We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

YHA Bristol

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Bristol
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 219: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

+ Well located hostel with a nice pub, close to the river which assures you amazing harbour scenery, friendly staff, clean and massive self catering kitchen, clean and quiet rooms, lift available, game room. – They don't do free brekkie, no free laundry but you get it of charge down there in basement, no wifi, pretty good security. Overall a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle X
YHABristol, General Manager at YHA Bristol, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are pleased that overall you had a enjoyable stay with us. Just for the benefit of others looking at our reviews we would like to just point out that we offer complimentary WiFi in all public areas. Breakfast and laundry services are not free...

Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we had a family room for 4 with just 4 single beds The room was strongly smelling of feet. the carpet was unpleasant the sink did not drain in the bathroom The kitchen was not ventilated enough so smelling of fish with no table to sit down , just a stool bar style for people on their own,not welcoming. the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 662sophie
YHABristol, General Manager at YHA Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting a review of your stay. We are very sorry that on this occasion your expectations were not met. We will fully investigate each of your comments and make improvements where we can as we do not wish for any of our guests to leave with the conclusion you have.

Abertillery, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My stay at YHA Bristol was very pleasant, the rooms were clean and tidy and all the staff very helpful. The location was great and we had a lovely view of Bristol Harbour to wake up to. The only issue we had was that there wasn't enough plugs in the room if the bed lights were plugged in and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RCarysx
YHABristol, General Manager at YHA Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are delighted you had a great stay - we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly staff in a superb location. This historic former grain store has good communal facilities - ideal for groups, and I would recommend the atmospheric bar area. Many rooms have a lovely view of the waterfront, which is handy for Bristol's harbour-side attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coastalcath176
YHABristol, General Manager at YHA Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for a wonderful review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great hostel that I enjoy staying in. I've stayed here a number of times and have been happy, the beds are clean and comfortable, the hostel is clearly well maintained and I have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The hostel is well located for Bristol City Centre with regular buses stopping close by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank washington20162016
YHABristol, General Manager at YHA Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for such a positive review. We are really please you enjoy staying with us! We look forward to seeing you soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came to Bristol for a Symposium and since I stayed in YHA london last month with my mum and was really good I decided to stay here as well, but it sure was not the same. The facilities are pretty much the same, though the building is different, bed bunks the same, lovely duvets, nice and warm, can't complain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nádia V
YHABristol, General Manager at YHA Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you experienced some noise during the night. We have staff on duty 24 hours a day and we do try to manage excessive noise as best we can. We are very sorry on this occasion that you didn't get a good nights sleep.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had occasion to stay at this location as a coach driver accompanying a school party. There being no parking I had to drop the group and then park 2 miles away at Cabot Circus. Taxi back. Single room. Creaky floor. Creaky metal bed. Sink had no plug. Nearest toilet flush button stuck in so full of muck. Breakfast minimal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive B
YHABristol, General Manager at YHA Bristol, responded to this review

Hi Clive, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It appears your stay wasn't the experience we intended. We will look further into your comments and would welcome you to contact us directly so we can give you a detailed response. For the benefit of other guests we would like to confirm that our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 3, 2016

We were a party of about twenty university students and two tutors. Our stay was really good with everyone liking YHA Bristol for the following reasons: helpful staff, great location, lovely building with good facilities, comfortable dorm rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rossd100
YHABristol, General Manager at YHA Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review - we're delighted you and your group enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing YHA! :-)

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2016

Our room (402) with an ensuite split into two - shower / toilet - was great for a family of 4 with a sideways view of the harbour. Bunk beds were really comfy and room was really clean. Plenty of sockets for all those phone chargers etc although some did not work. Being the centre of a city it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adela S
YHABristol, General Manager at YHA Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review - some great points which will will act upon. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to YHA Bristol soon.

Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

Comfy beds, very clean everywhere. Nice overnight stay. The only problem was the breakfast. It was £5.75 for a tiny plate of food, and the kitchen staff were quite rude and reluctant to serve us because it was 9.55, even though breakfast was on until 10.30!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
YHABristol, General Manager at YHA Bristol, responded to this review

Hi Laura, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We're pleased that overall you found it a pleasant one. We will look into your comments regarding breakfast as this certainly isn't the impression we would like guests to be left with.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#5 of 37 in Bristol
3,251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ibis Bristol Centre
#19 of 37 in Bristol
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For good accommodation in Bristol city centre, this backpackers hostel makes a perfect base. Explore the harbourside and old city areas, visit the magnificent Avon Gorge - Brunel’s suspension bridge or enjoy Bristol’s cultural base of theatres, museums, art galleries and thriving live music and club scene. A former waterfront grain house, this Youth Hostel has been sympathetically restored to offer relaxed cosmopolitan surrounding, ideal for a cheap city break or weekend away.YHA members can enjoy free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA Bristol! ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Bristol

Address: 14 Narrow Quay, Bristol BS1 4QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $28 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your YHA Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from YHA Bristol staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Bristol staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Request a quiet room as some facing the waterfront may get noisy, I stayed midweek and not to bad but Bristol at weekends very vibrant.”
 of 5 bubbles Janner, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
“Try to avoid the top floor, especially if the lifts aren't working!”
 of 5 bubbles AggiePirate, Aug 4, 2016 | Read review
“Find out if there are any people stopping who want to turn in early and share with them - or get a private room!”
 of 5 bubbles maj_jones58, Jun 6, 2016 | Read review
“Quieter floors at the top”
 of 5 bubbles 617rca, Apr 25, 2016 | Read review
“All beds are comfortable and offer a high sleep quality.”
  • View from room (5th floor)
 of 5 bubbles leoniemarabangerter, Apr 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay