We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Orchard House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Orchard House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
Start your review of Orchard House
 Click to rate
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a room for the 12th Feb .. weekend before valentine's day through the website and booking.com. I received an e mail from the owner of the hotel confirming my booking 3 days before leaving saying all was OK and room would be available from 2pm. On the day we were leaving I received a call from the owner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gazzastrat123
399eve, Owner at Orchard House, responded to this review

I must put you right on one thing you can only book through my web site by phone as the booking facility has not been activated yet as the site is still being developed At the time of booking I had no reason to think your room had been booked twice and as is normal I replied to your requests...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself is in a perfectly beautiful location right next to the river, and it takes all of 3-5 minutes to get to the pub, sea or shops! The place is owned by a couple who are so wonderfully hospitable, and who cook the best food I have had in a long time! I would most definitely go back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank becci2015
399eve, Owner at Orchard House, responded to this review

thank you for your lovely remarks We are glad we made your stay enjoyable and would love to see you again Yvonne and Jason

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 3, 2017

A really welcoming and friendly place to stay. Our room had an extremely comfortable four poster bed, and once we had worked out how to turn the heating down (!) we had a very good night's sleep after a good day's walking in the beautiful Lyn Valley. Breakfast was very good - the black pudding was one of the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
399eve, Owner at Orchard House, responded to this review

thank you for our review All our eggs sausages bacon are supplied from the local farm and the fruit and mushrooms and tomatoes all come in from local suppliers and the black pudding is a winner of many awards we do try our best !!! glad you enjoyed the 4 poster hope to see you again happy new year from...

Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I decided to visit Lynmouth on a whim last week, despite being off season. I found the Orchard House online, and am so pleased I did! The room was lovely, spacious, and toasty warm, with a four poster bed, gorgeous view, and full bath. There's also a kettle with a selection of tea, hot chocolate, and coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesse Lynn S
399eve, Owner at Orchard House, responded to this review

would love to see you again Glad you enjoyed your stay merry Christmas Yvonne and Jason

Frome, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

Lovely location old property with lots of history. Breakfast was delightful set us up for the day. Dogs are welcome at the property and made to feel at home. Welcome could have been a little more friendly but overall a lovely place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire E
middlesex
Reviewed November 10, 2016

Stayed for a short relaxing break it was exactly what we needed a lovely old house the owners were really lovely and went out of their way to make us feel welcome ,The breakfast was very plentiful and there were some lovely walks to walk it off afterwards and when we returned there was a lovely piece of cake waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank livielou
399eve, Owner at Orchard House, responded to this review

Ha! Ha! Jason and his ghost stories !!!!!! Glad you enjoyed your stay here come back sooooooon !!! Yvonne and Jason

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed November 6, 2016

Room was a double with en-suite. TV, coffee and tea making facilities and very clean. The owners were really welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was great and staff were wonderful! The location is close to walks, restaurants, beach so parked the car for 4 days and didn't drive anywhere! Was a perfect, great value stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnaBsAs
399eve, Owner at Orchard House, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay and you were so lucky with the weather Come back soon Yvonne and Jason

Reviewed November 2, 2016

We stayed here for one night only but very much enjoyed it. Owners Jason & Yvonne were both lovely and made us feel really welcome. Breakfast served by lovely Kevin was very good and they even catered for gluten free. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Lynmouth.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sofia U
399eve, Owner at Orchard House, responded to this review

thank you for your kind remarks Come back and stay again soon Yvonne and Jason

Cambridge
Reviewed October 30, 2016

We had stayed in the lovely hotel in September. My wife had booked the hotel for us both. Booked via the Internet. The hosts go out their way to make you feel at home. Staying here is like staying at the grandparents house. There is a lovely lounge and well stocked bar. The place is clean and the hosts really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank naest123
399eve, Owner at Orchard House, responded to this review

The room with separate private bathroom is the only room with out an en suite but the bathroom is large having a larger bath to soak in also It is no more than 6 paces across the hall and bathrobes are provided . Because the room is not en-suite it is priced accordingly , but as you say I would...

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

I booked this B&B through booking.com for a night while I was in North Devon on a photography course and also some mountain biking. Yvonne and Jason were excellent hosts, very helpful and friendly. My room was functional with an excellent bed and en-suite. The lounge was very cosy with a roaring log burner and the bar was well stocked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skyeman887
399eve, Owner at Orchard House, responded to this review

what a really lovely review Thank you so much Hope you got some good photos We look forward to your next trip Yvonne Jason and Ceffyn p.s I am still saving for his singing lessons !!!!!!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bonnicott House Hotel
Bonnicott House Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lynmouth
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
East Lyn House Hotel
East Lyn House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lynmouth
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Cottage
Riverside Cottage
#6 of 15 in Lynmouth
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Orchard House Hotel is a grade II listed licensed hotel full of warmth and character with some rooms having exposed beams. We are next to the river Lyn and only a few minutes from the Lynmouth harbour and beach and town. From Orchard House Hotel you can explore by foot or by car Exmoor's wilderness and quaint villages or take a boat trip from Lynmouth's harbour along the heritage coast. Sea fishing,river fishing, horse riding experience a ride on the unique cliff railway or just sit and watch the world go by on the terrace in the garden whilst enjoying a traditional Devon cream tea at the Orchard House Hotel ... more   less 

Additional Information about Orchard House

Address: 12 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Price Range: $79 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard House Lynmouth, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Orchard House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brierley Hill, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Orchard House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“the views were fantastic we stayed in room 5 lovely four poster bed”
 of 5 bubbles livielou, Nov 10, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with on suite”
 of 5 bubbles naest123, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles chriskellymaggie2014, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“ask for carpark side of house”
 of 5 bubbles 402trevorm, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
“The family rooms have nice views but room six is very small.”
 of 5 bubbles dazizian, Jul 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question