We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Save
Share
Broad Street, Bristol BS1 2EL England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
4 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$112
View deal
Booking.com
$111
View deal
FindHotel
$124
$82
View deal
SAVE $42
Priceline$111
Hotels.com$112
Hurb$124
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (444)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (41)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#38 of 42 hotels in Bristol
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel is a magnificent Victorian building in the heart of Bristol, close to the city's Temple Meads railway station. The Grand Hotel is an elegant, convenient base from which to explore Bristol's rich history. Local attractions include Brunel's engineering masterpieces, the ancient cathedral, and one of the region's finest shopping malls.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking garage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more
1079Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 233
  • 277
  • 251
  • 179
  • 139
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lottie G wrote a review Apr 2021
Chobham, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
The rooms have the thinnest walls so you can practically hear next door breathing in your room. The rooms are practical but tiny, with dirty bath tubs and cracking bathroom tiles. It’s basic, small, run down and not great for a restful night sleep before a long work trip.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Artdirectortravels, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I am sorry to read of your disappointment during your stay. I apologise if the rooms were too small for your requirements, we have a range of rooms in sizes and I can only understand the reason the room was possibly too small is that you perhaps booked a compact double room. On your next trip do book one of of Privilege Rooms, they are much larger and have additional amenities to boot and for a small extra fee of £20. I do hope that you give the hotel another try in the near future.
Read more
Tim B wrote a review Jan 2021
Bideford, United Kingdom5 contributions5 helpful votes
Thank you for making me feel so welcome over the past five months (Mon to Fri) given the current circumstances . Couldn't have done enough for me, lovely team always happy to do what they could to make my stay an enjoyable one- loved the continuity of my favourite room, much appreciated and on reception in the mornings the lovey Tracy , always a chat and smile to set you off on a good day. Would highly recommend this hotel for a long corporate stay , in fact I hope to return later in the year - thats if they will have me !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded Jan 27, 2021
Dear Mr Bonstow Thank you for being your hotel of choice over the last 5 months . It has been an absolute pleasure having you stay at the hotel and getting to know you and we certainly have missed having you stay with us. We hope you have been enjoying your well earned time off and hopefully we will indeed get to welcome you again to the Mercure Bristol Grand one day in the future. If I can be of any future assistance then please do not hesitate to contact me. Kindest Regards Tracy Lewis Office Sales Manager ha0i2-sb1@accor.com
Read more
Bob B wrote a review Jan 2021
England40 contributions20 helpful votes
Good service as always. Been staying here for the past couple of months. Have been upgraded on occasions as well, which has been nice. Will be soon a gold member so will be expecting regular upgrades which will be reported on.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded Jan 18, 2021
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for you wonderful feedback on your recent visits with us. I am so pleased to read that you are a returning guest time and time again. You will indeed be a gold member before we know it, we look forward to recognising your status upgrade on your future visits. Until we meet again soon, take care. Michael General Manager
Read more
MrHandBaggageOnly wrote a review Jan 2021
Stroud, United Kingdom425 contributions192 helpful votes
We stayed at the Grand for two nights in December, just before Christmas. The first thing to say about the hotel is that the location is excellent - it is very central and easy to walk to everywhere in town that you might want to visit. It also has a car park next door, which is quite tight but (as recommended) fine for a medium-sized car. Given the central location, £15 a night for parking doesn't seem too bad. We had booked a Privilege Double as we were staying for two nights and wanted space to work during the day. We were given a large room with high ceilings on the first floor overlooking the front of the hotel, but we immediately spotted that the Nespresso coffee machine was missing. (There was also only one robe and no slippers.) The other bizarre thing about the room was that it had not one, but two inter-connecting doors (a first for me) to two separate rooms! One I can (just about) handle, but there was no way we were happy with two (and no coffee machine), so a quick trip back to reception was required. Our request to move was handled swiftly and pleasantly. We were given a room on the second floor which also had a sofa. The view of the car park was nothing to write home about, but we didn't choose the hotel for a view so that wasn't a problem. The second room did have a Nespresso coffee machine although the fridge didn't have any complimentary soft drinks, which the room description said it would. I imagine this would be put down to Covid and, in fairness to the hotel we didn't bother asking - I suspect the problem would have been resolved swiftly if we had raised it. The bathroom in the second room was actually slightly larger than the first and the shower was excellent. We also had two robes and each one had slippers. Possibly house-keeping on the first floor need to up their game! The bed was comfortable, the desk was a good size for working, the free wi-fi was decent enough to work on and stream a film and the television was large with a wide range of channels. Overall we found our new room very comfortable and an excellent size. As we were advised on check in, house keeping were not refreshing any rooms due to Covid. This meant that when we requested fresh towels they were simply left on the bed. This wasn't a massive problem, but it is interesting to see how different hotels have a different approach (e.g. My Ibis Styles stay in Warsaw needed me to request house-keeping, but they would then do a full service). We decided not to take up the offer of breakfast, but Keepers - the bar/restaurant is a well-laid out and decently presented space. I was slightly surprised though that my request for a beer from the bar to take to my room was declined because I'd have to order a full meal to go with it. I understand the current government rules say you can't drink in a bar/restaurant unless you order a substantial meal, but I don't think that should apply to room service. Quite frankly the hotel are missing out on potential revenue. The solution is simple of course - Tesco Express around the corner sells beer, so you can buy from there and keep them cold in the fridge! An opportunity missed by the hotel. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would certainly return next time we are staying in Bristol. I am at a loss as to why this hotel appears so low in the TA rankings for Bristol - based on our stay I'd expect to see it closer to the top 10.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded Jan 18, 2021
Dear MrHandBaggeOnly, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate all feedback as this allow us to continue to develop our offering to our guests. I am most disappointed that our Housekeeping department missed the opportunities for house coats and the Nespresso machine, I do hope our team were able to rectify this for you whilst you stayed. I do hope that one day soon you will be able to sample our hotel in it's full glory of operation, until then we thank you for your kind comments on us being in the top 10 in Bristol, it is certainly our goal to be the very best! Kind Regards Michael General Manager
Read more
Skiphuffrey wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Me and my partner booked a day room in this hotel. The hotel was very clean and nice environment. The room was kept to the high standard and was at an affordable rate for the hours needed. However the noise level from cleaning staff was ridiculous. Additionally a member of staff kept repeatedly knocking and then walked in to ask a question regarding if we had booked in. I felt this was highly inappropriate due to my partner and myself being alone together in a room. I do not understand why this member of staff felt the need for this as we only required the room for the few hours in the day. I would be wary staying here again due to this incident as it was inappropriate and I do not believe staff respect the privacy or noise levels of customers. Staff certainly shouldn’t just walk in to customers rooms especially as my partner wasn’t dressed adequately either.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$61 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the grand, bristol hotel bristol, thistle hotel bristol
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Grand Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBristolOld City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
186
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Smoke & Mirrors (0.3 miles), Hell In A Cell (0.1 miles), and Laser Fusion (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mugshot Restaurants, Matina, and Revolution.
Is Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Bristol.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting John Wesley's Chapel & New Room Museum (0.3 miles), St Mary Redcliffe Church (0.5 miles), and Cabot Tower (0.6 miles).
Is Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.