We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Traveler (89)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (7)


#23 of 30 hotels in Exeter
The Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel is a recently refurbished classical Victorian hotel in Exeter city centre, close to the cathedral and directly opposite the railway station. The Mercure Exeter Rougemont has local attractions including the Castle and Rougemont Gardens within easy walking distance, with other attractions including stately homes, theme parks and the racecourse a short drive away.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals
71Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 152
  • 167
  • 103
  • 50
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Arrived Saturday afternoon for a 2 night stay to a poor welcoming from a rude receptionist, if that is the welcoming guests receive I’m surprised people don’t turn around on the spot and cancel their stay. Service at breakfast was terrible again with rude staff, would restock items one by one 10 minutes apart. The hotel in every department looked short staffed, no bar staff available to serve, in the end it took a manager to serve us after 30 minutes of asking! I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anybody and definitely will not be returning in the future.
Read more
Had an afternoon tea booked for 3.30pm, arrived 15 minutes early and was told to take a seat and wait by a rather abrupt receptionist. At 3.45 I went to ask whether it was going to be much longer and was again told they’d get someone to come to us. At 4pm a rather lost looking little chap came to ask if we were there for afternoon tea and then disappeared again. At 4.15 the assistant f&b manager asked if we were okay and it was only then that something seemed to actually be done and we finally got our food and drinks at 4.30pm, an hour after we had booked for and an hour of being left at an unmanned bar. Afternoon tea was lush once it arrived but the whole start put a dampener on the day. Will not return
Read more
During my check-in a receptionist answered a call from a gentleman asking for a 'wake-up' call in 25mins, her response to the guest was "If I remember." then she hung up and complained to her colleague about his request whilst I was stood there. I was advised breakfast was 7am - too late for me as I had to leave by 7am on my first morning there, (though when I checked-out of the hotel, I noticed a sign saying 6:30am.) I asked about the restaurant for dinner, but was told they had a big party in for dinner, so I should either go for dinner early or not at all as otherwise I 'will be disappointed'. The room doesn't appear to have been hoovered for a VERY long time. I found a dead woodlouse and noticed the carpet was far from clean with hairs, fluff + tiny bits of rubbish. I used the coffee facilities in the morning - When I returned that evening, I saw my cup hadn't been cleaned but just put back on the tray. My lipstick was still clearly on the cup. The breakfast layout/availability was extremely poor. Condiments not labelled or next to the items you put them with/positioned too high for you to see them. Hot food trays took over 30mins to be refilled. Staff spend their entire time taking drinks to people, neglecting everything else. When checking out, there was a 'quick check-out box' - I asked the receptionist "Shall I just use the quick check-out, or can you check me out?" she replied "Do what you want". I'd never stay again.
Read more
This could be a great hotel, and I wanted to like it more. The lobby is beautiful, and the staff is fairly accommodating. But the place is so run down, and THERE’S NO AIR CONDITIONING. Tiny little bar of soap and threadbare towels in the bathroom. Minimal decor in the sleep area. I probably wouldn’t come back.
Read more
Response from NBees, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Skimother50 Thank you very much for taking the time to write your considered review following your stay. I'm pleased that the lobby and team were to your liking. I'm sorry, however, to see that you didn't like the bedroom decor and amenities. Once again, thank you for your feedback. It's the only way we can hope to continually improve. Kind regards Nicholas Bees General Manager
Read more
I've stayed in over 2000 hotels. The reception manager here was the very best I have come across. Bright, attentive, helpful and best of all immense fun. Great staff make all the difference in a hotel. I can't wait to stay there again. Give them a promotion.
Read more
Response from NBees, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear deepvisual Thank you very much for your lovely comments, and after staying in so many hotels you still took the time to review ours - thank you! I shall ensure that the Reception Team have seen your comments and I couldn't agree more that the team make the hotel! I do hope that we can welcome you back soon Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager
Read more
$80 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
the rougemont hotel, exeter hotel exeter
The Rougemont Hotel
United KingdomEnglandExeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing