We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Travelodge Exeter M5

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Exeter M5
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 383: English reviews
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Run down hotel with poor standards of cleanliness. Net curtains which are filthy and hanging off the rail, half full can of cider left behind by previous occupant. All this in the first two minutes in the room, we booked a twin room and found a double bed. Not a great start!

Helpful?
Thank retired0ldguy
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As functional as any other no-frills budget chain hotel so all needs for one night are met. Could benefit from a paint job. No hot breakfast option but the adjacent pub does a hot breakfast. M5 proximity did not disturb and the 12.00 checkout is useful and always beats a 10 o-clock eviction.

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotel’s location and that your overall experience was a positive one. We aim to offer our guests great value stays in comfortable surroundings and we are happy to see that this has been achieved. Feedback is invaluable and a copy... More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Why oh why do they not have lifts in a Travelodge? As a pensioner it is no fun at all dragging suitcases along long corridors & then up flights of stairs after a long journey there. Breakfast okay. Room reasonably comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank BazzerWestSussex
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

Please allow us to thank you for sharing your recent review with us at our Exeter M5 Travelodge. Unfortunately this hotel does not offer a lift for it's guests, however the hotel does have enough rooms on the lower floors to accommodate guests who wish to not use the stairs. We would kindly advise that for future stays the reception... More 

Portreath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here in June as a stop off to our next destination. The room is basic which is fine but it was so hot I had no sleep. They gave us a fan but that did very little. My recommendation is to install air con because let's face it it's the 21st century and that should be standard! I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisjw
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are sorry to learn that the temperature of the room affected your stay with us. Not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however we are taking steps to ensure that the rooms are kept as cool as possible by providing fans and other measures that may assist in reducing the temperature. We aim... More 

Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Typical Travelodge, you know where everything is instinctively. Nice rural location not far from town. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well decorated and had a nice view onto fields. Good value all round

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

We're so pleased to hear that our hotel team at Exeter M5 Travelodge were kind and helpful during your recent stay with us and we would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We're thankful to learn that you found your stay to be great value, we aim to provide a clean and comfortable room for... More 

Ukunda, Kenya
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a family over night stay to visit crealy adventure park. After checking in and entering the room I noticed sheets were dirty which you could see from just looking at the bed. I took a picture and showed reception who moved us rooms. Into a room where the net curtain was hanging off the window with strings hanging... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank davidbE9500DA
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry to learn of the experience you have had whilst staying with us. We would kindly ask you contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form to look into this more thoroughly. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel. More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We used Travelodge as we were at a conference and this was our third and last time. the first time 4 years ago we thought it wasn't very good but were told it was due a refurb. When we returned two years later we thought it was very reasonable. this year we had Room 115. Not good. Hot, stuffy, no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Owlp
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

We're pleased to learn that you enjoyed your breakfast recently at our Exeter M5 Travelodge, please allow us to thank you for your helpful feedback. We are truly sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay over all, and despite your best efforts the hotel team did not assist you by bringing you a fan. Guest feedback is important... More 

Cannock
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Didn't expect 5* but it was quite dirty whilst just walking to the room, window sills thick with dust and dead flies. Got into the room and bathroom wasn't very clean the doors and tiles could have done with a once over as you could see splatters of dirt up them. Could hear every footstep in the room above and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank pr1272
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

Thank you very much for submitting your review. Feedback like yours is very important to us and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as cleanliness and room service are the basics of our promise to our customers and this is far from the high standards we strive to provide. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope... More 

Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was far too hot. Staff provided a fan but because the window would only open by about 5cm we could not get enough cool air in to reduce temperature. Main bed was very comfortable but the two kids beds were very uncomfortable. Shower gel dispenser was empty, asked staff to refill it but it took 2 days for... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank emmapH7744VS
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review. We understand that room temperature and our single truckle beds negatively impacted your time with us. Feedback like yours is important to us and will be used to improve our service. We hope that there will be another occasion to welcome you again and restore your views on Travelodge. More 

Wirral, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Worst nights sleep ever, room was so hot (when it was cool and raining outside!) beds uncomfortable. This was meant to break our journey up for the kids and make it easier, instead we did 300 miles the following day with incredibly grumpy and tired kids, total waste of money! Location is only saving grace.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Johnetal
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our Exeter M5 Travelodge and taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your recent stay with us and we would like to look into this further for you. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 stars 1,282 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Exeter M5

Address: Moto Service Area, M5 Motorway | Sandygate, Exeter EX2 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $67 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Exeter M5 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Exeter M5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Exeter m5 Hotel Exeter
Forte Exeter
Travel Lodge Exeter
Exeter Forte
Exeter Travel Lodge
Exeter Travelodge
Travelodge Exeter M5 Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay