We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Save
Share
Broad Street, Bristol BS1 2EL England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$86
Free cancellation until 12/11/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$76
Free cancellation until 12/11/22
Hotels.com
$86
Free cancellation until 12/11/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline$84
Travelocity$86
Hurb$91
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (595)
Room & Suite (205)
Dining (53)

About

#41 of 48 hotels in Bristol
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.7
Value
3.5
The Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel is a magnificent Victorian building in the heart of Bristol, close to the city's Temple Meads railway station. The Grand Hotel is an elegant, convenient base from which to explore Bristol's rich history. Local attractions include Brunel's engineering masterpieces, the ancient cathedral, and one of the region's finest shopping malls.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking garage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish
1357Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 319
  • 323
  • 294
  • 233
  • 188
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
dupeyabu wrote a review Nov 2022
Hammamet, Tunisia517 contributions169 helpful votes
I have stayed at this hotel three or four times over the last 10 years or so (which I suppose says something). We are now planning another visit in January and starting to think about a hotel in central Bristol. Quite frankly, I don't think the many very negative reviews I have skimmed through are justified, but one of the main issues for me last time was there was almost nowhere to store clothes. Did they actually use a hotel designer to plan the rooms? I can see in other reviews, this often comes up as an issue - and important if you are staying more than a night or two. Also if like me you are an Accor member, it is so frustrating trying to work out how to book on their site, that I've tried twice recently and given up. I got an email from Accor - something about a $40 discount and clicked on the link which took me to the normal booking platform with nothing about this member discount. It is also unclear exactly how you use your points to pay - as far as I understand you can use member points towards the bill but this time and last time we stayed, I couldn't see how to do this. However, you do get a discount if you are a member, so that's at least something. Location was a big thing for us being almost in St Nick's Market and a 5 minute walk from the shopping area - but also now considering one or two other hotels in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Claire S wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom
We stayed in this hotel back in the time when it was called Thistle Grand hotel, so we chose it again for our Holiday in Bristol. The hotel has changed a bit, but it’s still a nice place. The location is perfect for shopping and restaurants. Staff is still friendly and helpful. Our check in was quick and smooth, and the guy (Victor) gave us a really nice room. Breakfast was quite decent as well. We will choose this hotel if we come to Bristol again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi there, Thanks so much for reviewing your stay. It's great to welcome back a guest after all this time and we are thrilled that our location and service still hits the mark for you. We look forward to your next visit. Cheers, Mahesh Jay General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FatAl2013 wrote a review Nov 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom48 contributions32 helpful votes
Hotel itself is OK. Lots of carpet stains in the he room but otherwise fine. The issue is the staff who are just rude. I had a problem which the guy did fix but he was dismissive and patronising when a simple apology would have been appropriate. Also, Lift broken for a couple of days with seemingly no interest in whether it was fixed or when.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi there, Thanks for the taking the time to share your review. While it's great to learn you were satisfied with our hotel, we're sorry not everything got full marks on this occasion. We're sorry that you felt you didn't receive the friendly and helpful service expected from our team; we'll be sure to look into this. Also, we'd like to apologise that our lift was having maintenance work carried out on it during your stay, and regret any inconvenience caused. Additionally, rest assured we value your feedback, and your remarks have been noted and passed on to the correct department. We hope you'll come back for a better experience in the future. Cheers, Mahesh Jay General manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Warwick wrote a review Nov 2022
South Wales, United Kingdom15 contributions3 helpful votes
The outer appearance of the hotel is reflected in its title, "Grand", it is an enormous imposing "old" style building. The inside however has recently been refurbished in a very modern, and easy on the eye, pleasing way. The rooms match the trend of the rest of the inner hotel. They have minimum and mostly adequate lighting, except for the desk/workspace which I think should have its own dedicated light. However, this is easily rectified by moving one of the free standing lamps. The heating/air conditioning unit is very responsive and is by far the best I have experienced in years of travel. The real secret to the atmosphere of any hotel in my opinion is the staff. Every member of staff we met was very helpful, warm and welcoming. You get the sense that they are proud of their hotel and wish to ensure that you enjoy the very best the hotel has to offer. We felt that we were welcomed into the Grand Hotel "family". We shall definitely return for other breaks in the future. Thank you, Grand Hotel and all its staff.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi there, Thanks so much for giving us your opinion of your stay. It's such a pleasure to know that you had a perfect stay and liked our style. We're also really happy that our amazing staff made a lasting impression. Thank you for your kind words; we'll be sure to let our team know how much of an impact they had on your visit. We hope to see you next time you are in Bristol. All the best, Mahesh Jay General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adam S wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Great location and brilliant service! Friendly staff and comfortable stay. Roi and Nur were very accommodating and made me feel welcome. I also had a friendly room upgrade which was much appreciated. I would stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Amazing location
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for such a positive review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and that our hotel met your expectations. It’s rewarding to receive your positive feedback about the friendly and professional service you received from our team members who always aim to deliver the best experience possible to all our guests. We would love to see you again. Take care, Mahesh Jay General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex B wrote a review Nov 2022
Speedy fast check in. Service was great from the staff. The room was standard. Bed was comfy. Location of the hotel is spot on, nice restaurants and not very far walk from the shopping street and the Christmas markets
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for such a positive review of your stay with us. Thank you for acknowledging our team members who work hard to ensure that we deliver the best service and always meet your expectations. It is rewarding to know that you also appreciated our convenient location. We hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable visit. Best wishes, Mahesh Jay General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven T wrote a review Nov 2022
Plus points first. Great city centre location and the staff on duty at breakfast were lovely. But the rest of our experience was well below expectation. We had paid extra for a privilege room but the one we were allocated had a safe and a telephone that were out of order. The receptionist moved us to a different room. I reminded her that we had paid extra for a privilege room. She told us the new room was privilege. It most certainly was not when we got there. At least when we complained to the manager, we were given a refund and charged for an ordinary room. The room was cold, damp and dark. One of the two lifts was out of order on our arrival. On our departure four days later it was still out of order. Our room was not cleaned or serviced on the first day of our stay despite me having a conversation with the cleaner that morning before we left the hotel and having the correct sign on the door. The buffet breakfast was below average for the price of this hotel. Scrambled eggs were inedible, one morning the orange juice was obviously watered down and the continental breakfast options were limited and seemingly from the supermarket cheap options. Overpriced and in need of a proper management system. Send for Alex Polizzi! Until she has been, avoid this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Steven, Thanks for giving us your thoughts on your recent stay. It is great to know that you enjoyed our city location, but we're sorry to hear that you weren't entirely satisfied. Moreover, we regret that not everything was as you'd hoped with your room, however, we are glad that our team sorted this out for you. Furthermore, our rooms are usually serviced daily and we are sorry if this was not the case and for any misunderstanding. We'll be discussing this with our housekeeping team. Additionally, we regret that breakfast wasn't to your liking and have noted your comments which will be passed on to our chef. We value your feedback; our prices are regularly monitored to ensure we remain highly competitive in our market and have noted your comments in this regard. We hope you'll come back for a better stay soon. Cheers, Mahesh Jay General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rachismall wrote a review Nov 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom93 contributions70 helpful votes
Website states check in is 1.30pm. Arrived at 1.45pm to be told room not ready until 3pm. Went for a drink and waited, went back to reception at 3pm to be told room still not ready. When I asked why they advertise earlier time and condescending concierge told me all hotels in the UK have rooms ready after 3pm, and which website had I looked at as there are different ones so I may have looked at wrong one, he was dismissive and disinterested, I told him not to patronise me. Room was cold and small. Wardrobe was a pole across a unit, not long enough to hang dress on. Kettle underneath where you hang your clothes. Only one lift worked through all 3 days. There were on all levels stairs despite lifts so having to pull heavy suitcases. No offer of help. Key to room stopped working on second day as system only registered one night stay despite staying 3. Key stopped working on 3 occasions, each time having to go to reception to report it. Attended a conference for 2 days, room was freezing. Food terrible Quality. limited hot options, hardly any meat on sandwiches, tea and coffee ran out very quickly. Staff couldn’t seem to cope with amount of delegates. Staff inexperienced. It felt very much like they were trying to make a profit and were cutting corners.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Don’t book
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to share a review. We regret to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and that your room didn't hit the mark for you. We do have rooms of different categories and sizes and our team would be very happy to assist you in choosing one entirely to suit your needs, subject to availability. We're sorry for any delay at check-in, unfortunately, this can happen during busy times, we also apologise for any issue with your key and we will be addressing this with our team. Additionally, it seems you felt your dining experience wasn't up to scratch. Our dinner choices are carefully selected to please all guests' tastes, however, we are constantly trying to improve to ensure we match our guests' expectations and welcome your suggestions. Rest assured we have noted all your feedback and will be considering it carefully. We hope you will return for an improved experience in the future. All the best, Mahesh Jay General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam F wrote a review Nov 2022
Emersons Green, United Kingdom199 contributions41 helpful votes
When using the hotel car park damage was done to my car due to a maintenance issue (a cable fell & scratched across my roof) I told the reception team so they could get maintenance to fix it before anyone else’s car got damaged & they gave me contact details for the general manager to discuss claiming for damage repairs. This happened in August 2021. I sent a quote for the work not long after the incident & was ignored. Then months later I was asked to obtain a new quote as the prices may have changed due to the original quote being so old. So I did that & sent it over on March 2nd 2022. Since then I have not heard anything back from the hotel at all. I have emailed countless times, phoned to speak to Raj Singh & Mahesh Jay approximately 10-15 times a week & let my name & number for a call back at least 30 times. The lack of response is appalling. I can see both Raj & Mahesh have replied to reviews here, so I’m left hoping they will see this & actually get in touch with me.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Emma L wrote a review Nov 2022
Praze-An-Beeble, United Kingdom64 contributions11 helpful votes
Just stayed for 1 night. The hotel downstairs is nice, modern and clean. Staff are friendly and welcoming. The location is perfect for the city centre and parking next door is ideal too. Downside is the smell of damp in the corridors and downstairs toilets weren't clean and regularly looked after. You could smell them approaching in the corridor. Our room was clean until you looked a bit closer. The window sill was covered in black mould, the lower part of the bathtray had dirt buildup and hadn't been wiped. Bedding and floor were all clean but the room as a whole needs a deep clean. Its definitely not the worst place i've stayed but I can't say I'd rush back
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We're glad that our location helped you make the most of your stay and that our staff provided great service. We're sorry that you felt our usual high standards weren't quite up to scratch; your comments have been addressed with our housekeeping team to make sure they raise their game. We hope to be able to welcome you back so we can show you an improved experience. All the best. Mahesh Jay General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$73 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the grand, bristol hotel bristol, thistle hotel bristol
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Grand Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBristolOld City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
186
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MERCURE BRISTOL GRAND HOTEL $76 ($̶9̶6̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - England

Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Whistle Punks Urban Axe Throwing (0.06 miles), Smoke & Mirrors Comedy & Magic Theatre Pub (0.3 miles), and Laser Fusion (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taste of Napoli, Turtle Bay Bristol Broad Quay, and Matina.
Is Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Bristol.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting John Wesley's New Room (0.2 miles), St Mary Redcliffe Church (0.5 miles), and Cabot Tower (0.6 miles).
Is Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.