We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Berkeley Square Hotel

Save
Share
15 Berkeley Square Clifton, Bristol BS8 1HB England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com$132
eDreams$132
Travelocity$119
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (318)
Room & Suite (161)
Dining (23)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 11/26/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/26/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#33 of 45 hotels in Bristol
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Located in Clifton in the heart of Bristol, The Berkeley Square Hotel offers a warm welcome and is the perfect place to be able to explore the city. Just a few minutes away from the iconic Clifton Suspension Bridge, Bristol Museum and Art Gallery, the University of Bristol and all of Bristol’s unique central attractions, book your room now to enjoy the fabulous Berkeley Square. All of our rooms come with complimentary tea, coffee, fresh fruit and delicious biscuits to really treat yourself during your stay. The Berkeley is also home to the award winning restaurant, The Square, and houses a delightful speakeasy style cocktail bar with a hidden terrace garden. The Berkeley Suites are located just around the corner from the hotel and are a perfect luxury escape from the bustling city centre. The Berkeley Hotel is offering guests the option to check in and out online so that all you need to do is collect your key, minimising the time you spend at reception. Furthermore their 24 hour reception team is always on hand to help and complimentary wi-fi throughout your stay, make The Berkeley Square Hotel part of your visit to the West Country’s most exciting city!
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Parking garage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
893Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 272
  • 236
  • 176
  • 129
  • 80
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
mikeob2016 wrote a review Sep 2021
Lewes, United Kingdom58 contributions20 helpful votes
The room was small but adequate. The website advertises food available until 10pm but when I arrived at 8:30pm I was told the kitchen had closed @ no food was available. I wouldn’t have booked this hotel if I had known that The breakfast was good. The shower water was too hot & seemed impossible to cool
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Jesus Benitez Romero, Guest Services / Front Office at The Berkeley Square Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good evening Mikeob2016, Thank you very much for the feedback, this is really appreciated. I am sorry to hear about the dinner, I know that our last booking is for 8:30pm so I will bring this up to the restaurant manager so he can look at that and at any possible error in the timings on the website. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast though. I will also report the issue about the shower so maintenance can have a look at that. Thank you for taking the time to write the review, this is very important to us. Kind regards,
Read more
Keith R wrote a review Sep 2021
Colchester, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Paid nearly £200 for one night, the room was boiling despite the windows being open all night. The building is old and the doors are loud when they bang shut. There was a wedding when we stayed and so the party went on til around 1am, then people were outside until about 2am. The person nextdoor to our room locked himself out twice once at 3am and once at 5am, not the hotels fault, but the second time the receptionist decided to quiz him as to how and why he kept doing it, outside our room. The bathroom was very tired with black mold and the shower had a few rogue jets that flooded the floor when running. The room was small with a decent bed, chair and desk. Breakfast wasn’t included so we went elsewhere. Upon checkout the receptionist didn’t bother to ask how the stay was (person she knew/guessed. Location is good, but I wouldnt recommend the hotel despite the fact we were only there from midnight to 9am,
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: There are some suites round the corner that might be quieter.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jesus Benitez Romero, Guest Services / Front Office at The Berkeley Square Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good afternoon Keithr349, Thank you very much for your feedback, this is really appreciated. I am really sorry to hear that your stay wasn't very positive. When it comes to the tiredness of the rooms we are currently undergoing the process of renovating them. Unfortunately this is proving to be a slow process, but hopefully this will be already done when it comes to your next visit if you decide to give us a try again. When it comes to the receptionist issues, I am really sorry, we are currently undergoing through a massive recruitment process and most of the receptionists are in training. I will make sure that this is brought up and trained to all of them as this is something that shouldn't have happened. I will also bring up to management the noise issues you experienced. I am glad that you liked the location of the hotel though. Kind regards, Have a lovely day
Read more
Xaarist wrote a review Sep 2021
Huntingdon, United Kingdom103 contributions61 helpful votes
Nice hotel, rooms were warm and functional. very friendly staff, especially restaurant staff. But, looks old and dated. In need of a coat of paint and bathroom revamp. Great location for exploring Bristol in easy walking of museum and several bars and restaurants. Clifton suspension bridge was a nice 20 minute walk away through some very interesting architecture. Love the way Bristol have embraced new and old each compliment the other
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jesus Benitez Romero, Guest Services / Front Office at The Berkeley Square Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Xaarist, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, this is really important for us. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that it was a convenient location for you. Regarding the look of the hotel, we are currently in the process of doing some refurbishment so this should address your concerns if you wish to come back in the future to see these improvements. Thank you very much. Best wishes,
Read more
Tia wrote a review Sep 2021
Paphos, Cyprus1 contribution
5/5 Great location , you can walk to the center and it is also near to a bus station. All the common areas and the room were very clean. The breakfast was amazing. All the staff and especially the receptions, Diana ,Lucy and Jesús were amazing , very helpful and kind.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Jesus Benitez Romero, Guest Services / Front Office at The Berkeley Square Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear GoPlaces67438314547, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, this is really appreciated. I am very glad to hear that you had such a positive stay. Thank you very much for mentioning the cleanliness of the rooms, I will make sure the housekeeping team knows about this, as it is not common for them to receive some positive feedback. I will also ensure that I will pass on your kind words to Diana, Lucy and Jesus. Thank you very much and see you again soon. Best Wishes,
Read more
Ben S wrote a review Sep 2021
10 contributions4 helpful votes
Lovely little hotel. The night manager couldn’t do enough for me when I needed a toothbrush earplugs and a charger! The breakfast (Huevos Rancheros) was delicious and I had particularly good service from Beatrice. Highly recommend these nice people and this well designed place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Parking is poor but that’s Bristol for you
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jesus Benitez Romero, Guest Services / Front Office at The Berkeley Square Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Bentropy, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, this is really appreciated. I am very glad you had a nice experience in our hotel, as this is what we try to accomplish. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your Huevos Rancheros and will pass on this to the chef. I will also make sure that Beatrice gets this lovely feedback and that it will be really appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Berkeley Square Hotel. Warm wishes,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$70 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
berkeley square bristol, hotel berkeley square
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBristol
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Berkeley Square Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Berkeley Square Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Wills Memorial Building (0.10 miles), Cabot Tower (0.10 miles), and The Red Lodge Museum (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Berkeley Square Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Berkeley Square Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Berkeley Square Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Berkeley Square Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moltobuono, The Coconut Tree Bristol Clifton Triangle, and Krishna's Inn.
Is The Berkeley Square Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Bristol.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Berkeley Square Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Berkeley Square Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Berkeley Square Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting John Wesley's Chapel & New Room Museum (0.8 miles), St Mary Redcliffe Church (0.9 miles), and Cabot Tower (0.10 miles).