We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Cambridge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Cambridge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 106: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at YHA for a night in a 6 bed female dorm and it was my first time in a hostel dorm. I can say I was really pleased with the experience as there was enough toilets, showers, etc, plus the room had a sink and all the facilities were quite clean and were high quality. If I'll need to... More 

Helpful?
Thank 891teresaalmeida
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hello 891teresaalmeida, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. I am really pleased that we appear to have converted you to hostelling!! I am delighted that you have commented on our high standards of both quality accommodation and cleanliness. Our friendly, helpful team is definitely our biggest asset and I am incredibly proud of the service... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent one night here as a family of 5. We had our own room and ensuite. All very clean although there was a smell of sick when we first entered the room. Windows opened though so soon improved. This is such good value £100 ish for 3 adults and 2 children including breakfast (we are YHA members). There are... More 

Helpful?
Thank elizabethrU742ZG
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi elizabethrU7427G, Thank you very much for your review. I am really pleased to hear you had a great stay, although it's a shame you missed out on the punting experience. There is always next time. I'm really sorry to hear there was an issue with a bad smell in the room. Our housekeeping manager has checks in place prior... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hostel was very clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the place was near the city center. We had a problem with the room and the staff gived us a new room. We can walk easly to all the attraction of Cambridge. Good place to stay in Cambridge.

Helpful?
Thank Maude E
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hello Maude E, Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you have praised our high level of cleanliness and our friendly, helpful team. I will make sure to pass on your lovely compliment. I'm glad that you had a great stay and we were able to help you get the most out of exploring the... More 

Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall this is a great hostel to stay at - we don't have young kids now but there were plenty of families that did I think this is great place for them. All the staff were genuinely very friendly and helpful. The toilets, bathrooms and showers we used were all clean and clearly well maintained. The 2 bunk room we... More 

Helpful?
Thank lemonstar61
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hello lemonstar61, Thank you very much for your very thorough and thoughtful review. I am sure it will be a great help to future guests! I'm delighted that you had a great stay with us and you found all of the team helpful. I am very proud of the team we have here as they are so passionate about travelling... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A fine, very well kept hostel with modern furnishings. Very comfortable common area, equipped with WiFi and with very convenient cafe on premises for when you're hungry. Food is relatively cheap compared to everywhere else. Overall, one of the better budget hostels to stay while at Cambridge.

Helpful?
Thank KB5320
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hello KB5320! Thank you very much for the glowing review. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and made good use of our café bar. I'd agree that we offer the best value accommodation in Cambridge and the café and bar prices are also some of the cheapest in the area! We very much look forward to welcoming... More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

I recently stayed at the YHA with 29 school children (aged 13-14). The staff were extremely helpful and very welcoming. They dealt with the inevitable issues that arise on a school trip swiftly and competently and always with a smile. The rooms were spotless and well kept. The food that they provided for our group was exceptional and extremely well... More 

Helpful?
Thank LSN1980
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hello LSN1980, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. I am so pleased that you and your pupils had an enjoyable stay with us. Our groups coordinators and catering team work really hard to make sure you have everything you need and to make sure every aspect of your trip- including food- is organised and... More 

Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

Your room will be tiny and basic, it will also be spotless and in very good overall condition. Facilities in general are excellent, and this being Cambridge it even has bike storage areas at the back of the building so you can lock up your bicycle over night in shelter.

Helpful?
Thank Garry H
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Garry, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm glad that you liked the hostel, we strive to be the best value accommodation in Cambridge and offer much more than just a bed. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cambridge YHA in the future. Kind Regards, Georgina - reception More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

As someone who has never been to a hostel before, YHA certainly didn't disappoint. More suited to the title of hotel than hostel it was just a quick walk to the centre of Cambridge, clean and well equipped, the jar of free Nutella was the cherry on top.

Helpful?
Thank Roisin B
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Roisin, It's so great to hear that this was your first stay in a hostel and we did not disappoint. I'm glad that you found the hostel to be clean and providing everything you needed. I hope you had a great time in Cambridge. Thanks very much for taking the time to leave such a positive review. Best regards,... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

This was the 5th YHA property I've stayed at, the others being Boggle Hole, Edale, Central London and Stratford Upon Avon. This one is just as good as the others, if you've never stayed at a YHA then please don't hesitate. My first ever hostel stay was purely booked because of the price but since then I've fallen in love... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mr_jellybelly_13
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hello Mr_jellybelly_13! Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It's so great to hear that you continue to have a great YHA experience with your family and that you would encourage others to try hostelling! I'm glad that you found everything to be clean and comfortable- that's exactly what we strive for. It's sounds like you made... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

A hostel should be a slightly shabby old building, with no catering and a kitchen. This is the complete opposite - modern, clean, good showers, and comfy beds. Food was good too, after a long cycle and an arrival in darkness I was able to get food just before the kitchen shut - great value. A good selection of beers... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlasdairMc
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hello Alasdair! Thank you for your wonderful review. We are proud that at YHA we are setting the standard for modern hostels! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a world class experience- our team work hard to make the hostel extra special- we are genuinely passionate about meeting the needs of the modern traveller. I'm so glad... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 34 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 34 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.2 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 34 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 1,920 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay at the newly refurbished Cambridge Youth Hostel and spend time in the heart of this lively, historic university town on a cheap city break. Just around the corner from the railway station and a 15 minute walk from the city centre, accommodation at this backpackers' hostel gives you easy access to the colleges, museums and art galleries that have helped make Cambridge famous. Hire a punt, explore the ancient streets and enjoy the city's cycle-friendly routes. YHA Cambridge makes an excellent base for exploring everything that the city is famous for. We offer dormitory accomodation as well as private rooms. As YHA is a Childrens' Charity, if families book directly with us, they get special, lower, family room rates. The brand new Scholars bar and restaurant has a relaxed, vintage feel with its distressed wooden tables and leather chairs - a perfect place to catch up with friends over drinks and nibbles. Delicious meals and bar snacks are available at this licensed hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Cambridge

Address: 97 Tenison Road, Cambridge CB1 2DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: $41 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Youth Hotel Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay