We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Saddle Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Saddle Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 191: English reviews
Start your review of The Saddle Inn
 Click to rate
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My boyfriend and I came here for Valentines day/out anniversary pre visit to Chester zoo the next day. The staff were lovely, both who worked the evening and the morning ( didn't get names) asked if we needed help with bags and asked how the night was etc etc The room was overall ok, the bedding was clean and comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ParisChante
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving us an honest assessment of your stay with us. I'm glad that you found our staff lovely, as we all try our best to be as helpful as possible. I apologise if the map for parking wasn't of use to you. Usually with any direct bookings, we send out all the info a guest...

Birmingham
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Chose the saddle inn as was close to city centre and good value. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Room was clean and tidy if a little dated. Bed was comfortable. Only criticism would be the bathroom was very old and really needed gutting and refitting. However would be more than happy to stay again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james400
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a very fair review. We know there are area's to improve on in our business, and we are honestly trying our best to get things done quicker. The bathroom you mentioned is one that irks me, and I have mentioned it to the powers that be, so fingers crossed we can improve it quickly. Once again it...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

OUTSTANDING. Right from the beginning the attention to detail was more than we could have asked for. Tim and the team went out of their way to ensure a great day was had by all. I would definitely recommend for a function, also a great place to eat and drink.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane G
thesaddleinnchester, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. The most important thing for us is that you enjoyed yourselves, and that everything went to plan. Saying 'I do' at the aisle is always a great starting point ;) It is a huge 'team' effort at 'The Saddle Inn' for anything that we do, and all the staff work hard for...

Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

Great drinks offer plenty of choice. Service from the bar was polite quick and proffetional. Friendly staff available and willing to advise on drinks, food and also Chesters other amenities. Will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt R
thesaddleinnchester, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback on your visit to us. At 'The Saddle Inn' we are aiming to keep on improving, and hopefully this is being noted with are general feedback. There is always room for improvement, but it really pleases me that you would visit us again. You are always welcome at 'The Saddle Inn', Kind Regards, Team...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

Lovely staff, great location and nice food. The staff couldn't do more for us and we couldn't fault them. The decor was interesting and told a story. Parking nearby was free. You can walk into Chester with ease. My friend had a hip injury and managed well because it was flat. The hotel was clean and individually laid out. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank reuben18
thesaddleinnchester, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your stay. I'm delighted you would choose to stay with us again (repeat custom means we're doing something right). Chester really is a lovely city, so I hope you enjoyed it. All the staff at 'The Saddle Inn' do their best to be friendly and helpful for all...

Yarm on Tees, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

Just popped in here while waiting for coach to pick us up from a trip Had Sunday lunch and was lovely 1 X beef dinner and 1 X nut roast dinner Was ready made mash and frozen carrots but real Yorkshires Paid £2 for extra roasties Nut roast was beautiful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
thesaddleinnchester, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us some lovely feedback in regards to our Sunday lunch. Our 'Chef' works extremely hard to create a great menu, with plenty of options for people, so I'm glad you enjoyed yourself. Not only do we serve food daily, but we also have a hotel onsite, so if ever you feel like having a longer stay...

lancaster
Reviewed December 12, 2016

stayed here for a girlie weekend and to visit the xmas markets arrived early 11 oclock but they held our bags till we returned, room 2 had two singles and one double, at first glance looked fine, beds comfy very clean duvets,bath towels thick/fluffy,the room was a bit rough around the edges and could of done with a lick of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanne g
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us some positive and constructive feedback. I'm glad to hear that 'overall' you and your friends enjoyed your stay. We are more than aware that there are certain areas to our rooms that need improving and I can assure you that we are in the process of making some 'more' improvements - the room you stayed...

Reviewed December 12, 2016

We stayed here recently for 2 nights and can't fault it. The location was amazing, couldn't be any more central. The room was lovely (room 6), up a few stairs but this didn't bother us. We arrived early, which was no problem, we were able to store our luggage and when we came back later our luggage had been carried...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolekidd94
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving us some great feedback for your stay with us. I say it often, but it really does mean a lot to all of us at 'The Saddle Inn' when we receive positive praise. We know we're not perfect in certain aspects, but we do our best to make up for that with customer service....

Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile

Got a loft room nearly decapitated in my drunken slumber. Best bit about chester is the pubs, accommodation is internationally below par. Great location for access from Wales but the room breakfast deal is beyond comprehension,why make b&b complicated? Our room was 3/4 bed with dirty shower tiles woken by pigeons and stale air sorry but far from satisfactory.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback from your stay with us, though I must say I'm rather confused by your review. Firstly I'd like to apologise if you didn't find our business up to the standards you clearly have stated you were expecting. The rating you've given us of 4 out of 5, and...

Llantrisant, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 5, 2016

Just returned home from a weekend visit to Chester, having stayed at the Saddle Inn on Saturday night. It really is a brilliant place to stay - lovely rooms, bar serving good food and very friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast is excellent too. It was only a 5 minute walk or less to the main shopping centre, Christmas Market and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cymraes44
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a kind review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit to Chester (the Christmas Market is always amazing). It pleases me immensely that you enjoyed your stay with us, and would be happy to comeback. We are currently seeing a lot of repeat custom, and for a small business like ourselves, it's lovely to see...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#2 of 45 in Chester
1,944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Saddle Inn is located close to the amenities of the city centre and the racecourse and are ideally situated for you to enjoy a fun-filled weekend stay or a relaxing drink or meal with friends and family. The public areas on the ground floor have undergone a complete refurbishment offering our customers a stylish and welcoming environment. A newly designed bar area is sure to impress offering a wide range of draught beers, cask ales, spirits, wines and cocktails. The newly appointed dining area offers a range of home cooked food including light bites, pub classics and a traditional Sunday Roast offering. You can also relax in our lounge area and enjoy a coffee or speciality tea and make use of the free wifi. (Please check with us for our food opening times) The Saddle Inn, newly established in 2014 is in a fantastic central location that enables our guests to truly immerse themselves in the city's thriving cultural landscape. The Saddle Inn is a large historical building which is located near the Roman amphitheatre. We are situated next to the museum and also within walking distance of the race course and shops. All our rooms come with comfortable en-suite or private facilities including: Tea & coffee making facilities, TV with freeview, ironing facilities available by request, hair-dryer by request, fresh towels, complimentary toiletries and free WiFi internet access in the public areas on the ground floor. We are also available for private dining and private functions please contact us for details to make your celebration a special one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Saddle Inn

Address: 21 Grosvenor Street, Chester CH1 2DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $61 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saddle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Saddle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Bells Hotel Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Saddle Inn staff and other travelers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Saddle Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“room 2 first floor accommodate up to 4 people”
 of 5 bubbles 826joannes, Dec 12, 2016 | Read review
“Probably at the rear - mine was no 3.”
 of 5 bubbles Greeklover20, Nov 28, 2016 | Read review
“Room 8 was very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles phoebej240, Nov 18, 2016 | Read review
“Full English breakfast included with room 8”
 of 5 bubbles motormatic, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“No lift stairs narrow so able bodied only ! Lovely comfortable pleasant hotel”
 of 5 bubbles eadie2016, Sep 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question