We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sandbank Holidays

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sandbank Holidays
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 92: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and another two families stayed here at the beginning of August. Ourselves and one other family had the 2 bedroom bungalows overlooking the beautiful gardens which were well looked after and accommodated the children really well, was very peaceful. My brothers family stayed in a two bedroom 1st floor apartment with a balcony. We felt that the accommodation... More 

Helpful?
Thank HayleyJArthurs
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you and your family enjoyed your accommodation and the location and many thanks for your feedback regarding the bungalows - we will certainly be freshening them up and replacing the gates and outdoor furniture. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you... More 

Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is excellent for adventure around the North Coast of Cornwall. The apartment we had was comfortable and warm with basic amenities. Unfortunately the accomodation was not as clean as we expected and had that aroma of pet smells. We did realise that pets could stay before we booked. Many things were old and the flat could do with... More 

Helpful?
Thank markD2573OJ
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - we apologise profusely that you felt the apartment did not meet your expectations and have ensured we have brought this issue to the attention of our cleaners. We're glad you found the apartment comfortable and enjoyed the local area. We are in the process of refurbishing our apartments - if you were to come... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a week here with our family in July, we were in a bungalow & ground floor apartment, they made an effort to put us near each other. Yes it maybe wasn't first class but it was clean and had all the amenities that we needed. We loved the garden,it was safe for our young grandchildren to play in... More 

Helpful?
Thank 19Joan50
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the local area and we hope to see you again in the future. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a week in a very modestly priced chalet. The facilities were good for the price (fairly decent kitchen, comfortable living/dining area etc.) and the location was very nice - a good beach within walking distance, the town of Hayle close by and several popular tourist locations such as St Ives, Penzance and St Michael's Mount within easy driving... More 

Helpful?
Thank Immanuel K
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your accommodation and the location and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean apartment, very welcoming and friendly and perfect for the nearby beaches of Gwithian and godrev. Dominique was very helpful, especially with my booking. The only negative I have is the entrance to Sandbanks which needs a mirror on the opposite side of the road as the exit is very difficult due to lack of sight.

Helpful?
Thank timd1270
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review - we're glad you enjoyed the accommodation and the local area. Just to let you know that you can use the Atlantic Coast caravan park exit next door to us instead as it is easier to see the road - we do inform our guests of this via... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful hospitality in the perfect location. A short stroll to a great restaurant. Perfect for Coast Path walkers or anyone tired of holidayers in crowded Cornwall towns. Beautiful garden for super outdoor breakfasts.

Helpful?
Thank Vanwalkers
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the local area and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just arrived home after a most GLORIOUS week at Sandbank, amazing facilities in the apartment. Ours was named 'PORTHMEAR', One double, one twin bedroom. They have thought of everything you need to start your stay off, from dishwasher tablets through to loo roll and everything in between. We made a most welcoming hot drink with biscuits, while we took in... More 

Helpful?
Thank maizyboo
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review and kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your accommodation and the local area and we hope you come back to visit again next year. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

I booked this place because I fell in love with the photos it looked lovely,couldn't be more wrong ,loose plug sockets,no mirror by plug for blow drying hair,floor so dirty had to wash feet if you walked barefoot,balcony was so dirty couldn't sit on it ,sofas ripped cushions,wardrobes smelt of body odour and dirty,also doors off in one room and... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

We are a small family run business and while we are not perfect, we pride ourselves on dealing with any issues that may arise, for example, on an occasion where a guest had booked a smaller apartment than they were expecting on booking.com, we were happy to upgrade them to one of our premier apartments. We go out of our... More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

My husband, mother, 16 month old son & recently I stayed in the Porthcurno apartment for 5 days. Unfortunately we were visiting a sick relative at Treliske hospital, so our booking was very last minute. Dominique was really helpful and managed to accommodate us and our two dogs at short notice. The price for 5 days was very competitive in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tonksie34
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed the location and views from your apartment and would recommend us to others. Usually we do recommend alternative apartments when there is more than two guests, however at short notice we only had the one apartment available. Thank you for your feedback regarding the... More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

So I guess I should start by saying I was in a one bedroom, upstairs apartment. our group of 10 people were divided amongst three different apartments and majority of this review will be based on mine which was the smallest. To decide if sandbank is right for you first of all you need to decide what it is you're... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank philtemple
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologise for the issues you encountered and are currently planning for the redecoration of this apartment. We have fixed the issues with the lamps and heater and thank you for bringing them to our attention. We're glad you enjoyed the local area and hope you will come back to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
3.9 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
3.5 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 22 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#4 of 22 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the eastern side of St. Ives Bay, we are ideally located for that quiet Cornish getaway. We are a small family-owned site of Apartments and Bungalows set in peaceful landscaped gardens, and nestling in acres of grassy sand dunes close to three miles of beautiful beach that stretches from Hayle to Godrevy Lighthouse at Gwithian. All our accommodation is spotlessly clean and well-equipped for your self-catering holiday, and our large gardens and play area provide a safe environment for children. Surfing, cycling, fishing, and boat trips can all be accessed locally, and there are plenty of good pubs and restaurants around for good food and ales. Paradise Park, Flambards, Lost Gardens of Heligan and The Eden Project are all within an easy drive from Sandbank. From public gardens to golf, cliff-walking, visiting family fun parks or simply relaxing on the beach, there is something to entertain the whole family on your Cornish break. We are also one of the few remaining sites that welcomes dogs, plus their well-behaved owners, and ideally located close to countless attractions and stunning beauty spots. Open March to October. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandbank Holidays

Address: 51 Upton Towans | Gwithian, St Ives TR27 5BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Price Range: $60 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sandbank Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbank Holidays St Ives, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay