We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 371: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I only spent a night in this Hilton following a night out with friends, I was overall very happy with the hotel. Clean, tidy, modern, well equipped and very polite, professional staff. As above, make sure you use the valet parking as the local parking is limited and very expensive. I would stay there again without a second thought.

Helpful?
Thank DanGiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Found hotel on Booking.com. Rang to confirm requirements before booking, late meal, late bar. Was told restaurant was open late, and bar was 24hr for residents. All seemed ok, so rather than book a budget hotel we booked the Hilton. Arrived at hotel, as advised. No dinner as restaurant was shut. Bar meal was inedible and only after asking more... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Mark G, Thank you for your review and feedback following your recent stay with us. Whilst I appreciate the feedback, and am very disappointed with my team that you were unsatisfied with our service & product, I feel we could have perhaps made the experience better for you if we had the chance to apologise & make it right.... More 

Norwich, Eng
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

One of the main reasons we chose this was because of the valet parking. The hotel was excellent in every respect, as you would expect because it is not cheap. A little disappointed that early on a Saturday they had run out of olives for a martina costing not far off ten pounds, but that's a small thing. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank relaaxed
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear relaxed, Thank you very much for your review! I am pleased to hear you had a wonderful overall experience in our hotel! We really appreciate all feedback as it allows us to recognise our team. I have shared your comments about the olives with the bar team and will work to ensure we don't run out so quickly next... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I visit here about every 6 weeks. The room is comfortable and well appointed. The staff is very capable. The overnight room service is something I use almost every trip. It's located in the heart of town next to shopping and some good restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank John H
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear John H, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review following your earlier stay with us. It was a delight to read that you visit the hotel so often and always enjoy a comfortable and pleasant stay here. I very much look forward to welcoming you back with us soon. All the best, Richard. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hilton City Centre offers a pretty standard Hilton experience, right in the heart of Cambridge. The room was clean and comfortable. The wifi worked reliably throughout. The breakfast buffet was of the expected standard. A modern property, the building is a little soulless- but fortunately you are but minutes away from Cambridge's historic centre making it ideal for tourism... More 

Helpful?
Thank aber_james
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear aber_james, Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and in particular enjoyed our unrivalled location in the very heart of Cambridge. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Cambridge in the near future. With regards, Richard. More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Popped in for a rest and welcome pot of tea. It was a good opportunity to check it out for future stays. It is lovely with a lovely open area which houses Reception, restaurant and bar. There were a vast quantity of open seating areas but each group arranged to feel like its own little area. We sat overlooking the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Lynda H, Thank you so much for popping in and I am glad you had the opportunity to escape the shopping crowds and rest in our Lounge 'oasis'. We look forward to seeing you again and hope the shopping goes well. All the best, Richard. More 

Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
529 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here, and booked as a Hilton Honours guest. We arrived around mid-day and were promptly told that yes our rooms were ready, but if we wanted a key before 3.00 pm, then it would be another £20!!!!!!!. We thought that this was outragous as well as rediculous, as coming back at 3.00pm not only was an inconvenience to... More 

Helpful?
Thank freddy067
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear freddy067, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.com following your earlier stay with us. I was delighted to learn that you found our unrivalled location an ideal base for your trip, that you enjoyed our dining options and that the team looked after you. I very much look forward to welcoming you back with... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been a guest of the Hilton Cambridge City Hotel for the past 3 weeks. Put simply, this Hotel redefines customer service because it is outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble for this large Hotel. The amenity is good, it is quiet, the beds are very comfortable and the bar and restaurant are all very accessible and of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank damian f
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear damian f, Thank you so much for being our guest and for we really appreciate the kind comments. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your stay with us. Please note that our Executive Lounge is currently under construction which we are all very excited about. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. With regards, Richard. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went there just before it became a Hilton. Lovely hotel and ideally situated in the city within walking distance of the campus or an easy taxi or bus ride. Had an incident in which my delivery to the hotel disappeared somehow. Hotel, thankfully refunded. Good impression.

Helpful?
Thank KamalMamat
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear kamalumbai, Thank you so much for your great review! We are so happy to read that you had such a positive experience at our hotel. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back soon! All the best, Richard. More 

Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is one of the best I have stayed at the hotel is beautiful and the staff are all really friendly and make you feel very special they obviously enjoy there jobs the room was spotless and the bed was fantastic slept like babies

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Vonny2718
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Vonny2718, Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel and had a great experience! Next time, we invite you to book directly through Hilton.com and you’ll save even more with our exclusive HHonors discounts and great benefits like free standard WIFI. Happy travelling and thank again! Richard. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 35 in Cambridge
2,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 35 in Cambridge
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 35 in Cambridge
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 35 in Cambridge
795 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#7 of 35 in Cambridge
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hilton Cambridge City Centre is superbly located at the heart of the city, an ideal base to explore the many attractions on our doorstep, fantastic shopping, cobbled streets, amazing architecture, historic and stunning colleges and not forgetting the River Cam flowing gently along the 'backs.' This modern 4-star hotel is a 5-minute walk from Kings College, Cambridge Corn Exchange and the bus station. 10-minutes' walk takes guests to peaceful riverside parks and pubs. Travel to Ely or historic market towns such as St Ives or Huntingdon. Newmarket Races hosts some of the racing calendars most prestigious racing programmes. Imperial War Museum at Duxford home of the World War II Museum, Concorde, and other famous planes such as Spitfire and Lancaster bomber. All 198 of the stylish, contemporary air-conditioned rooms and suites offer free Wi-Fi. Together with self-contained conference and event facilities, guests of our 4 star Cambridge Hotel also benefit from on-site Valet car parking and fitness room. Guests can enjoy seasonal British dishes in the The Book Room Restaurant. The Book Room Bar offers an extensive wine, spirit and cocktail menu as well as Afternoon Tea. For those seeking more of a casual dining experience, we offer lighter bites and snacks in the lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Address: 20 Downing Street, Cambridge CB2 3DT, England (Formerly Cambridge City Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: $144 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Cambridge
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cambridge
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hilton Cambridge City Centre staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Tyrone, N.Ireland
over a year ago
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Peterborough, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Cambridge City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Didn't stay just pooped in for drinks”
 of 5 bubbles LyndaH749, 1 week ago | Read review
“Some rooms look over internal courtyards/atrium - may not be good for claustrophes!”
 of 5 bubbles redgraverose, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Views at the front of the hotel are great”
 of 5 bubbles TheLittleEstonian, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for an upgrade if possible. I was provided one without asking.”
 of 5 bubbles nelsons989, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for upper floor away from Irish Bar at Street Level.”
 of 5 bubbles Kildress, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay