We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Great Western Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

806 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Great Western Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 787: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 21, 2017

My wife and I have had lunch with a drink here on several occasions. Food and drink great. Amazing views of the coastline. We haven't stayed here but we would seriously consider it based on our dining experience. Give it a go!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monstermunch2017
StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review for our Steam Bar. The team works hard to produced fresh food from locally sourced ingredients which offers the great taste of Cornwall. If you wish to stay with us at all in the future, please call our fabulous reception team on 01637872010.

Poole
Reviewed March 20, 2017 via mobile

We decided to stay here while we attended a friends wedding nearby and we're very impressed. The room was very comfortable and had everything you could need for your stay. With a brilliant location overlooking the beach and at a great price you couldn't ask for more. Will definitely stay again next time we visit Newquay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jandgdaddy
StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a 5* review for us. We are really lucky to be located so close to town and one of the most beautiful beaches in Newquay. We look forward to welcoming you next time you are in Newquay.

Reviewed March 18, 2017

My husband and myself came to the hotel for a three night break. Our bedroom 109 was very big and also very clean and newly decorated the bathroom was very modern and the shower was superb. Will defiantly stay again. The staff are lovely too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Saintsfa
StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a lovely review for us. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 18, 2017

Decided to have short break here 19th to the 22nd December 2016 was not disappointed the staff very friendly and helpful seaview room was large and kept v clean was great waking up to the sound of the waves breaking on the rocks beloe thw hotel. The restaurant is great with views across the bay to Newquay harbour. Food excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank laurence h
StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It is wonderful to hear that you were well looked after by the staff and enjoyed your room. I Will make sure I pass your comments back on to the team. We hope you will come back and visit us soon.

Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

We arrived here without reserved parking which was fine it was our fault. We got told there was a carpark down the road which was full but luckily if you turn left out of the hotel there is one seconds up the road for £5 each 24 hours. The staff were friendly and helpful kept our bags safe until the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beckyamyrose
StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review for us. The Great Western Hotel is 64 bedroom hotel that varies in room sizes. We are lucky enough to be situated on the sea front which allows breath-taking views. The hotel was built in the early 1900’s which makes each room unique with not one room being the same, this means that as...

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

Visited this hotel for a 2 night weekend stay, the view from the room was amazing, the room was nice and clean and plenty of tea coffee and milk, and even hot chocolate and biscuits. All staff seemed really friendly, only issue is trying to find your room, we went up the lift through corridors up stairs etc luckily this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samalam1
StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely 5* review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit, and that the staff made this enjoyable for you. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

I've stayed in some beach amazing hotels around the world but the view from the floor to ceiling bay window in our room was one of the best ever. Stunning. Lying in bed watching the waves rolling in is a real treat. Our room was very comfortable, with good free wifi. We had our 14 month old baby in our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candelabra8
StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for writing such a lovely review for us. The team work very hard to ensure you enjoy all aspects of your stay, so it is always lovely to hear that we have have achieved that. We hope you stay with us again in the future.

Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile

Staff very friendly and helpful and got a great deal on a recent stay. Room wasn't as clean as I expected, a dodgy window that wouldn't close properly and room was too hot. Bathroom lovely and huge bedroom which was alot more than I expected

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Purplesmurf2
StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. I apologise that you found the cleanliness of the rooms disappointing. All our rooms are serviced before each and every guests to ensure our standards are always maintained. If you would be able to contact myself at the hotel I would like to take the opportunity to investigate...

Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile

We stopped in just for lunch with the family. They have a good selection of beers and wines and there is a reasonably good lunch menu. The fish and chips was first class, the jacket potatoes excellent, the staff very pleasant and the view is outstanding. Altogether a very good choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorian J
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 21, 2017

We stayed at the fantastic Great Western Hotel for a long weekend in February. From the moment we were welcomed warmly by the highly-professional reception staff, through the excellent meals prepared and served by a team for whom nothing was too much trouble to a quick and efficient check-out, this was a stunning break. Beautiful sea views and modern and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidwenban2017
StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. The team work really hard to ensure you have an amazing stay and we are so pleased that we achieved this. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon! Emma Head Receptionist

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

500 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (268)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Bridal - Honeymoon Suite (23)
Viewed
Premium Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (19)
Viewed
Superior Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
880 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range: $66 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Great Western Hotel staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Great Western Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get a sea view”
MrCool731, 2 days ago | Read review
“If you prefer a sea view ask as the views are spectacular.”
Anna59, 3 days ago | Read review
“Sea view a must have”
alysond479, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room away from the beer garden and preferably on the top floor to avoid creaky floorboards.”
Ineedzzz, 1 week ago | Read review
“Dine here first”
Monstermunch2017, Mar 21, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question