We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Higher Faugan Parc

Expedia.com$118*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Higher Faugan Parc
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 112: English reviews
Start your review of Higher Faugan Parc
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived for an anniversary night away and were warmly welcomed and shown to our upgraded room. The room was excellent, with views across the gardens to the bay in the distance...apparently there is even a helipad available should your mood and budget take you! There's plenty of local information available re restaurants and history in handouts in the rooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
Douglas J, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, come back soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I just checked out from this hotel 1 hour ago. I would say that the owner gave us a very warm welcome and great advises on restaurant around the hotel area, moreover everything in the hotel is the hotel is very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike30845
Douglas J, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

Great to hear, hope to see you again in the future

Orillia, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this property for myself, my daughter and cousin for a mini break. Unfortunately we had a family emergency, my dad was rushed in to hospital in a critical condition, his prognosis is very poor and going on vacation was not an option. I understand that I prepaid but in the circumstances a little compassion could have been offered....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank makarta
Douglas J, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

It is always unfortunate when a cancellation is received, in this case it was within 48hrs of arrival, the booking was also made via Expedia where we have a non refundable policy. Being unaware of the reasons for the cancellation we offered a change of date, which at the time was accepted by the guest. it was only on receiving...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 23, 2017

Booked just one night as attending funeral next day, and on arrival was warmly welcomed and immediately upgraded to a huge room on the ground floor (Room 1). I was overjoyed when I learnt that the house was built by my favourite artist Stanhope Forbes, one of the founder members of the Newlyn School. To think that I slept in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

You are most welcome, in addition to you being a Stanhope Forbes admirer it was a pleasure to accommodate such an appreciative guest, hope to see you at some time in the future.

Reviewed January 30, 2017 via mobile

We decided to take a spare of the moment trip to Penzance, so to the Internet to check out places in the area, after a short while I came across the Higher Faugan Parc (HFP) (a family run hotel), it just ticked every one of the boxes I wanted, so off we went and weren't disappointed when we arrived, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macandra
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

Many thanks for the kind comments, hope to see you in again in the future

Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

We were on a road trip from London to Cornwall in Easter. We have two children with us, age 2 and 5. We have traveled many places and never felt such unwelcomed from the owner of Higher Faugan. It's our mistake to book this place as it states "children age 3 welcome to stay". But we only found out this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yomi B
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

To receive such negative comments over seven months after departing is surprising, It is unfortunate this guest felt displeased, also that they did not read our young child policy prior to booking but only a few days prior to arriving. It was then discovered of four people in the party including their young child not three as booked, as a...

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 6, 2016

We stayed here as a family across two rooms. Unbeknownst to me, they have a policy of no children under three. When we arrived with our 26-month-old, Doug told me about this policy. I apologised and Doug didn't make a big deal of it because he's a nice guy. Our room was at the end on the ground floor -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank powermetal
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind remarks, our young child policy is shown on our website under description when booking online, which I believe this booking was made via, we also advise all agents to make this clearly visible to potential guests when booking, it is unfortunate you did not see this when making the reservation. However we honoured your reservation without...

Bristol
Reviewed October 4, 2016

A perfect and peaceful base for exploring this part of Cornwall. I spent a week in Suite 3 which was superb, with an extensive view that included Mount's Bay and some spectacular sunrises. The suite was stylishly furnished and decorated, equipped to a high standard, and had everything I needed for a very comfortable stay, including good wifi. The concept...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anon_Bristol_12
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

What a delightful well travelled lady, It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, one may say the perfect Guest, we hope to see you again in the future

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night prior to travelling to the Isles of Scilly. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Doug, we felt welcome and looked after. The house is beautiful and tastefully decorated and furnished throughout. Beds are comfortable and the whole room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast is provided in the rooms, a very good selection...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank snareanylad54
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, come back anytime.

Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 26, 2016

We arrived and were told by the owner that we had been upgraded as there was some damage to the room we had originally booked. The room we were given was superb, spacious, well appointed and with a fantastic sea view. Higher Faughan Parc did take some finding, don't follow sat nav but go with the website's directions, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rick B
lukejasse, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

A Great couple, thanks for your kind words, come again soon

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
2.2 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
780 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
42 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.3 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#6 of 81 in Penzance
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originally built in 1904, this beautiful private guest house offers contemporary style accommodation in the small Cornish town of Newlyn, within easy reach of Lands End, St Ives and Penzance. Formerly the family home of artists Stanhope and Elizabeth Forbes (founder of the Newlyn School of Art), Higher Faugan features 7 guest rooms, including 4 luxury suites, all of which are equipped with modern comforts such as Smart TV USB outlets and Wi-Fi internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Higher Faugan Parc

Address: Chywoone Hill | Newlyn, Penzance, Penzance TR18 5NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Price Range: $138 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Higher Faugan Parc 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Higher Faugan Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Higher Faugan Parc Penzance, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Higher Faugan Parc staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
LAKE OSWEGO
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Higher Faugan Parc staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 3 was excellent”
S9861TVchrist, 1 week ago | Read review
“Choose Room 1 - Stanhope Forbes studio!”
KenD973, Feb 23, 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 is lovely and spacious; can't comment on other rooms”
O9352WAtomm, Sep 9, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms not overlooking untidy outbuildings”
  • Low shower head height - not good for 6'2
  • Locked bathroom window without key
  • Bedroom view
  • Bedroom view
  • Nicely dusted plastic flowers
  • Nicely dusted plastic flowers
  • Low roof beams... not good for tallies!!
  • Dirty stained bed drawers... (what your not supposed to see)
Timlospencer, Jul 23, 2016 | Read review
“Room on first floor at the front have fabulous view”
506janetb, Jul 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$118* /night
View Deal
Cancelon$138
Orbitz.com$118
Priceline$118
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates