We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clifton Lodge Hotel

210 West Wycombe Road, High Wycombe HP12 3AR, England
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clifton Lodge Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You most certainly get what you pay for! The hotel is very dated and run down. The kitchen has most certainly seen better days, as has the dining room. I overheard a conversation with other guests who were trying to order dinner, most of what they asked for was not available. One asked for lasagne, which was on the menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
Clif1, Manager at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback.Sorry that something was not available on the menu.It is not always possible to offer all the items listed on the menu. The rooms have just been renovated and some areas in the public area have been painted and fitted with retro furniture and fittings.This probably might not appeal to your taste. However it matches the... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Although my wife and I only stayed for one night, we found the whole experience very pleasant. The room and ensuite were very well presented and extremely clean. Plenty of off-road parking. All the staff were polite and helpful...nothing too much trouble. Simon the chef dished up a very respectable evening meal and breakfast. All in all we would definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank G
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

Arrived at the hotel and was met be the only employee working that evening, who made a good effort juggling jobs, and booked me into my single room efficiently. I asked him if the restaurant was open for food, and although it was, he was so busy he had a queue waiting to be served, and recommended I walk into... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael T

Travelers are raving about these High Wycombe hotels

Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

Only stayed there for one night. The was room ok. Nothing special. Nice bathroom and a comfortable bed. And although the room was at the front of the hotel there was hardly any noise from the busy road outside. Staff at the reception where pleasant enough. Getting out of the hotel grounds was fairly difficult with the busy road being... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dean G
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

We arrived on the 29th.the odour in the room was aweful.the kitchen extractor fan was outside our room.nail clippings on the floor,old finger plaster and a dirty valance sheet.after a very long day we just wanted to sleep.the next morning no staff around.spent the day working and got back again no staff.kept awake by staff chatting in the kitchen then... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel A
Clif1, Manager at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your second comment Apologies if there was some misunderstanding about your condition. We ensure that our rooms are cleaned to a high standard and were surprised about your comments. The rooms are double checked before a guest arrives. We have already informed you that the extractor was not on. Our staff are always available in the day... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

We stayed one night at the August Bank Holiday (Saturday), we were given room 1A, on the ground floor in another building across from the main part of the hotel. First off, we opened the door OK, but spent about 20 mins trying to get the key out of the door, but couldn't get it out. We went back to... More 

Helpful?
Thank vghill
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

This hotel is a mile or so from the centre of High Wycombe on a main road that is poorly served by public transport. But it does have a large car park. It has an annexe next door which looks like another converted house. It certainly isn't a de-luxe hotel but the price I paid reflected that. The room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank iffley094
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 via mobile

First time here.... and last, will definitely not return and I certainly will never recommend this place to anyone. To start, our room was above the kitchen, at midnight we could here the staff banging about chatting and being noisy, they may not realise this so perhaps the management should advise??!! Then we have the awful smell of the kitchens... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron A
Clif1, Manager at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for written comments We were sorry that you did not enjoy your 4 day stay this rather cold wet bank holiday. We were obviously aware of your wifes heavy pregnant condition and your apparent depressed state and made sure that no extractors were turned on to disturb you. The staff were concerned about your condition and stressed behaviour... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015 via mobile

Staying for one night and on approach looked ok, entered our room and it's ok, it's not the worst but not the best but ok to get your head down. We went to have some food at there restaurant and I seen rump steak on the menu and was described as 8oz rump with chips, mushrooms and seasonal veg, full... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mrsubway
Clif1, Manager at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments again. We were pleased that the room was satisfactory for you. We apologise for the overcooked steak. The staff prepared another one for you but that was still not too your liking. Fresh Vegetables available that night were fresh carrots, fresh parsnips and fresh leeks.These could have be ordered instead of peas. Prices of food... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

We attended an afternoon party at the hotel recently. The garden and grounds are well maintained and make for a lovely setting for a summer party. All the staff tried hard to make the occasion a success and could not have been more helpful. A great BBQ was served along with some excellent and tasty salads. Mass catering meant that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bea_K186223
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these High Wycombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in High Wycombe
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe Central Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Fox Country Inn
The Fox Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ibstone
3.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Abbey Lodge Hotel
#8 of 16 in High Wycombe
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay