We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rock'n'Bowl Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rock\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

606 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 535: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and 4 friends stayed here in July 2016. The place is very modern and clean! We had such a nice warm welcoming and the prices were so reasonable we were shocking being in Bristol City Centre! We were going to an event at Motion Temple Meads and it was only a 15/20 minute walk along the river! Highly recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

6 of us stayed here the night before we headed to Glastonbury. We were only there for a short few hours but it was perfectly fine. Check in was simple and it was easy to get to from Bristol Airport. We had to leave early the following morning and the breakfast we had paid for hadn't been set up yet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic Hostel! The staff were very friendly. It has all the facilities you need for a night or 2 stay. Everywhere was clean and the beds were really comfortable! Not very hard to find and in a great location in the City!

Helpful?
Thank Ash R
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Ash, thank you for your words, we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay so much! We hope to see you soon, Alfredo Esposito Hostel Manager More 

Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a really enjoyable couple of nights in the hostel. The staff were friendly & helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable. The location is great for exploring the city which is how I spent most of my time. Obviously having a bowling alley attatched gives this place a unique edge over most others. And I thought the price was... More 

Helpful?
Thank JnnyShrr
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Jenny, we are glad you had an enjoyable stay at Rock'n'Bowl and we are delighted that you liked the city, we hope to be again your first choice for you next stay in Bristol! See you soon, Alfredo Esposito Hostel Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved it. The atmosphere is so relaxed. The receptionist was very kind and helpful. The facilities are great and kinds of people you meet too. I was only a bit disappointed that they didn't let me wait in the common room for a bit after I checked out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sergiu G
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Sergiu, we are happy you loved Rock'n'Bowl and our staff! For safety reason we don't accept guests after the check out, but you can still stay or wait downstairs at The Lanes, with courtyard and wifi access for no extra cost. See you soon, Alfredo Esposito Hostel Manager More 

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For £34 a night I would have hoped for a bit more breathing space in the room and less hair on the carpet. There again it is an Hostel and at least the toilet and shower cubicles were clean and practical.

Helpful?
Thank Johnspans
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi John, thanks for appreciating our cleaning level, over the weekend the hostel is really crowded so we are really happy we met your satisfaction! See you soon, Alfredo Esposito Hostel Manager More 

Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great staff . free wifi . modern hostel with all the amenities required with large relaxing areas for TV ,games or quietness. very easy to book and to check into. Magnetic cards to allow access through all the doors from floor to floor . Bus stops 2 minutes walk

Helpful?
Thank Mealiff
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Mealiff, that's great, all our staff is delighted by your words! We are happy you appreciated our safety system as well, we hope to see you soon! Cheers, Alfredo Esposito Hostel Manager More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was happy to be there.The hostel looking so nice, I loved the graffitis. It is in the centre of Bristol so easy to acces it. The staff was friendly, smily and helpful. Everything was clean and the wifi worked correctly. I was in a 20 bedrommed room but I haven't got any problem with my room mates, they didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Regina M
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Hostel from hell. This is definitely the worst hostel Ive ever stayed in. Music from the bar below is extremely loud and makes the floor tremble until 3:00am. Staff is rude and absolutely dont care whether you have any complaints. No hot water in the bathroom sink and scorching hot water in the showers. Not enough showers in the hostel.... More 

Helpful?
Thank lunettesvertes
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Lunettes, I am sorry for your experience, our staff is renowned for being always nice and friendly, so I apologize if you felt being treated rude. Altough we cannot direct our guests behaviour, the hostel is equipped with CCTV, 24 hours receptionist and security over the weekend to guarantee 100% safety. We are sorry about the volume, but that... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

I appreciate the friendly staff's rearrangement for my schedule. However, the experience was too bad. I couldn't sleep at all because of the noise from the bar downstairs. I don't think it's a nice hostel at all unfortunately. First of all, I think having a bar in open space which all bedrooms can hear the noise is a stupidest idea... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank elton968520
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 35 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 stars 3,121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#2 of 35 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Bristol, Rock'n'Bowl features a 24-hour front desk, common areas with free Wi-Fi, flat TVs, a tennis table and a big courtyard. Guests benefit from several discounts at The Lanes, the on-site bowling alley and night club venue, with a special selection of beers, cocktails, a karaoke facilities, pool tables and the famous Ray's Pizza, made with daily fresh dough, buffalo mozzarella and imported Italian ingredients. A nice and healthy breakfast which includes locally roasted fresh coffee, tea, milk, jam, orange juice, toast and cereals, is included with each reservation. The on-site complex, the historical THE LANES, has club nights with many important bands and djs so please be aware that there will be noise disruption on Friday and Saturday nights in particular until about 03:00. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rock'n'Bowl Motel

Address: 22 Nelson Street, Bristol BS1 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $17 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock'n'Bowl Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rock'n'Bowl Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock `n Bowl Hotel Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay