We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 195: English reviews
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lovely room ~ clean, spacious and modern. Delicious freshly cooked breakfast and cafitiere provided in room. Made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for Andy. Great value for money too. Would definitely return.

Helpful?
1 Thank kijala76
townhousemanager, Owner at Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for this brilliant review. I am delighted you liked the place so much you would definitely return. Andy is equally delighted that you have mentioned him personally in your review. When you do return, you will be made more than welcome. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely traditional building but inside has a modern feel. The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and furnished and very comfortable. There is a wide selection of teas, coffee hot chocolate and bottled water available in the room and a good selection of mini toiletries in the spotlessly clean bathroom. The breakfast was excellent with the usual choice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz P
townhousemanager, Owner at Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to write this brilliant review. I am really pleased you enjoyed staying here and that you will definitely return. We would love to have you back. More 

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly and helpful owners. Lovely clean family room on ground floor with beautiful crown moulding, fireplace, huge windows, and four twin beds. Gorgeous new-looking bathroom with glass shower and shiny tiles. Best selection of teas and coffees that we have seen so far (and even fair trade)! Really appreciated the glass bottle labelled "Perfectly Drinkable Tap Water." Indeed! Delicious English... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank travelplannerm0m
townhousemanager, Owner at Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review. I liked the fact you liked our bottles which are labelled "Perfectly Drinkable Tap Water". The company we bought them said people would appreciate the fact the water is taken from the tap. At the time, I didn't believe them, but now I feel I must. I am glad you... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in this beautiful building. The owners were very welcoming and have good knowledge of the city and surrounding area. The cleanliness of the whole house was to a high standard. Breakfast was very tasty. There was a choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt. Toast and a full English. Fresh juices and hot drinks were offered. My... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hlm50
townhousemanager, Owner at Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time to write this excellent review. I am pleased you found the place clean and tidy and tastefully decorated. We are aware the en-suites are small, but this is out-weighed by the large rooms. We would prefer you have a large airy room. I am so happy you would stay here again and I can say... More 

Plymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely welcome. Nice people. Helpful information and assistance. Lovely breakfast, very good service. Accommodation clean and tidy, had character. Nice finishing touches to rooms, chocolates, real coffee etc. We were given excellent recommendations for places to eat. The B & B is in an ideal location, just over 10 minutes walk from the centre of Exeter. So nice we booked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
townhousemanager, Owner at Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time to write this wonderful review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I can't wait to welcome you again next year. More 

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for our daughter's graduation. Phoned to ask if room could be ready early as we needed to change and get ready for ceremony. Proprietor was very obliging which was marvellous. Establishment was clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfast room was lovely and we were served a very tasty breakfast. Would recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank graham d
townhousemanager, Owner at Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. I am pleased you liked your stay. More 

Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the facilities and breakfast were good, I was disappointed by the approach of staff towards paying customers. Even with opportunities for the staff to adopt a "nicer" approach or apologise for judgemental behaviour they still did not engage which I found a shame. I would suggest a course on positive and welcoming customer service skills before taking any further... More 

Helpful?
Thank Moodart30
townhousemanager, Owner at Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed by the approach of the staff. I am sure there must have been a good reason as to why (for example if you were part of a hen or stag party). I am also sorry to hear you would not recommend us. Many others have said they definately will be recommending us.... More 

south west
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked through booking.com for a group of 9 ladies from 18-55 years of age, greeted by the owner who opened the door to us and said bluntly 'we don't take hen parties' explained that we have rooms booked, he made a quick judgement and said 'I should kick you out, but if I did you would have no where to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mecat
townhousemanager, Owner at Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review and apologies if I appeared to be a bit blunt with you. We do not take hen or stag parties and are trying to make this more obvious on our website as well as with Booking.com. As mentioned in the email I sent to you, I was confronted with a situation... More 

Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night, and were pleasantly surprised. While the outside appearance is not too promising, the rooms are new, have sufficient size, and clever setup. Staff was friendly and helpful, you can park in the street, and walk to the city centre. Breakfast was good, well prepared and in a nice small room. For 100 GBP, we consider... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LordRawdon
townhousemanager, Owner at Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for writing an excellent review of our property. I am pleased you were pleasantly surprised by it and you think we offer good value for money. The staff always try to be friendly and helpful and offer advice on where to go in the city. I hope this helped you when you stayed here. If you return to... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just got back from 1 night stay at Town House with my girlfriend. Very clean, lovely rooms with a shower and toilet. Tv, kettle in room to make hot drinks also bottle water. A excellent breakfast. Nice location near town and the train stations.

Helpful?
4 Thank Mike R
townhousemanager, Owner at Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I am very happy that you liked the property and in particular the choice of drinks, the bottled water and above all, the excellent breakfast. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#9 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.4 mi away
ABode Exeter
ABode Exeter
#12 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Town House is a contemporary guesthouse set in a Grade II listed Victorian property and is one of the most friendly and popular guesthouses in Exeter. Situated just a short walk from the city centre, university and train stations. It's not enough to just offer a bed, we want to do more for you and make your stay a pleasurable experience. The Town House staff strive to offer guests a friendly hospitable service and a comfortable, enjoyable stay. We offer comfortable and spacious rooms with modern en suites and a wide variety of services including: Free Wi-Fi in all rooms, flat screen LCD TV, tea/coffee making facilities (with a choice of teas or ground coffee). Resident J-zone parking permits free of charge or guaranteed parking at £5 (only two guaranteed parking spaces). Late check in/early breakfast (available by prior arrangement and may incur an extra charge). Luggage can be left with us before check in or after check out. Town House uses local, fair-trade or free-range produce wherever possible. For further information please see our Fair Trade and Green Policies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast

Address: 54 St. Davids Hill, Exeter EX4 4DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $105 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House Exeter Bed And Breakfast
Town House Exeter Hotel Exeter
Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay