We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Washington

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Washington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

523 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 495: English reviews
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very pleasant stay at the Washington for the Harbourside Festival 14/18 July.Rooms a little tired and in need of modernisation,but clean tidy and very comfortable beds.Breakfast menu choice excellent and standard of food good.Staff a delight,friendly courteous and helpful ....would definitely use again.TC.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank anthonycH4355EK
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear anthonycH4355EK, We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Washington. Our maintenance team is doing their best to update the rooms and housekeeping team works hard to keep them clean tidy. We are also happy that you appreciated our breakfast quality and found the staff delight, friendly courteous and helpful. I hope that we... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in a room close to the reception area. It may have been room 14 or 15 - a twin room. A member of staff seemed to find my surname amusing upon checkin which was not the most professional start in my opinion. Being near the reception did lead to a slightly noisy room. The room itself looked in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan C
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Alan C, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this helpful feedback. I firstly want to sincerely apologise on behalf of the receptionist who took amusement at your name - this is indeed very unprofessional and I will be following this up with a serious conversation. I am very sorry to hear that you found your room... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here recently with a friend as we were attending Bristol harbour festival. Arriving the receptionist was very nice and told us how to get a bus into the harbour or walk. The rooms are VERY dated, the walls have newer paint over older paint in parts, chunks missing out of the wall etc. it could really do with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalie1864
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Natalie1864, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us this review and for the helpful feedback you have given us. I am glad to hear that you had a warm welcome from our staff here at The Washington. I do amit that the room you were in could do with a repaint - we have our painter coming... More 

Holsworthy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the friendly reception staff to the delicious breakfasts a very pleasant stay indeed. Room was clean and well equipped. I had worried that perhaps due to my limited budget I might not get the quality but I did!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bowerfarm
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear bowerfam, Thank you so much for this excellent review - it has really made my day! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed every element of your stay with us; from the room, to the breakfast and the service of our wonderful staff. Do come back and stay with us again soon as we would really love to... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Look past the creaky floors, squeaky doors, old fittings, and low pressure shower. That's all "character". We found friendly, helpful staff, a comfortable bed and excellent location. We only paid 6 pound/day for off-street parking. Good value.

Helpful?
Thank Noel B
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Hi Noel B Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. Our Guest House is a listed building, we do our best to update all the decoration as much as possible and we are under ongoing refurbishment. We are changing our carpets, re-painting rooms, updating bathrooms and much more, however we are trying to still keep the character... More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I frequently travel to Bristol on Business and have found the Washington to be an excellent base, with good rates, basic but comfortable rooms and helpful staff. Alexandra the receptionist went out of her way to help me sort out bookings for future trips which was most helpful and a great help

Helpful?
Thank nicklester2016
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Hi nicklester2016 Thank You for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm so glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay. I do certainly agree with you that our Guest House is offering very good rates and that the rooms are very comfortable, our housekeeping goes over and beyond to make sure the rooms are... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great welcome and service. The personnel was very helpful. The rooms were very clean. The neighborhood was very quiet at night and the public transportation was very handy and accessible. Overall our stay was very satisfying.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Romeo S
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Romeo S, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this excellent review - it is always so encouraging hearing from people who thoroughly enjoyed their time with us. I am glad you found your room clean, our staff friendly and our location perfect for your trip! Do come back and visit us again soon as... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked the washington as it was a good price, had private parking (£6 a night - cheaper than the city carparks) and offered a triple room and breakfast. Our trip to Bristol was for a gig in the O2 in the city centre, its about a 20 minute walk and really easy to find. The Wahsingtons in Clifton which... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank applebykim78
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear applebykim78, Thank you so much for this 5 star review! It has really bought a smile to my face reading it - your experience is the one that we would love all our guests to have! Thank you for your kind words about our staff - this will really mean alot to them. We hope to see you back... More 

Ripon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The Washington after going down to Bristol to visit some friends. We were only using it as a cheap base (though it wasn't really that cheap but was the cheapest we could find). You do get what you pay for but as it was still more than I would consider to be a budget price I do... More 

Helpful?
Thank littleladylemon
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear littleladylemon, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us this thorough review. We really do appreciate feedback from our guests so that we know the specific areas we need to improve on. I am very pleased to hear how friendly you found our staff - they are such a great asset to our guesthouse. I am glad you... More 

Accrington
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a long journey to Bristol from Lancashire. Received a warm welcome from the receptionist on arrival. We had a fantastic night with family and friends, the hotel is situated in a great location for city centre and the Clifton village area. Had a lovely quiet room (no 3) until the following morning! Only to discover we were right next... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank suepea1
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear suepea1, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this detailed review. I am so glad that you had an excellent visit to the beautiful city of Bristol and that The Washington was good base for your trip. Room 3 is a lovely bright room - one of my favourites actually! I am so sorry to hear about... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (102)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#33 of 34 in Bristol
3.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#25 of 34 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berkeley Square Hotel
Berkeley Square Hotel
#29 of 34 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#28 of 34 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#20 of 34 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ibis Bristol Centre
#19 of 34 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Washington offers City accommodation in the heart of Clifton. We combine both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget: quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a Full English or Continental breakfast, bowl of fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value Guest House in Bristol.Whatever your reason for visiting, our friendly and efficient reception team is always on hand to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. No matter how long you spend with us, whether it is one day or one month, the Washington's home-from-home atmosphere will perfectly harmonize with your time in the city. Guests at the Washington have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars on their very doorstep, with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Cafe Clifton merely a few steps away, and the busy Whiteladies road nearby. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Washington

Address: 11 -15 St Paul's Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $72 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Bristol
Washington Hotel Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay