We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Piha Beachstay Accommodation

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Piha Beachstay Accommodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Piha Beachstay Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Showing 100: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed November 1, 2015

We love this place near Piha beach . The place is beautiful nice kitchen full of light bedroom clean, comfortable bed, the hote was perfect with kindness. We appreciate the oudoor too with comfortable chair and a nice view on the forest.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kallie100
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed October 14, 2015

The accommodation and location are really nice, but we felt unable to use the shared kitchen & living facilities due to the TV. It was constantly on while we were there - all afternoon and evening. Very loud volume and very unsuitable for kids due to the types of films being watched - bad language & violence. Obviously people are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debnz2015
PihaAccommodation, Owner at Piha Beachstay Accommodation, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. This feedback is valuable to improving our service. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay due to the loud TV and I agree that this is unacceptable. We actually do have a no noise policy after 11pm.. It is difficult to enforce and I do rely on peoples own consideration for...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed October 10, 2015

The place is clean, people are friendly and the location and surroundings are wonderful. Very well equipped kitchen. Good indoor-outdoor flow, you can get out in to the garden straight from your room. Highly Recommended. Thanks. Derek M.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank memenz123
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed October 7, 2015

A thoroughly disappointing stay. I too was at the Piha Beachstay the weekend of their power outage however the problem wasn’t the outage itself, but the poor attitude from staff toward guests and blatant disregard for looking after those onsite. Following the outage candles were lit and this was about all. When asking for information on how to best treat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachaelWalker
PihaBeachstay, Owner at Piha Beachstay Accommodation, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect and you felt the need to rate your stay so poorly. I also note that we received 3 "terrible" reviews from your group regarding this visit. I feel it necessary to respond and outline the facts for other guests reading these reviews. Firstly, yes there was a major power outage...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed October 6, 2015

We stayed here several months ago on what we expected to be a relaxing weekend away for a small group. Unfortunately, just after dinner the power to the area was cut and we therefore didn't have lighting, heating or running water until the following day. Whilst not the staff's fault that there was an outage, the way in which it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank csjackson2015
PihaBeachstay, Owner at Piha Beachstay Accommodation, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect and you felt the need to rate your stay so poorly. I also note that we received 3 "terrible" reviews from your group regarding this visit. I feel it necessary to respond and outline the facts for other guests reading these reviews. Firstly, yes there was a major power outage...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed October 6, 2015

We were super excited to stay here as we were in much need of a weekend away. The power went out which obviously the accommodation couldn't help BUT they had no back-up systems so there was no power our entire stay, there was no running water and no steps in place for drinking water (water coolers etc). The staff behaved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allieharrison23
PihaBeachstay, Owner at Piha Beachstay Accommodation, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect and you felt the need to rate your stay so poorly. I also note that we received 3 "terrible" reviews from your group regarding this visit. I feel it necessary to respond and outline the facts for other guests reading these reviews. Firstly, yes there was a major power outage...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed August 31, 2015

There is very few accommodation available in Piha, so we settled for this hostel. Very friendly staff (I think some of them are long term guests) and it has a very homely feel. A garden just outside which is very lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kakijalan
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed August 9, 2015

We love this place, because it's cozy, quiet, relaxed and beautiful! We've been her a couple of times now, and always love to come back! Piha is a pretty cute place at the beach, but this hostel is one of the nicest, I've been to. The facilities are clean, spacious and well maintained. It's got a modern look on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FranziskaS1
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed April 29, 2015

simply over my expectation! definitely to recommend to anyone. large and superclean rooms, free towels, clean bathrooms, free wifi and amazing open space, so cozy and homy!! keep doing what your doing guys, cause that`s just perfect!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mayaNZ84
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed February 27, 2015

This was one of my favourite hostels in New Zealand. It is a couple of hundred metres up a little road from the beach and is surrounded by lush semi tropical rainforest. The main room has a dramatic high vaulted ceiling and glass doors looking out over the large back garden. There is a decked area to sit out and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Princessepoppy
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piha
5.1 mi away
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
16.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
660 reviews
17.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Vineyard Cottages
Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Waimauku
25 reviews
10.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
128 reviews
17.0 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unique guest lodge at Piha Beach. Great location, close to everything in Piha. Bunkrooms, private rooms and en-suite bathrooms. Off street parking, surfing swimming, bushwalks sunsents and sunshine. Often the best things in life are free! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Piha Beachstay Accommodation

Address: 38 Glenesk Road | Piha Beach, Piha 0772, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Piha
Price Range: $28 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Piha Beachstay Accommodation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Piha Beachstay Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Piha Beachstay Accommodation staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Piha Beachstay Accommodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Downstairs opening on to garden!”
O3845FKannas, 4 days ago | Read review
“All rooms have a view of some sort. The deck is perfect for BBQs.”
AntarcticT, Mar 3, 2017 | Read review
“The dorm is great as there's such an amazing common room to hang out in! All the rooms also have deck access so nobody misses out”
philgale91, Nov 20, 2016 | Read review
“Double rooms are at end away from dorm room, though the place was so quiet at night I'd have been just as happy in the dorm.”
, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“We had a twin which could actually sleep four. Ensuite.”
inspectormermaid, Jun 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question