copthorne Hotel Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 1AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $72 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Copthorne Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay