We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clifton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Clifton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 518: English reviews
Derbyshire UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I had booked the Clifton without a lot of research, as we know this area of Bristol and only wanted to stay one night. I then read a lot of quite negative reviews and wondered if I'd made a mistake. We decided to go anyway and were glad we did! There were a few idiosyncrasies - for instance, the (excellent)... More 

Helpful?
Thank One-n-Den
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When we got to the hotel I was disappointed with the size of the room and the headboard fell down before even getting into bed. However, when I told the receptionist about it she moved us to another room which was bigger inside. Due to the headboard falling down prior, we were told that we could have anything from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank siancl
Jamie-Lee P, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear siancl, Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel. I am so pleased to read that you had a good stay. I am so sorry that the headboard fell off the wall, once you reported this to reception it was dealt with immediately and I do hope that you were not harmed. I am... More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here last night - This place has the capacity to be a decent hotel but it seems they haven't updated it in far far too long. After walking through the airy reception to the rooms through a door - you are hit by a wall of muggy dense heat which follows you all the way to your room (at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire C
Jamie-Lee P, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claire C, I am so disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at The Clifton Hotel. I am very sorry that there was not a fan available for you, I will order some more today to ensure they are always readily available. I am pleased to read that the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A colleague booked this hotel due to a last minute meeting, can honestly say it was just horrific. In need of restoration is an understatement, more like re building. Dirty, dark, depressing with single beds, filthy corridors, no hot water and questionable bed sheets. As we arrived late in the evening we had no choice but to stay and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank DisapointedBlueSea
Jamie-Lee P, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DisapointedBlueSea, I am so disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We usually receive very positive comments regarding our high cleanliness standards so I was surprised to read your comments. Most of our guests enjoy the complimentary fruit and hospitality tray which is refreshed daily. Our reception team is always on hand to help... More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Clifton Hotel welcomed me and my dogs with open arms. All our wishes were catered for. Top knotch accommodation and food and the location was perfect. Maps provided by staff enabled us to explore local space including Banksi art!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pipolata2015
Jamie-Lee P, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pipolata2015, I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your time at The Clifton Hotel and found our team to be welcoming and helpful. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the food in Racks Bar & Kitchen and found us to be ideally located for your time in Bristol. We hope to welcome you back to... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Paid extra to have an executive single with a fridge. I arrive and the room is tiny, directly next to the air vent, so nice, loud buzzing included. My room did not have a fridge unlike stated on the website and upon inquiry I was informed that not all executive singles have a fridge, only certain ones (and upon request... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janina T
Jamie-Lee P, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janina T, I am very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your room. It is true that we only have fridges in some of our executive rooms, I will be having them put into all of our executive singles rooms by the end of this year. I will check our website to ensure that it says that... More 

Midlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this hotel, for business, on 25th May, for a stay on 26th July, so you may be as surprised as I was when, on arrival, I was told "we have booked you out to another hotel as we are full"! On reflection I should have just accepted this, the replacement hotel couldn't have been any worse than my... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeicsPotter
Jamie-Lee P, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LeicsPotter, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Clifton Hotel. As we are a listed building our rooms do vary in size and shape throughout the hotel and our reception team are always more than happy to offer you a room move if you are not completely satisfied with your allocated... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reserved a family room a few months prior with Jack who was lovely and made it easy to book. Enjoyed a lovely stay at the hotel. Large room, and practical location in Clifton (less than 5 minutes walk to the centre of Clifton Village).

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty L
Jamie-Lee P, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty L, I am so pleased to read that you had a lovely stay with us! It is great to hear that Jack made the booking process nice and easy for you, I am sure he will be pleased to read your comments. We are indeed in a great location, close to Clifton Village and the city center. We... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room small and poorly designed - had to close bathroom door to open wardrobe. Clean but public spaces needed updating. I have never received such a badly organised breakfast. Everyone in the room had to wait an hour to be served. Buffet consisted of cereals. Too expensive for this poor quality. Hotel location good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Claire R
Jamie-Lee P, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claire R, I am very sorry that you found your room to be small, as a listed building our rooms do vary in size and shape throughout the hotel and we are always more than happy to offer a room move if a guest is not completely satisfied with their room. I am very disappointed to hear that you... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

Location in Clifton is good and the staff very friendly/helpful, but otherwise nothing going for this hotel. Shower very weak, they replaced the shower head, but still poor. Decor very dull, cafe downstairs very uninspiring and breakfast was appalling. All in all very poor quality and definitely not good value for money AT ALL.

Helpful?
Thank stephen061959
Jamie-Lee P, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stephen061959, I am so pleased to read that you found our team to be helpful and friendly. I am very sorry that you found the shower to be weak, I will certainly have our maintenance team look into this. I am disappointed that you found the décor to be dull. You will be pleased to hear that we are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.0 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#30 of 34 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#25 of 34 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berkeley Square Hotel
Berkeley Square Hotel
#29 of 34 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#28 of 34 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#20 of 34 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ibis Bristol Centre
#17 of 34 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 stars 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clifton Hotel is situated in an ideal location for visiting Bristol within walking distance of both Clifton Village and the City Centre. A small and independent hotel part of the Clifton Hotels Group we provide clean and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We welcome guests with a smile priding ourselves in providing levels of customer service that were mentioned in our recent AA report as being of five star standards. We hope that guests enjoy the relaxed café reception area and our busy and vibrant restaurant Racks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: St. Pauls Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $69 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay