We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

George & Dragon

Save
Traveler (53)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (2)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good28%
  • Average22%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible15%
Travelers talk about
“sleigh bed”(6 reviews)
“city centre”(23 reviews)
“car park”(22 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Air Conditioning
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
64
73
61
35
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
64
73
61
35
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssleigh bedcity centrecar parkpub hotelfew drinksmin walkbit datedan overnight staygood nights sleepracesliverpool
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Not a bad pub. Food is decent and there is a fair choice of drinks available at good prices. Just wish the staff looked a bit happier, and would be better if they listened to what you say as I had one staff member pour...More

Thank Sam C
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and for the price we paid we were pleasantly surprised. Ok there were a few maintenance issues but nothing that needed assistance from the hotel, I would say the decor is dated and previous maintenance work could do with being...More

Thank LazaBWFC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I used to come here when I was a student. I popped in on the 4th June for a quick pint at noon. The barmaid was a misery, completely disinterested. Broken window pane in the pool area. I can attest too that the toilets were...More

Thank Alan C
Response from Jeremy P, General Manager at George & DragonResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit, unfortunately we had an issue with the lights in the toilets so only the disabled one was available and had been used a lot so may not have appeared its best when you used it- this...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The George & Dragon Chester Here lies the death of the Village Inn 584635791 Please stay but anywhere else but here. We arrived and the rooms were not ready yet. It was before three but our booking said anytime after two. We decided to have...More

Thank eaw46
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Don’t expect to be greeted with a smile when you check in to this b&b, we were checked in by a girl on arrival but he and the guy also behind the bar were busy talking about football on tv that afternoon. My fiancé had...More

Thank 201,068
Response from Jeremy P, General Manager at George & DragonResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review, We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, but as we are a pub, music is to be expected til late, particularly on a Saturday night. As we are located next to the university we put on a number of...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Chester
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$59 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$59 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (53)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
112714
November 5, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TheCestrianBloke | Reviewed this property |
It's a 5 min walk. Chester isn't a very big place..
0
Votes
charlotted2089
August 5, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Annasworldtour | Reviewed this property |
Hi, When I stayed I dropped my car off at 11am and they didn't charge me. I'm sure they'd be able to find somewhere to leave your belongings if you aren't driving
2
Votes
Room Tips
"Another Hotle"
Read review
"Room 23 is small but next to the Dragon statue!"
Read review
"dont use room 26"
Read review
"The pub has music until midnight, so having an early night may be difficult if you are a light sleeper."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing