We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Marina Hotel

Hotel website
Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PL, England
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Marina Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 325: English reviews
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

this is the 7th Shearings hotel we have stayed in.some parts of hotel still need re decorated. we booked with caledonian travel and upgraded to sea view.our room was clean,shower was fine and spacious,meals were ok with 3 courses +chefs special to choose from.breakfast was buffet style with plenty to choose from. entertainment started with usual bingo also a quiz... More 

Helpful?
Thank andrew m
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with use here at the Marina Hotel, we will pass on your comments to the staff. Thanks More 

Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

arrived with national holidays 5 day break, outside could do with a paint, the inside isn't as you would expect but very clean, food was nice and well presented, staff were really nice and accommodating in fact I would say the staff are a credit to the hotel and a big thanks to them all, the rooms appear to have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank craig l
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am glad that you found your room to be one of the best you've stayed in, we upgrade a number of rooms each year and its always a pleasure when a guest recognises this. I will pass on your lovely comments to the staff at our next meeting. More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

just returned from the marina hotel went with the national from the outside the hotel looks like its in a desperate need of a paint job but still don't sleep out side bedroom the bed room was mmm well the bed was clean but wall paper falling off desperate again for a lick of paint stains all over. the bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank 633sawdon
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your holiday I am sorry that you did not find certain aspects of the hotel to your satisfaction. We have an upgrade plan in place and will be refurbishing more rooms later this year. Hopefully should you choose to return to the hotel you will notice the changes made. More 

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Second visit thanks to National Holidays. We had enjoyed our trip and stay so much last year, we came back again, this time we had ordered a front room/sea view for an extra £20. Do yourself a favor - DO NOT do it, it is not worth the money. The room we had was cramped, with the double bed taking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam P
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I apologise that you found certain parts of your holiday not to your satisfaction. The menu does offer a varied choice as you noted on your previous visit it can be difficult if your a picky eater but we do change the menu regularly. The sizes of the rooms can vary with a building of... More 

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Second visit to this hotel with National Coach Holidays so first one can't have been that bad. However on our first visit we asked for a sea view which was very nice except the main road runs under the window and was very noisy with traffic and revellers returning home at 3-4 am. This time we asked for a quiet... More 

Helpful?
Thank StyxD
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Chose a Sea View room & it was well worth it -----loved the room and the staff were great --------- particularly in the restaurant where they worked cheerfully and extremely hard to keep everybody happy. It is a very busy hotel as it seems to have a clientele consisting mainly of coach trips & there was nightly entertainment, but can't... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BassetBaby
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the wonderful views from the sea view rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

Went to this hotel on a 5 day National Holidays break. Hotel is in a great location but is very dated and shabby. It really does need some TLC, the Internet shows it in a far better light than in reality. Nevertheless majority of staff were very pleasant, especially Martin and Colin in the restaurant. We found the evening meals... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review you stay with us, the company continues to invest in the property with 8 bedrooms and bathrooms completed in December and a further 10 rooms planned for refurbishment this year. I will pass on your praise to Martin and Colin at our next meeting. More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Me and my wife have just come back from a five night stay at the Marina Hotel. To say the accomodation is dated is a understatement it would be a ideal set for a series of Heartbeat its that old. The beds are very clean and comfy though on a bright side and the staff are second to none, with... More 

Helpful?
Thank snowman7777
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent review, I will pass on your positive remarks to Colin who has been with us for a few years now. We generally get positive feedback on the meals provided but of course this is entirely up to the individuals taste. We have a program of refurbishment in place where the company makes regular investment into the... More 

Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

Went on a National coach holiday for five days..... had requested groundfloor room with shower or wet room when booking over telephone and also e-mailed hotel via tripadvisor to confirm room request as I have a mobility problem and hotel has no lift. On arrival found we had been allocated room on second floor!! Receptionist, Callum, went out of his... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank florida1Cheshire
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review I shall certainly pass on your remarks to Callum at our next staff meeting. It is unfortunate that your request was not fulfilled but I am pleased that Callum helped you out to ensure you enjoyed your holiday here in Newquay. More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

this was my first coach holiday for over 20 years, I was a bit apprehensive, as some of the reviews I looked at, somewhat put me off ,however I decided to take a chance. I was not disappointed at all, from the national holidays driver Ivan, who was a very careful, and professional driver, down to the cleaner, who was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank paulthomnpson25
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Newquay as you mentioned the view from room 51 is breath-taking over looking Tolcarne Beach. Hopefully we will see you return to the hotel at some future point. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#13 of 39 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 39 in Newquay
3.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 39 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#23 of 39 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 39 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge

Additional Information about Marina Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing