We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Whiteways Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Whiteways Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 60: English reviews
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having just logged onto tripadvisor to read the reviews I was shocked. The room my partner and I stayed in was lovely, clean and pretty. Coffee, hot chocolate and tea was provided. A small travel kettle and complementary shower gel. No issues at all. For the location and area, price was reasonable with breakfast included. Would stay again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

This is the worst bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in.we arrived to find the lady had gone out ,she showed us our room it has a damp smell to it ,there was blood on the cushion on the bed ,light switch hanging off the fall,bathroom was awful.we stayed one night,we got up at 5 the next morning and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
whitewayskg, Owner at Whiteways Guest House, responded to this review

I would like to say i always try to contact guests regarding time of arrival as not all guests give expected times since the unfortunate loss of my husband six months ago i am trying to continue on my own i do need to go shopping on this occasion i was 5 mins away in the town as soon as... More 

Travelers are raving about these Penzance hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

The owner of this ramshackle little place was pleasant enough, but not much else was. The decor here was a very grim affair, the first thing I noticed. Moreover, the shower was utterly tiny, the fittings in both ensuite and bedroom were poorly finished, the mattress was like a squidgy fat person, and the breakfast was greasier than Silvio Berlusconi.... More 

Helpful?
Thank DragonIII
whitewayskg, Owner at Whiteways Guest House, responded to this review

Hi i would like to let guests know mattresses have been replaced where applicable in april of this year More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015 via mobile

Booked this online without really doing any research so my fault really. Stayed here years ago but that must have been in a different universe because I wouldn't have if I'd seen photos. The place is untidy,dusty,dirty and not very welcoming at all and that's a shame because it's an ideal location near the station,harbour and town but will not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor V
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

I booked this very last minute without reading the reviews - that was a mistake. Pretty much what everyone else has been saying - the place is not clean, the furniture is old and tatty, I had the room with the shower next to the bed which made the room feel a bit damp, the window rattled in its frame,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Saz1515
whitewayskg, Owner at Whiteways Guest House, responded to this review

Due to serious illness and my not running guest house through 2015 left with staff all issues have now been dealt with hopefully no more seriosly bad reviews More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

As soon as we walked in it smelt like animals and there was no one to greet us. Our room was filthy!! The shower (in the "ensuite" which was a converted cupboard) was mouldy and the pipes were coming away from the wall. The extracter fan was caked in dust. The carpets were stained and there was a toenail on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Eiren C
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for two nights ! Piracy at its best, OMG there is a smell I can only describe as a 10 year old curry house! It makes me wonder if anybody ever checks the standards. This place does no favours for the Penzance/ Cornish tourist industry. Sorry never again.

Helpful?
4 Thank nobert65
west midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

we only stayed one night thankfully. This place is filthy, an old sofa in the dining room covered by dirty blanket and pillow. dust and cobwebs everywhere. The room was dirty and the bathroom needed a good deep clean, black all round shower area. would not stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank lainmarie
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

On arrival we were greeted by the owner who was very friendly and shown to our room. Well! My children have been to university and there accommodation was much better than this. The carpet was dirty as was the sink and toilet look as if they hadn't been cleaned in a long time. The bed well we decided to sleep... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan G
Netley Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

How this place passes fire regs or food hygiene or health and safety I do not know. Foul stench of Cafe cooking imprinted everywhere. Greasy walls and sticky floors even in bedrooms. Carpets disgustingly stained. Fire door to room 12 too small so would fail to keep smoke out in a fire. Door to single room sealed occupant in and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah N
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.8 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carnson House
Carnson House
#67 of 88 in Penzance
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Longboat Hotel
The Longboat Hotel
#53 of 88 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#56 of 88 in Penzance
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penrose Guest House
Penrose Guest House
#29 of 88 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#12 of 88 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms

Additional Information about Whiteways Guest House

Address: 1 East Terrace, Penzance TR18 2TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Price Range: $69 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whiteways Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Whiteways Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whiteways Guest House Hotel Penzance
Whiteways Guest House Penzance, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay