We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The St Mawes Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The St Mawes Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The St Mawes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 176: English reviews
Helston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2016

What a change ! I last visited this beautifully located hotel about two years ago with three of my grandchildren .We were served watery coffee and Luke warm , thin bland instant hot chocolate .It was run down and inhospitable and expensive for what was very sub standard fair.i complained to the young inexperienced member of staff with no satisfaction...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denises671
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Denise, Thank you for your recent review following your visit to us. I'm delighted to read that you returned after a few years, and were able to appreciate the changes the new owners have made. We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon! Best wishes Ben Bass, Manager

Reviewed November 4, 2016 via mobile

A good place to sit and have a coffee with tables outside on nice days and a cosy Chesterfield sofa in front of the log burner on chillier days. Welcoming staff and good coffee although the tea was a bit weak even after leaving the teabag in for a while. We would have stayed for lunch but the menu is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diddlum
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diddlum, Thank you for your recent review following your visit to us for coffee, I'm pleased to read you enjoyed the ambience and that you were looked after well by my team. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again. Best wishes Ben Bass, Manager

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 3, 2016

Sorry this is reviewing the food only. We haven't stayed here but there doesn't seem to be any separate entry for the Restaurant and my browser crashes evvery time I try to create one! St Mawes is a very expensive place to visit all round, partly because of its remoteness and partly its carefully cultivate exclusive image compared with Falmouth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank medocain
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear medocain, Thank you for your recent review following your visit to us for lunch last week. I'm glad to read the sun was still shining and it was a warm November day for you to enjoy. Its a pleasure to read how much your enjoyed everything and that you were able to use the Upper Deck for dining, it...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2016

Firstly, the good parts: Gorgeous hotel, great location; quiet and right next to the water and pier car park, beautiful view at breakfast as the sun rose over the harbour, extremely comfortable hotel room with the biggest bath I've ever enjoyed the use of. Extra perks included a personal coffee pod machine (if only I drank coffee!) good tea, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicWanders
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nic, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. Firstly let me apologise as we have obviously failed in certain areas of the hotel with regards to service during your stay. Can I please ask you to get in touch to discuss these issues personally. If you can drop me an...

Reviewed October 30, 2016

We love this hotel its so chilled and yet remains boutique and unstuffy,having such a poor experience earlier in the week at the Rosevine Hotel we headed for St Mawes for a stroll around the harbour and eventually ended up for lunch at the St Mawes hotel once again we were not disappointed.I chose the Fowey mussels and the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelenhasadognamedTed
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear The Bakers, Thank you for your wonderful review following your visit to us for lunch. I'm pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the food, and that you were well looked after by my team. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Best wishes Ben Bass, Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 24, 2016

This is really a very wonderful hotel which is let down by certain lack of attention to detail. The room we had was great, the beds were amazingly comfortable and the bathroom was just small enough to be warm but big enough not to feel cramped. Tea and coffe was great and I enjoyed the local tea always a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank phillipewalker
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phillipe, Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. I am really pleased to read how wonderful you found the hotel and that the team looked after you well. I appreciate you bringing the maintenance issues to my attention. It is indeed the little details and our guests feedback it very important to us. We do...

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 17, 2016

From start to finish this hotel was amazing, we were greated by very friendly staff who also couldn't do enough for us. We stayed in a sea view room with an amazing view over the harbour, you could tell very close attention has been made to ensure it was clean and equipped with everything you need. The bar downstairs had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank banter69live
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear banter69live, Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I really am pleased to hear you had such a wonderful time and that you enjoyed the overall experience and were well looked after by my team. I will be sure to share this with them. I hope that you are able to visit us again in the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 16, 2016

I spent a beautiful October evening in St. Mawes, the weather was gorgeous and the location of the hotel is perfect. There is stunning views from the terrace or if you have a sea-facing room which I hadn't. I paid 135 Pounds for a nice room with a somewhat disappointing view into a small alleyway. The décor of the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liv V
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liv, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your very constructive feedback. I am disappointed to hear about your experience and I would be keen to have the opportunity to apologise personally. I would be very grateful if could contact me directly on ben@stmawes.com, so that I may organise to telephone you...

West Midlands
Reviewed October 16, 2016

We stayed for two nights and ate dinner both nights. The room was nicely furnished and the bathroom was well kitted out with a big shower and lovely toiletries and the view overlooking the harbour was gorgeous. We enjoyed a gin and tonic on the terrace, they have a gin happy hour and dinner was super and they even made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SAW11
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear saw11, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear how much your enjoyed your experience and that we were able to organise a thin pizza base for you. I will pass on your feedback to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best wishes...

Locks Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

We were lucky to get a booking midweek, as the restaurant has relatively few tables, giving a laid back, almost living room feel. The menu and specials were good, with an emphasis on sea produce. Overall a relaxed, well decorated room for a good meal.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danny S
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Danny, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your visit for dinner. Its great to read how much you understand our philosophy at the St Mawes Hotel and enjoyed it so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes Ben Bass, Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#5 of 6 in St Mawes
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
3.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
447 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set alongside the harbour, in the heart of the village, the St Mawes Hotel has a lively and informal feel, without compromising on taste and style. The warmth of the team, beautifully designed rooms, lively bar restaurant and terrace makes the luxury sea view hotel a place that will draw locals and visiting guests back time and time again. The seven bedroom boutique hotel has bright and airy luxurious guestrooms. Decorated by owner Karen Richards, the interiors will capture the nautical views of the village and harbour. Each room echoes Karen's signature style, a marriage between traditional coastal culture and contemporary design. All front facing rooms offer spectacular sea views and look out over the harbour. The bar restaurant at the St Mawes Hotel is a convivial escape to enjoy authentic quality dishes that will showcase the best locally sourced Cornish ingredients. Menu options include both smaller and larger dishes based on the wonderful produce from the sea, alongside stone baked pizzas and daily specials. Alfresco tables provide an idyllic location to make the most of sunny days and enjoy the spectacular views of the water. Guests staying at the St Mawes Hotel will appreciate the comfortable lounge, complete with compact library and log wood fire place for cosy winter days, with nautical inspired interiors and unspoilt views of the harbour. The addition of an events space and an intimate 25-seater cinema last year completes the package of a wonderful place to celebrate and create special memories. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St Mawes Hotel

Address: Commercial Road, St Mawes TR2 5DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Price Range: $200 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St Mawes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The St Mawes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Mawes Hotel Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The St Mawes Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
St Austell, United Kingdom
25 days ago
St Austell, United Kingdom
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The St Mawes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Village rooms are great value for money. The family room is amazing and provides more space.”
 of 5 bubbles rebnash, Jan 4, 2017 | Read review
“even the smaller rooms are really acceptable,”
 of 5 bubbles Maximillion47, Dec 20, 2016 | Read review
“Book early to secure harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles susiepondplant, Dec 4, 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with views at the front can be noisy during the High Season.”
  • St Mawes Hotel - View from Room on top floor
 of 5 bubbles JeffersonLondon, Nov 24, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1-3 have the sea view. Spoil yourself.”
 of 5 bubbles RGGB, Nov 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question