We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

492 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 478: English reviews
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

At the end of the walk through the village, we stopped here just for a cup of coffee and a trip to the conveniences We had to find the barmaid as she was upstairs in the hotel (they need a bell really for customers to ring) - appears that she was the only person on for the pub and hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank badmintontim
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were so happy to find this open so we could rest our weary cold legs before the climb back up the hill. We had a coffee and a cake which was average price and the coffee was quite nice. There was a nice log fire. Must be a nice retreat to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank streakey
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here during a coastal walk weekend and was impressed by the friendly welcome and demeanour of all the staff - especially as I was caked in mud and showing the signs of a walk in Devon (wet wet wet). The room had a nice view over the bay - the restaurant had a wide choice and service was great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K9TLS
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 17, 2016

Stayed for a night in Room 9 which was well appointed and very characterful. This room was probably not part of the original hotel but is possibly in an old fisherman's cottage with beams. It was furthest away from the harbour but still had a reasonable view and we enjoyed watching two fishing boats off loading onto the harbour quay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BerkshireTigger
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of The Red Lion, room 9 was indeed part of a fishermans cottage adjoined to the hotel, i am sorry that other parties were too loud for you, we normally try to fit these large parties in later and get other guests seated earlier. We do have resident fishermen in the village who catch...

Reviewed November 11, 2016 via mobile

Good food, friendly welcoming staff. Beautiful room overlooking the sea and the harbour. Absolute heaven! Hope to return soon. Every member of staff went out of their way to make our stay exceptional. Just remember to wear good walking shoes as the streets are very steep and cobbled.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole J
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for this lovely review of The Red Lion, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your kind comments on to the other members of staff - hopefully you will come and see us again soon!

Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 9, 2016

Having climbed down the 1/2 mile of steep cobbled pathway, and through the old and quaint street of the historic fishing village of Clovelly, in North Devon, we were much in need of food and drink, so where else but the Red Lion, located right on the harbour wall. The menu is a simple, with limited selection, but what arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brainerd62
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Red Lion I am pleased that you enjoyed your fish & chips and your visit to the village there is always a short wait for food as everything is cooked to order, the land rovers are always a welcome sight, especially after a large helping of fish & chips in the bar !!

Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night break at The Red Lion. We were in the sail loft, room 18 and loved it ! The room was bright and airy, spotlessly clean and had a great sea view. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first evening, both the service and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen G
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review of The Red Lion, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the chance to eat in both the bar & restaurant - I will pass your kind comments on to the other members of staff.

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Well worth a visit. Stayed at room 18 at the top of the annex, modern and good comfort. Hotel has that 'ancient' atmosphere you would expect from a place like Clovelly. Nice pub - nice locals! All in all well worth the money!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1hpb
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review of The Red Lion, room 18 in The Sailoft is a lovely room with superb views - I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Chardf
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Perched right on the edge of the beach adjoining the quay. Beautiful views. Try to book one of the sea-facing rooms which have windows which open on to the beach. Superb food with excellent fresh fish and perfectly accommodating staff. Locals in the bar in the evening. Nothing to criticise and very difficult to surpass.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yonaton47
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of The Red Lion I am so glad that you enjoyed your food and your accommodation at the hotel, I will pass your kind comments on to the rest of the team!

Bude, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 31, 2016

The location was stunning and everything we expected, room was exceptional, service and food (evening meal) was a huge disappointment, breakfast was v good but again service was not what I would expect of this place. Just did not make it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Demee
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Red Lion, I am sorry that you didnt enjoy your meal, if you had mentioned at the time i am sure our waiting staff would have offered you an alternative.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

220 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (217)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
0.1 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
171 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
329 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
699 reviews
13.1 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
15.3 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Red Lion Hotel Harbour Restaurant
Red Lion Hotel Harbour Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: 48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Price Range: $97 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Clovelly, Devon, UK
Red Lion Clovelly
Clovelly Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Honiton, United Kingdom
7 months ago
over a year ago
cornwall
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I'd recommend room 5 as it has a view of both the bay and over to the village.”
 of 5 bubbles K9TLS, 1 week ago | Read review
“Room 18 or 19 at the annex”
 of 5 bubbles 1hpb, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Sea-facing room”
 of 5 bubbles Yonaton47, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Sail loft rooms are superb.”
  • Nice seating area, one chair missing out on the balcony!!
  • Very large bath, space for two...
  • Entrance to room 15 and the
  • Oops, slightly messy, but superb comfy bed with great sheets
  • It is over the car-park, but still a great view.
 of 5 bubbles Tricky273, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have sea or harbour views. Personally, I find the harbour views a tad more interesting.”
 of 5 bubbles Cappycat, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay