We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Dene Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dene Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 393: English reviews
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I was meeting up with my partner for a bite to eat and needed a cheap place to stay. This hotel cane up on the hotel comparison site I use and the price was low, the reviews didn't look too bad so I booked. I arrived first and the outside of the hotel wasn't quite as predicted from the online... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard2552
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked on booking.com so got a cheap nights stay. We had a Superior Double room but it missed some basics. There was no grab handle and the shower was over bath and a bit slippy. We liked the grandness of the room, high ceilings etc but it was a bit shabby. The curtains were hanging off the rail on both... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen F
Pmc_11, Manager at Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback on our booking website and tripadvisor. We really appreciate all the feedback we receive as it enables us to constantly improve our services. The curtains have been resolved and we're sorry this was not done prior to your stay. Reception have ample supply of hair dryers, irons... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in there was dirty underwear behind the bed!!! and the toilet had not been flushed, lime scale all over bathroom, dust everywhere, carpets dirty, smelt of odour. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Helpful?
2 Thank Imogen H
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight visiting friends, room had no window it was a warm night so very stuffy. Bathroom window wouldn't stay open as latch broken, door to room stuck and was hard to open and close. The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. The over bed lights were missing and left with an un covered socket box. The dressing table was dusty... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wheatfreehell
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I thought I had got a bargain booking quite late for my one stay ...the lady on the front desk was polite but I should of known it's was quite what I expected when told I would be charged £15 if I didn't return the key and telly remote ! The room was clean but very basic that said the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tracie g
Pmc_11, Manager at Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay. We really appreciate all comments as it enables us to constantly improve our services. We have added a £15 charge for remotes/keys that are not returned as in the past, guests have not returned these items and subsequently spoiled the stay of the next guest in that room. The... More 

surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel seems to be being refurbished and it really does need it. The windows were actually rotten and you couldn't open and shut them properly, The staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was good but I certainly wouldn't want to stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank loloSurrey
Pmc_11, Manager at Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you found the staff and breakfast pleasant. We sincerely apologise for the window in that particular room and subsequently has been replaced; we are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room dirty , needs a he'll of a make over , tiles missing , breakfast totally disorganised staff need retraining , full English breakfast was meagre at best continental breakfast was next to non existent front of house staff member is not a morning person ,rude and ignored us when checking out ,did not even talk to us when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Checked into a room with no electrics on..decent enough for a 2* but what brings it down is the food. An obviously shop bought frozen pizza not even cooked properly and a very sub standard breakfast...in fact the best part of the breakfast was the orange juice...would never eat here again even if the breakfast was free....only saving grace is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pam H
Pmc_11, Manager at Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback after your stay with us. We really appreciate all comments given to us. The food we offer is competitively priced to suit all budgets of our guests. The 2 for £12 bar meals including the pizzas are not homemade nor do we advertise this, they are simply bar snacks... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here to go to Chester races. Got there about 12 30 and told we could no book in till 2pm as the hotel was full the night before, but they couldn't guarantee 2pm either. We had travelled two hours on a hot day and was hoping to at least freshen up before going out. We were told there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil S
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

We just stayed one night. The hotel decor is a little tired but our room was very clean. The shower was great and the linen was clean and crisp. Room was on the small side but big enough. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Security is good. Plenty of parking. There was tea and coffee making facilities in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Granma_13
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#38 of 45 in Chester
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#41 of 45 in Chester
3.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lloyds of Chester
Lloyds of Chester
#42 of 45 in Chester
3.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#19 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
5.6 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Dene Hotel

Address: 95 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $47 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dene Hotel Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay