We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ye Olde King's Head

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ye Olde King\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 367: English reviews
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived in this centrally ancient inn and was immediately struck by its quaint feel. The landlord treated us as if we were long lost family all weekend. The staff were mega friendly and nothing was to much. An genuinely old inn with all the quirks and wrinkles. if you want plush don't bother, if you want a good time, better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mick8620uk
Prescot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night midweek in the middle of January, nice clean room with essentials provided, staff very welcoming and allowed us to check in a little earlier than usual which was appreciated, the hotel is a little noisy both inside and out but this is to be expected given hotels location and age, didn't try breakfast but was included...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynne R
UK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our stay was excellent, the room was clean with essentials provided and the room was quaint for the age of the property. The staff were exceptional, helpful and fantastic they could not do enough for you, they made us extremely welcome. The food was tasty and delicious and they accommodate if you was allergic to something. The place buzzed in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NWaltham
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at this hotel made the stay enjoyable otherwise we would have been disappointed. The room was clean but exceptionally noisy with traffic all through the night and only single glazing. The bathroom window would not shut and looked as though it hadn't been finished with no blinds or curtains. The shower had inadequate flow and you couldn't get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anitad168
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Renouned for being one of UK's most haunted Inn's, boasting 13 active spirits in 6 of the 8 rooms. The booking was a last minute booking through Booking.com. The rooms look amazing from the pictures, very warm and welcoming..I'll book here I thought... Arrived at the hotel, greeted by Damien at the bar and shown us to the room...I must...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AbsentDave
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let me tell you first what they get right at the Kings Head. The cooked breakfast was exactly what I would have expected: piping hot, well cooked, well-presented, delicious and prompt. The ensuite room was clean and warm and with the breakfast included made for a very good value night's stay. A friendly welcome and helpful staff made for an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So glad we called in at The Old Kings Head for lunch the building is very old but welcoming,it was warm and cosy with a pleasant dining area.our food was very good especially the steak pie which was accompanied by a selection of vegetables and home made chunky chips.The staff were very welcoming and service was very good I look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
OldeKingsHeadChester, Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hello Mark, Thank you very much for your lovely review of our inn. Its great to hear how much you enjoyed your meals with us and also the service. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Boyd

Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for a couple of nights between Christmas and New Year. Parts of the stay were excellent, other parts not so good. Good points: - Building is fabulous, full of character and old world charm - Staff are very friendly and helpful - Location, right in the centre of Chester about a hundred yards from the shops Disappointments: -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne M
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful, half-timbered building with friendly, knowledgeable staff who run it and the tavern on the ground floor. The hallways, etc. are of course old with wonky angles and a bit narrow; this is good if you're into old buildings but not if you like new, modern places. We like old buildings, and this was very cozy and charming. There are,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cassandra D
OldeKingsHeadChester, Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hello Cassandra, Thank you very much for your review of Ye Olde Kings Head. Its always a pleasure to hear that people have enjoyed their stay with us. We always strive to keep things as authentic as possible whilst still offering modern amenities. i will be sure to pass on your compliments to the rest of the staff and we...

crewe
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

SUPER service very helpful and the food and beer where good price and very good quality will definitely be back. We had the beef burger and a couple of pints of Guinness also a tea, latte and a sticky toffee pudding for the driver.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swob T
OldeKingsHeadChester, Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hello Swob T, Thank you very much for your review of the kings head. Its always a pleasure to hear that people plan to return to us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best, Boyd

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,505 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,911 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
989 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kings Head is a traditional Inn built in 1622 on the west side of Lower Bridge Street. The Inn is a few minutes walk down hill from the Cross. The name refers to when King Charles stayed at the nearby Gamul House during the English Civil War. Since buying the business in March 2012 the current owners have spent thousands of pounds trying to bring the Ye Olde Kings Head back to it's former glory. In November 2012, the property had an extensive refurbishment throughout the bar and restaurant areas, every ensuite bathroom was also replaced and redecorated to a high standard. There are currently three completed refurbished rooms, by mid December 2013 they expect every bedroom to be finished. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ye Olde King's Head

Address: 48-50 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $73 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde King's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ye Olde King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde King`s Head Hotel Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Ye Olde King's Head staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Herts
Wigan, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Iowa City, Iowa
7 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde King's Head staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“this is a civil war aged inn, all the rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles mick8620uk, yesterday | Read review
“Be careful if above average height, low beams!”
 of 5 bubbles r0bb029, 2 days ago | Read review
“Don't have a front room which overlooks the road.”
 of 5 bubbles anitad168, 1 week ago | Read review
“Try to get a room at the rear of the building away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles 1vnlover, Sep 24, 2016 | Read review
“Treat yourselves to room 6 with the 4 poster”
 of 5 bubbles Romanvs, Sep 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay