We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Idle Rocks

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Idle Rocks
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 303: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Amazing location, lovely rooms and a very enjoyable stay however it is very expensive and I'm not sure there aren't equally good places to say that don't cost as much! The sea view rooms are very well appointed with a lovely feature of low lighting in the bathroom if you've had a bit too much wine or beer in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam P
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunatelly web spent only one night in this very nice and cosy hotel. It is located on the harbour of St. Mawes, with a very nice terrace where to have breakfast ora a tea in the afternoon ora a cocktail before dinner. The restaurant is very good andare the rooms clean and confortable.

Helpful?
Thank stefano s
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Stefano, Thank you for your review following your one night stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write and give us feedback on your visit. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards Paul Goodwin More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The pursuit of 'hotel perfection' I think will be never ending. The idle rocks certainly comes close. Off the back of a handful of holidays my family and I have been fortunate to go on over the past 4 months, the idle rocks had a pretty high standard to meet (especially after our trip to Porto Sani in Greece which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bez911
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Bob, Mal and Jacob, Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us, but appreciate there were some issues with the service. This is an area that we are already working to improve, with focused training and management. We really appreciate your recommendation and... More 

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we arrived in reception we knew that this was a special place. Service was second to none, nothing was to much trouble, from parking our car to our names written in slate on the door to our room and the novelty rock left on the bed - we loved it. So relaxing sitting outside sipping cocktails whilst... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DevonEddy
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear DevonEddy, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I'm so pleased you have found your special place in us and was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit and you were looked after well. We hope you can both join us again soon. Best wishes Paul Goodwin, Manager More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went to The Idle Rocks for one night. The place is beautiful with stunning views. Rooms are normally beautiful. Unfortunately I have booked a large room, I arrived at the hotel and I was asked to pay immediately the expensive room at the check ( which is very unusual being a frequent business traveller or having tried other Relais... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vogue1377
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Vogue1377, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that the room originally suggested when you walked in was not actually available on further investigation. Our policy is to take the cost of the 1st night stay as a deposit on all bookings, including one night stays.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed the most fabulous time at The Idle Rocks! Every member of their staff were exceptionally friendly, organised and nothing was too much trouble. Sid, the concierge, briefed us superbly on the main places to visit (all of which we visited!) The reception team/ bar team and restaurant manager were all exceptional as our... More 

Helpful?
Thank 68JDM
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear 68JDM, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us. What a pleasure to read, I'm so pleased that you had a fabulous time and that all the team looked after you and your party. I will pass on your feedback to the team, who will be delighted to read it too. It... More 

Worcestershire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at Idle Rocks as a party of 4 for two nights. A lot of research had been done to choose this hotel above the Tresanton and, upon arrival we were delighted. The great points to mention are; Sid, the Concierge who welcomed us and gave us much local information. Our room faced the sea and was just the... More 

Helpful?
Thank NobbyWorcestershire
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear NobbyWorcestershire, Thank you for sharing your feedback at the end of your stay with me, I really appreciate it and as mentioned these are areas that I am working hard now to improve with the team. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the hotel despite this and hope that we will see you again. Just a note regarding the tea... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just back from a glorious 4 night stay at my favourite hotel in Cornwall and the UK, the Idle Rocks. This hotel can do no wrong for me - it is perfection personified and i just love it. So what makes it so amazing you may ask? Firstly, the hotel is situated in one of the most prettiest (if not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jayjonesa
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Jayjonesa What can we say, thank you so much for your glowing review of your time at The Idle Rocks. It was a pleasure to read and I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you also for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes Paul Goodwin, Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely hotel. Parking is a bit of a chore as the car park is a bit of a walk - the hotel team offer to fetch the car though and you can quickly unpack right by the door with their help. No check-in formalities which is delightful. Rooms are very well decorated and the sea views are stunning. Restaurant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Coates2014
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Coates2014, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I'm so pleased to read how much your enjoyed your stay and the hotel décor, views, service you received and food served from the team. I'm also delighted to read that the fresh milk went down well, totally agree on the UHT! We hope to welcome you... More 

Oxford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and I wish it had been longer. Stayed in room 19 in the building just outside of the hotel building. - the sea came right up to our window. The room was lovely - v comfy bed, fab pillows and the welcome addition of a sheet as well as the duvet for the warm... More 

Helpful?
Thank SallycooperOxford
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Sally, Thank you for your wonderful review following your stay with us. I am so glad to hear how much your enjoyed everything and that my team looked after you well, especially the bar and waiting staff. I appreciate the feedback too and will definitely consider it when looking at future plans. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
3.1 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 892 reviews
18.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#4 of 6 in St Mawes
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Idle Rocks has the most enviable location in St Mawes, overlooking the harbour with views across the River Fal to Falmouth. Our 19 bedrooms, most with stunning vistas over the bay, have been thoughtfully designed, each having their own unique identity with fabulous fabrics and decor that leave you in no doubt that you are by the sea. After a long day lazing on the beach, our south facing terrace is the perfect place to relax, have a long drink, and watch the world go by. You may even see your dinner being landed on the harbourside.The Idle Rock's restaurant, run by our head chef, Guy Owen, is a celebration of Cornwall; showcasing a range of fabulous produce that has been sourced locally using only seasonal fresh ingredients. In many cases it will have been swimming right on our doorstep only a few hours earlier and while the food is of the very highest standard our setting is very relaxed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Idle Rocks

Address: Harbourside, St Mawes TR2 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Price Range: $234 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Idle Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idle Rocks Hotel
Idle Rocks St Mawes
The Idle Rocks St Mawes, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay