We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,430: English reviews
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have just spent a 3 night stay at this hotel, whilst visiting Chester Races Season Finale, and I was absolutely delighted to have come across this beautiful hotel. I booked a twin room on a B&B basis and it was extremely comfortable (Room 26) with a pleasant outlook over a garden. The bathroom facilities were extremely good too. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tinkywinky99
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was really nice to read your review, and to see that you had an amazing time with us, whilst visiting Chester for the races. It was good to see that your bedroom, food, and service all met your expectations and... More 

Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Went here for dinner for a friend's anniversary. Restaurant lost the booking, even though a deposit had been paid. Restaurant manager sorted it out efficiently though, and we were able to go to our table. Chicken pate was lovely, and the fish and chips above average! Staff friendly and helpful throughout. Will return soon.

Helpful?
Thank smiley4488
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us. Firstly I am sorry for the lost booking, however it was pleasing to read that the team managed to resolve the issue quickly, and that you then enjoyed a good meal with us, and that all the team looked after you. Once again many thanks for your review, and... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Brilliant night staff at Nelson s bar decorated the tables with the items I had left, this is our second visit last time it was in the restaurant also excellent service will definitely be visiting again roll on Christmas.

Helpful?
Thank Ceri E
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Ceri, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at Nelson's Bar. Once again it was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and that it met your expectations, and we look forward to welcoming you back over the Christmas period. Once again many thanks for your review. Kind Regards, David More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Really lovely hotel, reception staff really friendly, we came to a 50th Birthday on 23rd September, reception drink staff were really nice and then it stopped" service for the food was slow, but the food was really good, service staff were a little keen keeping the tables tidy, but clearing glasses which where half full shouldnt of happened also taking... More 

Helpful?
Thank amandabritton
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Amanda, many thanks for your review, following you recently attending a 50th birthday here at the hotel. It was pleasing to see that the hotel and reception staff met your expectations, and I am sorry that on this occasion other areas of your meal and stay did not meet your expectations, and I will ensure that your comments are made... More 

UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed one night with our dog, the hotel was lovely and very dog friendly. The staff were very helpful and arranged for us to eat both dinner and breakfast in the bar with the dog. She was given biscuits and a bowl and basket on arrival which she loved. The room was very nice and the food was delicious.... More 

Helpful?
Thank jaxterUk
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was pleasing to read your review, and to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that all members of the party, including those with 4 legs, where well looked after. We are a very dog friendly business, and... More 

Vilamoura
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Has great potential this place, but beware of the small print concerning noise! Bedrooms suffer with being too close to the function rooms and you can seriously join in the party! The manager is disinterested in any discussion / complaints around this - just refers you to the small print - a shame when the rooms are so expensive!

Helpful?
2 Thank Outlaw2014
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that on this occasion you were affected by the noise, as some of our rooms are located by the function room, and some noise can be heard until approx midnight, however we ensure that this information is displayed on all of our preferred partner websites, which... More 

Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked afternoon tea for my friends birthday and the experience was fabulous. My friend felt very special and they wished her Happy Birthday. The waitress/waiter were so attentive, I would love to go back for my birthday

Helpful?
Thank Leala27
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your afternoon tea with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was pleasing to read your review, and to see that you enjoyed the whole experience with us, and that all of the team looked after you. I do hope we can welcome you back for your birthday, and once again... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were attending a wedding locally and decided to stay here so we didn't have to travel home. Our room was modern and luxurious. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The prices have increased since last time we'd stayed here but there has obviously been a lot of refurbishment in that time. No complaints at all and would stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Niafals
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the bed was comfortable and ensured a good night's sleep for you. I do hope we can welcome you back again sometime soon, and once again many... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful. Luxurious and totally unexpected. I stayed here for work as I was in Chester the next morning, and would 100% come back for weekend away. The bed was big and comfy. The bath tub had a TV (need I say anymore) The only criticism is that my air con didn't really work so the room was quite hot.

Helpful?
Thank Becca_beanie123
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Becca, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was so nice to read your review, and to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the bed to your liking as well. If you could maybe just let me know which room... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Storms prevented my wife and I from spending the night camping in the mountains, so we booked this for the night as a last minute treat. Our first impression in arrival was how it looked nicer than the online photos. The receptionist was welcoming and the room was clean and comfortable. We spent the evening in the bar, this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank ar2000d
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was pleasing to read your review and to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and how you found all the staff to be welcoming and friendly, and that you made full use of all of the facilities. Ciro's... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

676 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (409)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (174)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (64)
Viewed
Executive Room (34)
Viewed
Family Room (24)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Superior Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.9 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 892 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 1,774 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 stars 1,393 reviews
4.8 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#17 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 stars 1,821 reviews
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $121 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay