We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Kirkwood House

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kirkwood House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 63: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at this guesthouse for our trip to Cambridge. It was very good value for money, especially given it's close proximity away from the town centre. You could walk it in 25 minutes (as we did) or you could take a bus. The manager pointed us in the right direction for walking to town, and also... More 

Helpful?
Thank organisedmadness
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2016

Never in my life have I experienced such rudeness from anyone as from the management of this establishment and it's really amazing that they are in the service industry, but after reading other reviews here and their comments to bad reviews I shouldn't be surprised. I booked a room there for my son for 2 weeks. The room he got... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Thorsteinn A
Kirkwood2014, Manager at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Whilst I do not agree with roughly 95% of your lengthy review, seeing as your son checked in to an immaculate room, but yet manged to cause, as you stated, roughly £1000's worth of damage in many different areas throughout his 14 night stay (even managing to bend 2 of the keys and the metal key ring he was given),... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015 via mobile

Mark who was covering reception was efficient and friendly. Had not realised that by booking with booking.com I had already paid. Room 5 on first floor facing the rear was small but functional. Bed creaked loudly when I sat down. The wooden slats was nearly out so we slotted it back quickly. Bed comfy, quilt thick and was warm as... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank lynda h
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

We had a good stay at Kirkwood house. The gentleman who was on reception showed us our room in the anex. He was friendly and offered us a map of Cambridge to find our way around. He said if we needed more towels or tea and coffee to let him know. The room was clean and bright. Good quality tea... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea D
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

If you're on a budget, this lodging house will do. No breakfast provided but there are supermarkets and eateries around the area, about 5-10 mins walk. Toilet is incredibly small but is clean and hot water is readily available, condition of the room is also acceptable. There's free Wifi but from my room on the 2nd floor the signal is... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Alvin135
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Its not only that the room was dirty, small and smelly or that the toilet was incredibly small but I also had the worst experience in my life. They didnt let me sleep my last night in the house and when I came back to pick up my bag the day after they didnt let me take it until I... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank avecespeces
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Sir I will put your pathetic attempt at trying to slander my property down to pure sour grapes, as you seem to have missed out about 90% of the story as to what actually occurred and why you were charged an extra night. You booked 7 nights with us, and you stayed those 7 nights without any problems whatsoever.... More 

Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Arrived after a horrible trip. Was greeted and my room number was changed on the spot "so I didn't have to walk so far". Room directly across the hall from the reception desk. Didn't even have a door knob, obviously was a store room. No desk/table of any kind except one in the corner with the coffee service. Had to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank RetteT
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Madam Your room was changed on the spot, so that you were given a ground floor room, due to the fact that within 30 seconds of you setting through our front door, you had the audacity to complain about the distance we are from the train station, and how tired you were, and vent you anger out on us.... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Although "ok" the room looked "tired" the bathroom was tiny and the shower head was broken and wasn't very good. However the bed was nice and comfy and we slept very well. Our room really needed updating though our co travelers did have a much nicer room which did look like it had been decorated more recently. There is limited... More 

Helpful?
Thank JimmyFB
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015 via mobile

This was one of the worst places I have ever stayed in. We had booked 2 rooms for a family visit to see our daughter who is a student in Cambridge. Here's my list of what was wrong. 1. Shower was a trickle in one of the rooms. Near impossible to wash hair. 2. Bathroom tiniest in world - could... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Lorraine M
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Madam We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I feel I should point out a few things regarding your comments however. 1) Shower only a trickle=You would be referring to the one and only room we have that has an electric shower. This shower is a power shower, and had you chosen to notice that... More 

Leicestershire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

I was attending an event and stayed just one night. The room was a bit austere but for a single was a good size (though the en suite was extremely small). It was very clean and, on one the coldest nights of the year, nice and warm. My stay was therefore comfortable. Also, the internet connection was excellent. Cambridge is... More 

Helpful?
Thank bobzviewz
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.0 mi away
Lantern House
Lantern House
#75 of 123 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Lodge
Carlton Lodge
#74 of 123 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home from Home
Home from Home
#21 of 123 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lynwood House
Lynwood House
#15 of 123 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterman
The Waterman
#42 of 123 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Portland Arms
The Portland Arms
#51 of 123 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Kirkwood House

Address: 172 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: $84 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkwood House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Kirkwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwood Hotel Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay