We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kenton Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kenton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Kenton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 105: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have stayed here before & feel so welcome . The room was loverly & clean. The bed was so soft i had a great comfortable sleep. The breakfast is great as always, its always hot & great service. The views are some of the best you will see from a hotel window. Thank you to all the staff/staff once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
Staffordshire
Reviewed August 9, 2014

set just outside the rough and tumble of Newquay(I mean rough and tumble!), with a fantastic view across Porth beach to wake up to. immaculately clean, friendly family staff (lively debates with the owner-don't be offended, interesting character). Breakfast excellent, swift service and always hot. Walkable to newquay and to Watergate beach, but best beaches are opposite the hotel straight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark Q
Perth, Australia
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is an old hotel with a beautiful ocean view. It is not very inviting when you look at it from outside. It is a little dingy and feels like a bit of a fire hazard. The bathroom is very small. The breakfast was nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tractor33
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 7, 2013

All the family are so friendly it feels like you become part of family during your stay. The full english breakfast comes to you quickly & hot, it sets you up for the day ! The bed is comfortable & with sea view that comlements it ! The rooms & general decor could do with updating, maybe small flat screens...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul R
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Friendly staff, clean hotel and room, good breakfast & evening meal, lovely weather! We all enjoyed our week long stay in the Kenton Hotel - the day started with a good breakfast and then out for a bit of relaxing on a local beach and body-boarding/swimming in the sea. Back to the hotel about 5:15pm for showers (which were hot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison G
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, it is very rewarding to know that all our hard work is worth the effort. I know you can't please all of the people all of the time but we do try anyway without much luck on some occasions it would seem. Hope to see you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a 3 night stay here over a weekend after reading ok reviews. Oh how did we regret it. It advertised a car park, however it could only hold about two cars and we were told that we may be asked to move it each day. The hotel smelt but I thought that was down it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank chrissiexe
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you are not happy, not sure where all these nasty comments have come from to be honest, the photo's taken are very misleading and not quite as they look, not sure that one or two have even been taken in this hotel. You were given a full refund as your behavior was very suspicious, and we preferred...

Stratfield Mortimer, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Found this hotel in a brochure on accommodation in Cornwall booked on route over the phone for that night .Slightly more expensive than the B&Bs we stayed in on our trip round Cornwall .The room was small and basic but ok the stairways could do with some smartening up .Breakfast was basic to .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not overly happy, We never have claimed the be a 5 star hotel, we are indeed a small family run 2 star hotel which offers a homely friendly environment. if just booking a one night stay at the last minute you will always pay the highest price in any establishment and being a last minute...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and the views from the bedroom was great. However, the decor is very tired, carpets back in the 80s, and it smelt. Why, cos the majority of people staying have dogs, one or maybe two would have been acceptable but there were loads. Not a mention about dogs being welcomed when booking this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackielstephens
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We do heavily advertise as being a dog friendly hotel in many places and even have photo's of our own dog on all websites and adverts, so I am very surprised that you were not aware that we are a dog friendly hotel. Whilst we make every effort to...

London
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day break at the Kenton. We had a very nice time and found the hotel's location perfect for what we were looking for, that being, outside of Newquay and very close indeed to the magnificent scenery, beaches. walks. The breakfast is well cooked, filing and a good way to start the day. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hopeicanbeofhelp
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again in the future.

blackburn
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Made welcome again, great food, great view and great company. True to their statement of "Kev will do it".. Kev didn't say no to anyone weather good.... Will be back on next visit to Cornwall......we even got to see dolphins

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroldewhurst
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your company again, it was a pleasure and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Whipsiderry Hotel
Whipsiderry Hotel
#16 of 38 in Newquay
229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
189 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 38 in Newquay
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
White House Newquay
White House Newquay
#8 of 38 in Newquay
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Kenton Hotel

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range: $57 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kenton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Kenton Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kenton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book early and you will be able to get a room with the gorgeous views.”
 of 5 bubbles mariet239, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“Get a room facing the bay for a fantastic sea view”
 of 5 bubbles justinhC4469YI, Jun 26, 2016 | Read review
“If possible, ask for a sea view: it's well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelhO7801AF, Sep 7, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for sea view”
 of 5 bubbles andybD9348DX, Jul 19, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a seaview ,we never had one and the room was still good but next time will ask for seaview”
 of 5 bubbles carolbB2119JO, Jul 19, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question