We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2390)
360
Panoramas (3)
Room & Suite (551)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 04/24/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 04/24/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 40 hotels in Newquay
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
Stylish, elegant, and beautifully unique The Headland Hotel & Spa is a luxury five-star hotel in Newquay, Cornwall with private self-catering cottages set upon an iconic clifftop overlooking Fistral Beach. Offering the perfect blend of discreet English ambience and decadent hospitality, we take pride in our individually designed luxury hotel rooms and suites, rosette-worthy dining in our Samphire and Terrace restaurants and award-winning pampering in the five-bubble awarded Headland Spa. We are very excited to introduce you to The Aqua Club, our new £10 million swimming and wellness space. The Aqua Club completes the five-star Headland experience with six pools, a Mediterranean-inspired restaurant, and a sun terrace overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Welcome to one of the most personal spa hotels in Cornwall.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Babysitting
Children's playground
Electric vehicle charging station
Paid private parking nearby
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, German and 3 more
5747Reviews55Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,922
  • 1,127
  • 368
  • 167
  • 163
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Gary wrote a review Oct 3
2 contributions
We booked a 4 night stay with breakfast and dinner in the Samphire restaurant included. Really cannot fault anything! We stayed in room 210 which has a sitting room and little sea view balcony, a truly memorable trip :-)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyn Pheby, Guest Services / Front Office at The Headland Hotel & Spa
Responded yesterday
It is really lovely to see how much you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for these superb comments. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, for more of the same. Kind regards Wyn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kati wrote a review Oct 2
London, United Kingdom22 contributions5 helpful votes
The best thing about the hotel is the location, the rooms are very average for a 5 stars hotel, the restaurant is good compare to many hotel restaurants, the reception has really professional and kind ladies, but my favourite person in there was Sara the concierge, she should be rated the best concierge in England, she is so kind and helpful and always smiling and happy, the new shop opened is a very good addition to the hotel, it does offer good range of frozen food and drinks for a very reasonable price.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Go to fish house restaurant near by its a must try
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyn Pheby, Guest Services / Front Office at The Headland Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for this lovely review. It is good to see that you enjoyed our food and that you like our new shop. It is especially good to see your comments about our wonderful staff team. Sarah is a Golden Keys concierge and, as you say, you can see why. She will be delighted at your comments. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Wyn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Becks40 wrote a review Sep 2022
St Ives, United Kingdom56 contributions51 helpful votes
Me and my husband went to The Headland Spa as a birthday treat for me. We booked the Waves and Wellbeing Day. On arrival we were given all the info about the spa and our itinerary from reception. We were given robes and flip flops and shown where the towels were and then shown where everything was. The changing rooms, although small, were so clean. The ladies had separate shower/changing rooms, with a stool and dressing table area, with mirror, GHD,s and hairdryers in. I really liked the thought put into these, rather than a free for all in a communal area. The Spa area itself was lovely. It was well done and clean. The pool was a little on the cool side, but that might just be me. It was nice to dip into after using the heat elements in the spa though. We made good use of the jacuzzi, stream room and sauna for a few hours before getting ready for our treatments. It would have been nice to see some loungers in the spa, rather than just chairs. We did have access to the relaxation room throughout the day too, not just after our treatments which was nice. The beds were comfortable in there and you get free teas and biscuits. I had a Couture Touch treatment (facial and hot stones back massage) and my husband had a full body massage. My treatment was done by Amelia and it was so good! I would highly recommend it. My husband was equally pleased with his. We then had afternoon tea in the spa area, overlooking the outside terrace (too cold to be outside). It was huge and very tasty. We probably could have done with less dessert options and a couple more sandwiches instead but we really enjoyed it. I also had a glass of prosecco. After the afternoon tea we went back into the spa area for more relaxation for an hour or so before heading home. We did have a quick look at the Aqua Club from the outside. It looked very busy compared to the inside spa (which we pretty much had to ourselves at times) but i think that was due to it being cold so everyone was in the vitality pool. We both said that we would love to try that at some point. We had the option of adding it onto our day but it would have been too expensive all at once. All in all, we had a fantastic day at the spa and would highly recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyn Pheby, Guest Services / Front Office at The Headland Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Becks Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback on your recent Spa day. It is really good to see that you both had such a happy, relaxing time and we loved reading your comments. Yes, do come back and try the Aqua Club, I'm sure you'll love it. Once again, thank you for your super recommendation and hopefully we'll have the pleasure of seeing you again soon. Kind regards Wyn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thowdmon wrote a review Sep 2022
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom681 contributions79 helpful votes
We planned and made the trip here just for an afternoon tea, for nostalgic reasons. . About 30 miles, An hour and a half. When we got there, we were seated in the conservatory. Then informed that there were none left ! We chatted of a charming manageress. She explained that there and then they had used up what they had in the conservatory to serve for afternoon tea. But possibly there was still some elsewhere in the building. She looked. And low and behold The scones etc appeared. What service. Much appreciated. One of there reasons we have returned. More to the point it was a proper tea. Crumbly scones. Cream and jam in bowls. OK, it was how it should be. But too often you don't get that. This was top notch and we really appreciated it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyn Pheby, Guest Services / Front Office at The Headland Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit for a cream tea. I am really pleased that all was well in the end and that you enjoyed your cream tea after all. Having made such an effort to come back to us, it would have been very sad if there really were no scones left! It must have been a very busy spell at the time. We hope to welcome you back often in the future. Kind regards Wyn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rebecca wrote a review Sep 2022
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom20 contributions3 helpful votes
Fabulous day! I was looked after beautifully by Amy and Ryan as I turned up for breakfast on spec before my spa treatment. Ryan remembered me from a previous stay and took time to greet me and chat even in the midst of a busy morning service. Sublime massage treatment from Becky in the spa who gently eased out several persistent knots. Lovely manner, professional and friendly. Look forward to retuning soon, thank you
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyn Pheby, Guest Services / Front Office at The Headland Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for this lovely account of your spa day at The Headland. I am so glad that you had such a great time and we really appreciate your taking the time to write about it. We look forward to welcoming you back often. Kind regards Wyn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matt wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We went for a spa day and there is so many good things about it. Firstly, I would add that this review includes the Aqua Club which is optional but 100% worth paying for. Within the Aqua Club, the views of the Fistral beach and sea while in the outdoor pool and hot tub was spectacular. Also outside was a hydrotherapy pool with numerous 'stations' with different jet settings and plenty of tables and loungers to use. Inside consisted of a 25m pool, a sauna, another hydrotherapy pool and a shallow section with jets coming up through the floor and a rain shower. Back from the Aqua Club to the main spa section, we had an afternoon tea for two which was delicious, had good variety and was much larger than others we've had in the past. We also had a massage which was wonderful, with a choice of oils used. The relaxation room was also very welcome. The only slight negative is that the spa without the Aqua Club is rather limited. It contained only a jacuzzi and a small pool (+ a steam room that was out of service). I'd definitely recommend a visit
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyn Pheby, Guest Services / Front Office at The Headland Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
I am delighted to see how much you enjoyed your spa day and afternoon tea. Thank you so much for your super description and recommendation of our Aqua Club, too. I'm glad to see how much you enjoyed your massages and the relaxation room. It would be really lovely to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Wyn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Seth G wrote a review Sep 2022
New York City, New York7 contributions1 helpful vote
Perched on a hill, overlooking the Atlantic, perhaps the most outstanding aspect was the staff. Affable, helpful, not intrusive and keeping a sense of humor, they were a pleasure. The view was stupendous. The room was spacious. Wifi was only available from part of the room, but this was not a problem. The prepared breakfasts were better than the buffet, but this is likely universal.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyn Pheby, Guest Services / Front Office at The Headland Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you very much for your very kind review. It is a great pleasure to see how much you enjoyed your stay and your lovely comments about our staff team are greatly appreciated. It is also good to see that you loved our stunning views and your room. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. kindest regards Wyn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoJo wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions4 helpful votes
Standards have slipped. Wi fi horrendous. It worked for no longer than 5 minutes and went off and eventually we had to give up trying. The queues for breakfast were long now we have a set time to eat. Never used to be a queue at all. Out of 4 days we had our tea and coffee only twice on time. Twice we had to ask where it was and once it never arrived at all. When the butter ran out at the counter I asked for some and was told it was on its way and wasn’t. Luckily a waiter bought me some just as well because my toast was already cold. Dismal service. We booked a twin bedroom and got a double bed so had to sit waiting while this was sorted and we’d only just arrived, and that was just a few things that were disappointing. Not quite the 5 star hotel we had paid a lot of money for
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyn Pheby, Guest Services / Front Office at The Headland Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Joey and thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to see that, on this occasion, the standards you have come to expect at The Headland appear to have been rather lacking. I do apologize for Issues you describe and please rest assured that all your comments will be shared with the teams concerned. With regard to the wifi being so temperamental, we are awaiting delivery of equipment which will transform our reception. Unfortunately this has been delayed , like so many things these days, but hopefully, by the time we have the pleasure of welcoming you back, you will notice the difference. Thank you for awarding us four stars, despite these drawbacks and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Wyn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nat s wrote a review Sep 2022
Toronto, Canada7 contributions3 helpful votes
My partner and I went to enjoy the Swim + Breakfast deal for £45 at 8am, that Gigi recommended, and itnwas incredible. The 7 multiple pools each with different temperatures, features and some outdoors, were so incredible and relaxing without kids (as kids are not allowed until about 10am). Then to top it all off we had an amazing breakfast that quite frankly seemed worth £45 alone! The chef and Tracy and Beth were so kind and welcoming, their service was spot on! I highly recommend a visit, for at least a morning swim, if you're an early riser. The views over Fistral beach are impeccable! Great job!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyn Pheby, Guest Services / Front Office at The Headland Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback on your visit to our Aqua Club. I am really pleased to see how much you enjoyed your time there and that you enjoyed the inclusive breakfast so much afterwards. We really appreciate your lovely recommendation and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Wyn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kerry S wrote a review Sep 2022
Worcestershire, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
Headland are going with the phrase home from home and it is. It is an amazing hotel in a fab location. Room was spaciouse and had everything you needed. We had a side sea view, which was nice. Bed was sooo comfy. Breakfast is one of the best I have had. Vast buffet as well as a menu you can also order from. All 3 restaurants offer a good evening menu. The Terrace is my favourite. The new Aqua Spa is great to relax and take time out. The staff make The Headland, they all work tirelessly and all see very happy to be there. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cornwall.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyn Pheby, Guest Services / Front Office at The Headland Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Kerry. How lovely to read your fantastic review! Thank you so much. I am delighted to see that you have had another happy stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back often in the future. Special thanks for praising our wonderful staff so highly. There will always be a warm Headland welcome waiting for you here. Kindest regards Wyn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$274 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
headland hotel newquay
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallNewquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
91
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Headland Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Headland Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Fistral Beach (0.2 miles), Towan Beach (0.7 miles), and Lighthouse Cinema @ Newquay (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Headland Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Headland Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Headland Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Headland Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Headland Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Fish House - Fistral, Toast Tapas & Bar, and Gusto Newquay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Headland Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at The Headland Hotel & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Headland Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Headland Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Russian, Polish, Lithuanian, and Latvian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Headland Hotel & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Trerice (3.5 miles), The Huers Hut (0.4 miles), and Holywell to Crantock circular walk (2.5 miles).