We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Cambridge Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

483 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 463: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Loved my five days stay at Royal Cambridge Hotel. All staff members were polite and courteous. Breakfast had a range of variety. Didnt have the chance to try other meals. Must acknowledge and appreciate excellent help by Mr Chazz, the maintenance engineer of the hotel for a ride to train station in his personal four wheel Pajero. Chazz said he...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anjum A
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anjum A Thank you for the post and I am delighted Mr Chazz was able to step into the breach following the local hackney carriage issues that day. Chazz says you are very welcome and he is outside polishing his pride and joy now. Sincerely

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Breakfast is the best here: everything anyone could wish for from cereals, pastries to a fry-up with my favourite black pudding. The rooms are ok with all anyone could want: nice cotton sheets, fluffy towels, big bath. And there's a lift.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 946JJ19
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 946JJ19 Thank you for the post and the terrific comments regarding our breakfast, good to read. Sincerely

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We visited Cambridge for 2 nights to meet up with our Granddaughter. Unfortunately we did not consider this hotel to be value for money. The decor is tired, the staff were very friendly but the service was not up to standard: we arrived early and were told to go away and come back at 1400 hrs. Parking is a free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George J
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear George J Thank you for the review, albeit a bit mixed. Our check in time as per you reservation details is from 2pm. For early visitors we do offer to store luggage and will contact housekeeping to see if we can get a room ready earlier but we cannot guarantee this, we do have a bar available serving hot...

Ouistreham Riva Bella
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very attractive looking hotel, plenty of parking space. I was looking forward to my two night stay but knowing that I had work to do in the evenings I needed some peace and quiet. Unfortunately it was a weekend and there was what I can only assume was a wedding reception taking place on the Saturday. By 11pm I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia N
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julia N Thank you for the post and I am delighted our location, parking and food was suited to your needs. We did indeed have a wedding taking place and I am sorry the music disturbed you. I will follow up with reception on your comments and please accept my apologies for the way you felt it was handled....

UK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were booked in a twin room for a night and found the hotel to be clean, warm, comfortable with old fashioned charm. I cannot comment on the food as we did not eat in the restaurant which was empty. The staff were helpful, except missing often when we wanted to order drinks. Overall a good location and I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kh21again
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kh21again Thanks for the review and comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed there on business, comfortable room and bed. Good breakfast and a nice fish and chips supper. Most of the staff is helpful, some of them could try to smile a little more, it would make their life more pleasant as well as the customers'.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DelightedLeicester
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DelightedLeicester Thank you for the review and I am delighted overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again. Sincerely

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was staying at this hotel as part of a work contract and must say that the whole experience was a rather disappointing one to say the least. The room itself faced out onto the main road which was also quite noisy throughout the night. The room was also tired and in need of a total overhaul to be brought...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren A
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darren A Thank you for the review and it is a shame you chose to endure the hotel room during your stay without asking at reception if there was an alternative we could move you to. We don't serve T Bone steak however again if you were unhappy with the product give us an opportunity to put it right...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A very dated Hotel that some will argue needs a major refurbishment but we really enjoyed its old time look. Nice and quiet, closet feeling. staff while pleasant but looked like they were just going through the motions with no real enthusiasm for the job they were doing a bit of friendliness wouldn't go a miss, it's ok to smile....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickL66
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NickL66 Thank you for the post and that overall you enjoyed your lunch with us. Being from the North we do like proper gravy but I will ensure the chef thins it out for varied palates. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Emotionally attached to this hotel as family members have always stayed here and had 21st Birthdays and Wedding receptions from the 70's. The lounge area is gorgeous, pretty and comfortable and a lovely place to sit for coffee. I would love to gush about this place as I used to love it but there wasn't a lot to praise really....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank djohnson73
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear djohnson73 Thank you for the post and some constructive comments, it is always nice to read that family members have supported the hotel over the years. I am not going to make a handful of riposte regarding your comments only that I feel it is a touch unfair to be a guest of the bride and groom and then...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We needed to be centrally located to be able to combine a concert in Selwyn with preChristmas shopping. Seeing huge traffic queues made us realize what a good choice we had made. We had an ideal location and were comfortable and well looked after.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PapaG61
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PapaG61 Thank you for the review, I am pleased our location was ideal for your visit to Cambridge and that you were well looked after by the team Sincerely

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

228 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (62)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double 211 (23)
Viewed
Kingsize Suite 203 (21)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Single 109 (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Twin 210 (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 35 in Cambridge
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 35 in Cambridge
1,514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 35 in Cambridge
2,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 35 in Cambridge
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: $104 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Royal Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Hertford, United Kingdom
Heywood, England, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for one a couple of floors up and away from the party area which can be very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 946JJ19, 4 days ago | Read review
“I had room 119 - lots of room for luggage, great TV, lots of workspace also”
 of 5 bubbles victoriao238, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“just don't go there”
 of 5 bubbles pip2go, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room away from the front”
 of 5 bubbles maureen146, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one overlooking the car park”
 of 5 bubbles Loxer, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay