We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 437: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Bedroom looked out over the harbour! All staff were very helpful and friendly. Meals in restaurant very good. Lovely to sit outside the bar and enjoy the view. Drive up and down bit of a challenge! Made up for it when we arrived at hotel

Helpful?
Thank cynthia765
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beautifully furnished room with sea view. Room appeared recently decorated with modern furnishings and very comfortable large bed. Was nice to go to sleep and wake up to the sound of the sea. Evening meal and breakfast excellent and good value for money. Would definitely return and recommend.

Helpful?
Thank angelahalleybone
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

What can one say? Everything was excellent, the accomodation (room 18), the food and the service were all excellent. This little hotel is only rated a 2 star hotel; however it is better than some on the 4 star hotels we have stayed in. An extra bonus is the beauty of Clovelly itself!

Helpful?
Thank lyn-tony
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night beautiful location and lovely room with fab view! Breakfast was very busy and we had to hurry off so they kindly refunded breakfast charge. Ate in bar in evening cosy atmosphere and delicious food. Perfect first night of holiday.

Helpful?
Thank MrsHoop111
Cradley Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked two rooms to accommodate family 5 which comprised two doubles and camp bed. Room 15 and 16 are located in the newly refurbished separate building. This was a pleasant surprise as we thought we were staying above the pub. Access via a small flight stairs and a lovely view of clovelly bay we enjoyed sitting out on the terrace... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DebraZebra_9
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have spent 1 night at The Red Lion hotel . The place is literally on the beach. We got a beautiful room very stylish and spacious with a balcony. ... A view with the room I must say ! Dinner was good and breakstast too. The place is really cute and great service too. Very romantic

Helpful?
Thank Vogue1377
hamish54, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, room 5 with the balcony overlooking the harbour is a lovely room, I am so glad that you enjoyed both your dinner in the restaurant and your breakfast, I will pass on your kind comments to the other members of staff. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was my first visit to Clovelly a beautiful car free village with tiny harbour. The red lion is located on the Quay to one side and the pebble beach to another. It is a wonderful location. We had room 4 which boasts a bay window sea view perfect for evening drinks or morning coffee. The room itself was spacious,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ox18
hamish54, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of both the hotel and the village we are looking into changing the complimentary coffee & teas in the rooms at the moment, so hopefully when you come again we will have some new coffee in the room for you!! More 

Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clovelly is a stunning village with the pedestrian access down the steep cobbles feeling like something out of a movie. It's almost a disappointment to learn there is also a service road access although it does make unhinged a hotel a bit easier ! The Red Lion has stunning views, the best location, large well furnished rooms, friendly staff and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve L
hamish54, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review of both the hotel and the village, I will your kind comments onto the staff. More 

Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped at the Red Lion for lunch. In mid December, when no crowds I should imagine there were no problems but in August with the hoards of visitors they can't cope. Only 2 staff in the main bar and we had to queue for approx 30 minutes just to order. Tables were left uncleared, glasses everywhere, staff kept disappearing. To... More 

Helpful?
Thank Timothy_George1
hamish54, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, during the summer we do get very busy, - unfortunately although we have 2 bar staff & a person on to clear tables, due to the age of the building our bars cant really accommodate more than 2 people working behind them, I am glad that you enjoyed your meal. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night only, Hotel is 'Quaint' but in need of a lick of paint. The room was clean and a fair size. The restaurant was a pleasure looking over the bay however the food was a big disappointment. we both had Pork Terrine for starter (quite small) and Steak for mains, the steak was small but tasty and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gloucestercouple553
hamish54, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Red Lion, I am sorry that the portions in the restaurant werent large enough for you, we only put one mushroom on with a steak as we use very large flat field mushrooms, also the chips are hand cut and very large, I am sure that if you had mentioned it at the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

205 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (201)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
0.1 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
8.6 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Red Lion Hotel Harbour Restaurant
Red Lion Hotel Harbour Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: 48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Price Range: $129 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Clovelly, Devon, UK
Red Lion Clovelly
Clovelly Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay